AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: water cooling setup
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/13/2005 08:01 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/13/2005 08:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
landlord
Senior Member

Posts: 1147
Joined: 08/14/2004

ok im working on a water cooling setup for my rig. but this is very new ground to me and any advice, opinions, experiances, and product recommendations that you may be able to give me would be great. id also like to keep the budget around 200 - 250 us.

i would like to water cool cpu and gpu but would also like to cool the chipset, and possibly the agp bridge on my video card if budget allows.

in order to cool gpu and bridge chip i was thinking about this: clicky' ">http://www.frozencpu.com/ex-blc-80.html of course thats if i can cram both of the coolers on one card. if it can be pulled off i think its a good idea.

-------------------------
Favorite Quotes: "NOPE. better reformat. probably the dreaded "WINDOWS" virus." - nolano
"RID[content edited]! lol. so funny how the filter blocks out the [content edited] part." - nolano
 03/13/2005 08:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tong
Member

Posts: 125
Joined: 12/22/2004

ok to save soem money:

radiator: go to autoparts store pick up a:
heater core a 1977 pontiac boneville broham edition with ac with the 4XX ci block motor. $22

tubing: home depot 1/2 id clear tubing 4 bux for a 10 foot roll and it doesn;t kink easly at all due to thickness. $4

water blocks-- watch ebay save u big $,

also one thing to remeber to avoid corrosion between your water parts is if you;re using a copper radiator then everything else should be copper an aluminum radiator everythign else should be aluminum, when u mix alum and copper u get nasty nasty effects in time.

and to andswer your question, no i asked the same question about a month ago and got the same answer. buy seperate blocks. and stick to 1/2 id stuff more flow better cooling.

-------------------------
' ">http://profile.xfire.com/tong

Paid to read email' ">http://hits4pay.com/members/index.cgi?Tong

My Heatware' ">http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=18843

My Ebay' ">http://feedback.ebay.com/ws/eB...ssPageName=STRK:ME:UFS
 03/14/2005 08:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
landlord
Senior Member

Posts: 1147
Joined: 08/14/2004

QUOTE (Tong @ Mar 13 2005, 04:55 PM) radiator: go to autoparts store pick up a:
heater core a 1977 pontiac boneville broham edition with ac with the 4XX ci block motor. $22

tubing: home depot 1/2 id clear tubing 4 bux for a 10 foot roll and it doesn;t kink easly at all due to thickness. $4

water blocks-- watch ebay save u big $,

see thats the kind of info i like, useful.

yeah i like the idea on the heater core, the thing is huge for the price! [content edited] its a 100.00 radiator at frozen cpu! best of all the local autoparts store has one for 18.89!

oh yeah i need suggestion on where to buy a pump and what flow rate would be good.

hehe this is going to be fun ive got an old at case laying around that will make a great housing for the pump, radiator, and res. hehe water cooling here i come!

-------------------------
Favorite Quotes: "NOPE. better reformat. probably the dreaded "WINDOWS" virus." - nolano
"RID[content edited]! lol. so funny how the filter blocks out the [content edited] part." - nolano
 03/14/2005 09:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harleybro
Senior Member

Posts: 1597
Joined: 10/10/2004

QUOTE tubing: home depot 1/2 id clear tubing 4 bux for a 10 foot roll and it doesn;t kink easly at all due to thickness. $4
I just got a 10ft. roll I think it's worth it to pay extra for the danger den hose. It's thicker and much easier to bend nicely.
QUOTE oh yeah i need suggestion on where to buy a pump and what flow rate would be good.
An aquarium pump at a pet store. The flow would depend on what you plan on using for cpu and/or gpu blocks.

-------------------------

AM3 112,659' ">http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/a...iew.php?run=1497574217 3dm01 39,110' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8668017 3dm03 21,901' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=4122341
 03/14/2005 09:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
landlord
Senior Member

Posts: 1147
Joined: 08/14/2004

QUOTE (harleybro @ Mar 14 2005, 05:27 PM) An aquarium pump at a pet store. The flow would depend on what you plan on using for cpu and/or gpu blocks.
yeah, i plan on cooling cpu, gpu, chipset, and hopefully that [content edited] heater of an agp bridge chip thats on the 6600gt agp if i can find a block small enough.

i may use a two radiator setup for extra cooling, and was thinking about koolance's cpu cooler, unless somthing else will work better.

the pet store pumps range from 80gph - 370gph so im just wondering what would be best.

-------------------------
Favorite Quotes: "NOPE. better reformat. probably the dreaded "WINDOWS" virus." - nolano
"RID[content edited]! lol. so funny how the filter blocks out the [content edited] part." - nolano
 03/14/2005 09:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shards_of_glass
Senior Member

Posts: 2123
Joined: 12/31/2003

QUOTE (landlord @ Mar 14 2005, 05:36 PM) yeah, i plan on cooling cpu, gpu, chipset, and hopefully that [content edited] heater of an agp bridge chip thats on the 6600gt agp if i can find a block small enough.

i may use a two radiator setup for extra cooling, and was thinking about koolance's cpu cooler, unless somthing else will work better.

the pet store pumps range from 80gph - 370gph so im just wondering what would be best.
Well just lok at the gph in systems that you are looking at. IE, if I were in your position I would look at my zalman and check what GPH it uses and get one that is about the same.

-------------------------
#1 Athlon 64 4000+ / DFI LP UT RDX200 CF-DR / Seagate 7200.10 16MB 320GB SATA-150 / Corsair VS DDR400 1024MB SC
 03/14/2005 10:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
landlord
Senior Member

Posts: 1147
Joined: 08/14/2004

QUOTE (shards_of_glass @ Mar 14 2005, 05:57 PM) Well just lok at the gph in systems that you are looking at. IE, if I were in your position I would look at my zalman and check what GPH it uses and get one that is about the same.
ok thats rated at approx 80gph (300lph) sooo i think ill go with one in the 100gph range. thanks for the help guys, im sure ill have more questions soon.

-------------------------
Favorite Quotes: "NOPE. better reformat. probably the dreaded "WINDOWS" virus." - nolano
"RID[content edited]! lol. so funny how the filter blocks out the [content edited] part." - nolano
 03/14/2005 10:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shards_of_glass
Senior Member

Posts: 2123
Joined: 12/31/2003

DOn't forget to get some teflon tape for the connections.

-------------------------
#1 Athlon 64 4000+ / DFI LP UT RDX200 CF-DR / Seagate 7200.10 16MB 320GB SATA-150 / Corsair VS DDR400 1024MB SC
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information