AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 4800+ overclock settings
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/31/2006 01:43 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/31/2006 01:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theexbrit
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/01/2005

Hi all,

I have a 4800+ x2, I've tried doing the math, but I can't figure out how to OC my 4800+ & still keep the memory @ 200mhz (Corsair pc3200 xms) or how to keep the "HT frequency" at 1000mhz.

My settings at the moment are....

HT Frequency Ratio = x5
CPU Frequency = 200
CPU Clock Ratio = x12
CPU/DDR Clock Ratio = 2 / 1 (lowest setting)

I got the settings up to..

x4
250
x11
2 / 1

This is about 2750ghz for the cpu, which should be ok. It wouldn't even get into POST though. So I'm thinking it must be because the HT freq was over 1000 & the memory was over 200.

All help appreciated! /wacko.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":wacko:" border="0" alt="wacko.gif" />

-------------------------
Athlon 64 4800+ x2 (water cooled)
GA-K8N Pro-SLi mobo
2Gb Corsair XMS DDR400
2 x Gigabyte 7800Gt's in SLi (OC'd to 457mhz & 1132mhz, water cooled)
2 x WD 74Gb 10,000 rpm Raptors in RAID 0
1 x WD 320Gb 7,200 rpm Caviar HDD for backup use
1 x LiteOn Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
550W Enermax PSU
19" Samsung LCD

 08/31/2006 05:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1337rice
Senior Member

Posts: 661
Joined: 08/26/2006

x4 in HT is still too much. you would have to make it x3.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 3800+ s.939 @2.0ghz **non-overclockable...no clue why...**
Foxconn Winfast NF4K8AC mobo
450W Okia PSU
512mb X 2 DDR 400 Dual Channel Buffalo + 512mb X 2 DDR 400 Dual Channel OCZ Premier
256mb/512mb BFG Geforce 7300GS
40GB IDE Western Digital + 250GB SATA W.D + 100GB SATA MAXTOR
Stock CPU Fan + *new*120mm SilverStone case fan on side + *n
 08/31/2006 05:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

up the vcore a bit.. try 1.4 volts.
the ram you should be able to use the 166 divider as it will put the ram at 196 mhz with those settings.

i like this calculator here http://math.gogar.com/a64ocbrowser.html

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 08/31/2006 09:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theexbrit
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: zeppelinrox
up the vcore a bit.. try 1.4 volts.
the ram you should be able to use the 166 divider as it will put the ram at 196 mhz with those settings.

i like this calculator here http://math.gogar.com/a64ocbrowser.html




Great links!!!

It'll take me a while to read thru all this, but I'll let you know how it goes.

Thanks guys! /rolleyes.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":rolleyes:" border="0" alt="rolleyes.gif" />

-------------------------
Athlon 64 4800+ x2 (water cooled)
GA-K8N Pro-SLi mobo
2Gb Corsair XMS DDR400
2 x Gigabyte 7800Gt's in SLi (OC'd to 457mhz & 1132mhz, water cooled)
2 x WD 74Gb 10,000 rpm Raptors in RAID 0
1 x WD 320Gb 7,200 rpm Caviar HDD for backup use
1 x LiteOn Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
550W Enermax PSU
19" Samsung LCD

 09/02/2006 04:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theexbrit
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: zeppelinrox
up the vcore a bit.. try 1.4 volts.
the ram you should be able to use the 166 divider as it will put the ram at 196 mhz with those settings.

i like this calculator here http://math.gogar.com/a64ocbrowser.html




Ok, problem. The cpu clock ratio only goes to x12 & the cpu/ddr clock rario starts at 2:1 the goes up... 2:1.3, 2:1.5, etc. This means that the mem clock will always be double the fsb or more (200mhz minimum). I don't know how much overclocking the Corsair XMS ram can handle. I can set the HTT at 4x, 3.5x, etc, so that's not a problem, it's just that friggin' mem clock only going 2:1 or higher!

I really need a mem clock setting of 1:1. I guess I need a new mobo.

I have the Gigabyte Triton GA-K8N Pro-SLi.

