AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: CPU upgade help
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/09/2006 04:18 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/09/2006 04:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MagickalShadow
Senior Member

Posts: 545
Joined: 08/10/2005

Okay....my current system specs are in my sig and I am looking to upgrade to this CPU.' ">http://www.tigerdirect.com/app...1526470&Tab=2&NoMapp=0

What I need to know is:

1) How difficult will it be

and

2) short of adding new fans, what can I do to be sure the temp of the new processor will remain within standards.

I don't want a new system and I don't want a new mobo...short of this, I can really use some advice.

-------------------------
 01/10/2006 10:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aetius
Senior Member

Posts: 218
Joined: 07/19/2005

QUOTE(MagickalShadow @ Jan 9 2006, 03:18 PM)Okay....my current system specs are in my sig and I am looking to upgrade to this CPU.' ">http://www.tigerdirect.com/app...1526470&Tab=2&NoMapp=0

What I need to know is:

1) How difficult will it be

and

2) short of adding new fans, what can I do to be sure the temp of the new processor will remain within standards.

I don't want a new system and I don't want a new mobo...short of this, I can really use some advice.
[right][snapback]589252[/snapback][/right]


Dang! You are running a 3500 and you need to upgrade? As far as how hard it is, it should not be, just pop the 3500 out and put in the new one. Make sure you use the new cooler with the new cpu. Also be sure your MB bios supports the 64x2 processor, you can find out by going to your MB web site.

Cooling: it is always good to have a couple of exhaust fans and one intake. My system uses 1 intake and three exhaust (counting the PS which sucks air out as well. My system stays at a steady 35-43C (load)

-------------------------
Main system,
AMD 64 3700+ San Diego 1mb L2, ASUS A8v, 2.0gb Corsair Twin-X, PNY 6800GS(T) 256mb 16/6,WD 250gb 7200/8, Sony DRU-710a,LG DVD-16x, Windows XP Pro SP2, Enermax Noisetaker 420w, DSL

Video editing system
XP 2800+ Barton , ASROCK K7VT4A+, 1.0gb Corsair XMS Cas 2, MSI FX 5900xt 128mb, Samsung 80gb 7200/2, Sony DRU-810a DVDR/RW-DL & MSi DVD 16, Audigy Platinum, Windows XP Pro SP2, Antec 300w, DSL-Lan hookup.
 01/10/2006 10:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

QUOTE(MagickalShadow @ Jan 9 2006, 10:18 PM)Okay....my current system specs are in my sig and I am looking to upgrade to this CPU.' ">http://www.tigerdirect.com/app...1526470&Tab=2&NoMapp=0

What I need to know is:

1) How difficult will it be

and

2) short of adding new fans, what can I do to be sure the temp of the new processor will remain within standards.

I don't want a new system and I don't want a new mobo...short of this, I can really use some advice.

It shouldn't be hard to do that upgrade...
Check out dual opterons too, especially if you want to OC


-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 01/11/2006 10:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MagickalShadow
Senior Member

Posts: 545
Joined: 08/10/2005

QUOTE(aetius @ Jan 10 2006, 11:09 AM)Dang! You are running a 3500 and you need to upgrade? As far as how hard it is, it should not be, just pop the 3500 out and put in the new one. Make sure you use the new cooler with the new cpu. Also be sure your MB bios supports the 64x2 processor, you can find out by going to your MB web site.

Cooling: it is always good to have a couple of exhaust fans and one intake. My system uses 1 intake and three exhaust (counting the PS which sucks air out as well. My system stays at a steady 35-43C (load)
[right][snapback]590008[/snapback][/right]


Well I don't really need to but working on my computer is my hobby and the attraction of the Atlon X2 is just too strong for me to resist...lol.

-------------------------
 01/11/2006 10:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

Dual opterons, even better /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' />

-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information