AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 512mb of ram or 1gb ram?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/31/2006 05:40 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/31/2006 05:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1337rice
Senior Member

Posts: 661
Joined: 08/26/2006

i recently tested my ram readings, timings, and latency using EVEREST Home Edition
in 1gb ram, my memory read 1486mb/s at PC1600 DDR SDRAM at 1T
in just my 512mb ram, my memory read is 3048mb/s at PC3200 DDR SD RAM at 1T

so i decided to ditch my slower ram and run my Lineage 2 game. It turned out to be extremely slow in loading (about 40 seconds) while with 1gb takes about 10-20 seconds to load. I know I made a mistake on choosing cheap ram (now i know....), but would it be better to stick with 1gb or 512mb ram?

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 3800+ s.939 @2.0ghz **non-overclockable...no clue why...**
Foxconn Winfast NF4K8AC mobo
450W Okia PSU
512mb X 2 DDR 400 Dual Channel Buffalo + 512mb X 2 DDR 400 Dual Channel OCZ Premier
256mb/512mb BFG Geforce 7300GS
40GB IDE Western Digital + 250GB SATA W.D + 100GB SATA MAXTOR
Stock CPU Fan + *new*120mm SilverStone case fan on side + *n
 08/31/2006 05:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vsingh
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3919
Joined: 10/15/2005

definitely 1gb
 08/31/2006 06:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Booze46
Senior Member

Posts: 914
Joined: 02/23/2005

why asking when u already answered your question?
 08/31/2006 08:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1337rice
Senior Member

Posts: 661
Joined: 08/26/2006

i know i did, but thats for gaming. what about running windows?

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 3800+ s.939 @2.0ghz **non-overclockable...no clue why...**
Foxconn Winfast NF4K8AC mobo
450W Okia PSU
512mb X 2 DDR 400 Dual Channel Buffalo + 512mb X 2 DDR 400 Dual Channel OCZ Premier
256mb/512mb BFG Geforce 7300GS
40GB IDE Western Digital + 250GB SATA W.D + 100GB SATA MAXTOR
Stock CPU Fan + *new*120mm SilverStone case fan on side + *n
 08/31/2006 08:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Booze46
Senior Member

Posts: 914
Joined: 02/23/2005

1024 MB RAM dramatically reduces HD activities(pagefile) especially when working with any office/multimedia applications.

nothing wrong with more ram...even better in dual channel mode


 08/31/2006 08:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1524
Joined: 12/03/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: 1337rice
i know i did, but thats for gaming. what about running windows?



Your problem wouldn't be to run windows, but to use your dual core (X2 3800+ in your signature) in a multitask enviroment with different type of software at the same time. More memory will in reduce the need for access to storage like harddisk and that way make your system more repsonsive.

To answer your question: it depends on how you use your system and what you expect from it.


-------------------------
Abit AT8-32X (Xpress3200)/Athlon64 X2 4200+@stock/Corsair VS 2GB/Samsung SATA II 2x 250 GB/Club3D X1950XT GDDR3 256MB+ PowerColor Theatre 550 pro (PCIe x1)
 08/31/2006 08:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sweetdelight
Member

Posts: 130
Joined: 06/22/2006

Unless your doing any sophisticated things, continue to use the 1gb until you can purchase non cheap real quality 1gb ram. If you can get the ram now, get it.

However, if you can't, unless your doing any crazy video editing, virtualization operating systems, heavy computer tasks, go with the 1gb.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information