-------------------------
Athlon 64 4800+ x2 (water cooled)
GA-K8N Pro-SLi mobo
2Gb Corsair XMS DDR400
2 x Gigabyte 7800Gt's in SLi (OC'd to 457mhz & 1132mhz, water cooled)
2 x WD 74Gb 10,000 rpm Raptors in RAID 0
1 x WD 320Gb 7,200 rpm Caviar HDD for backup use
1 x LiteOn Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
550W Enermax PSU
19" Samsung LCD

 09/02/2006 05:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

post cpu-z screenshots of both the main tab and the memory speed tab

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 09/02/2006 09:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theexbrit
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: zeppelinrox
post cpu-z screenshots of both the main tab and the memory speed tab







Hope this helps.

Thanks.


-------------------------
Athlon 64 4800+ x2 (water cooled)
GA-K8N Pro-SLi mobo
2Gb Corsair XMS DDR400
2 x Gigabyte 7800Gt's in SLi (OC'd to 457mhz & 1132mhz, water cooled)
2 x WD 74Gb 10,000 rpm Raptors in RAID 0
1 x WD 320Gb 7,200 rpm Caviar HDD for backup use
1 x LiteOn Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
550W Enermax PSU
19" Samsung LCD

 09/02/2006 10:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

memory timings are too tight.
try 2.5,3,3,6 or even 3,3,3,8

also, you are on the slowest memory divider.. running half speed.

play with those memory dividers to see what the heck they are equal to on the online calculator.

worse comes to worse, you can use a64info to change memory speed from within windows


-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 09/02/2006 11:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theexbrit
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: zeppelinrox
memory timings are too tight.
try 2.5,3,3,6 or even 3,3,3,8

also, you are on the slowest memory divider.. running half speed.

play with those memory dividers to see what the heck they are equal to on the online calculator.

worse comes to worse, you can use a64info to change memory speed from within windows




I've seen recomendations for the 3.3.3.8 settings in "ClockGen" when I run at 200mhz. Is it worth cranking up the cpu clock if the memory clock is "downgraded". Will the good outway the bad?

-------------------------
Athlon 64 4800+ x2 (water cooled)
GA-K8N Pro-SLi mobo
2Gb Corsair XMS DDR400
2 x Gigabyte 7800Gt's in SLi (OC'd to 457mhz & 1132mhz, water cooled)
2 x WD 74Gb 10,000 rpm Raptors in RAID 0
1 x WD 320Gb 7,200 rpm Caviar HDD for backup use
1 x LiteOn Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
550W Enermax PSU
19" Samsung LCD

 11/05/2006 01:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jessie74
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/05/2006

I've been playing around with my new Abit nf-m2 nvidia board and x2 4800+..........I need to work on the memory timings some more. It's running stable at these settings...... idle 38c, load 54c

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=135574
 12/04/2006 04:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
D-Lew
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 10/09/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: jessie74
I've been playing around with my new Abit nf-m2 nvidia board and x2 4800+..........I need to work on the memory timings some more. It's running stable at these settings...... idle 38c, load 54c

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=135574


I hate to threadjack but I have a feeling you guys could be helpful to me as well.

Your machine is very, very, similar to mine. I got mine to top at about 2850MHz last night, which isn't bad, but I think it could go a little higher if I really wanted it to. The problem is, it doesn't like booting. I have a feeling it's because HTT is set too high at ~260 x 11. The problem is my RAM gives up over 900MHz and I can't really get the multipliers and everything right.

Would you mind breaking down the main points of how you got that clock? How did you get your RAM to tolerate 986 effective MHz? Here's what I'm running at the moment:
4600+ X2 at 2805MHz, 1.52V (HTT of 255 x 11)
2 x 1GB Corsair Twin2X DDR2-800 at 400MHz (x2 effective, set to DDR2-667 x 255/200) 5-5-5-18, 1.92V.

Everything seems to point to the RAM being the weakest link, my last config I was using a 225 x12 multi with the RAM running around 900MHz, I would occasionally get crashes. Now It seems to be doing fine at 800 effective, which makes sense.

Anything you would recommend changing? And do you think my CPU could break 2900. I'm air cooled, AC Freezer 64 Pro. Right now according to ASUS Probe II (most likely generous) my idle is 30ºC. Load gets up in the high 40's to low 50's.
 12/13/2006 04:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sepheroth003
Senior Member

Posts: 3602
Joined: 08/29/2004

you guys are NOT overclocking the right way... read some of the following guides... you have to find your max cpu/max ram, then overclock. You guys are diving into overclocking blindfold right now.

http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=67749

-------------------------

New Site!! Team Effex WoW, US Auchindoun Alliance IGN: Fearaga
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information