AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: x2 3000 water cooling?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/26/2006 09:55 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/26/2006 09:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jahz
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 01/26/2006

Hey guys. I'm planning to upgrade to the Athlon x2 very soon and I was wondering if anybody has had any problems water cooling that chip.

I built a WC kit about 2 years ago, and have been using it on various single core Athlons chips without a problem. I'm using a White Water block coupled with a 24v max DD pump (standard DIY components).

I don't forsee any problem with using a white water block on the dual core chip - aside from having to purchase a mounting adapter - just want to know if anybody has done it yet. If the thermal power of the 64 x2 is twice that of the 64, it would be really really hot.
 01/26/2006 10:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

there is no x2 3000

get an adapter for your WW and you should be fine

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 01/27/2006 05:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jahz
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 01/26/2006

QUOTE(TheReturnOfAZ @ Jan 26 2006, 10:32 PM)there is no x2 3000

get an adapter for your WW and you should be fine
[right][snapback]606303[/snapback][/right]


Sorry, 3800. Too many numbers floating around in my head =\

Thanks for the reassurance.
 01/27/2006 06:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

uh.. no X2 3200 either
the lowest is X2 3800+

anyhow, since you are overclocking it, go for an opteron 165

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 01/27/2006 06:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

QUOTE(zeppelinrox @ Jan 27 2006, 06:34 PM)uh.. no X2 3200 either
the lowest is X2 3800+

anyhow, since you are overclocking it, go for an opteron 165
[right][snapback]607216[/snapback][/right]

thats what i was getting to

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 01/28/2006 02:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jahz
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 01/26/2006

QUOTE(zeppelinrox @ Jan 27 2006, 06:34 PM)uh.. no X2 3200 either
the lowest is X2 3800+

anyhow, since you are overclocking it, go for an opteron 165
[right][snapback]607216[/snapback][/right]


Right, 3800. That's what I said.
(Yes, its edited... let me have my dignity. There really are way to many numbers here' ">http://www.pricewatch.com/m-3.htm /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' /> )

The retail boxed 165 is way out of my price range. Perhaps I can get one for $200 on eBay like TheReturnOfAZ did. That guy who sold him the chip is still listing them.
 01/28/2006 02:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

the retail 165 is like $10 more than a 3800+ X2.

I didnt buy mine off ebay... ???

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 01/28/2006 02:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jahz
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 01/26/2006

QUOTE(TheReturnOfAZ @ Jan 28 2006, 02:41 PM)the retail 165 is like $10 more than a 3800+ X2.

I didnt buy mine off ebay... ???
[right][snapback]607998[/snapback][/right]


I assumed so from the link' ">http://cgi.ebay.com/AMD-Optero...42QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem in your signature...
 01/28/2006 02:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jahz
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 01/26/2006

QUOTE(Jahz @ Jan 28 2006, 02:47 PM)I assumed so  from the link' ">http://cgi.ebay.com/AMD-Optero...42QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem in your signature...
[right][snapback]608002[/snapback][/right]


Holy crap. Did that guy pay $300 for a heat speader?!

He also got this guy' ">http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISA...=80139&item=6840058395 even worse!

Edit: added link
 01/28/2006 03:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

QUOTE(Jahz @ Jan 28 2006, 02:39 PM)The retail boxed 165 is way out of my price range. [right][snapback]607994[/snapback][/right]

they are approximately the same price.. $320ish

ah.. http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/...etai...uctCode=80106-R' ">http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/...sp?ProductCode=80106-R
$328.50 free shipping

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 01/28/2006 03:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jahz
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 01/26/2006

QUOTE(zeppelinrox @ Jan 28 2006, 03:05 PM)they are approximately the same price.. $320ish

ah.. http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/...etai...uctCode=80106-R' ">http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/...sp?ProductCode=80106-R
$328.50 free shipping
[right][snapback]608023[/snapback][/right]


Its about time I had a CPU that costs as much as my WC kit.
I need a mobo as well... any recommendations?

My only requirement is that is use the nForce chipset. SoundStorm is the *only* reasonably priced sound solution that truly supports 5.1 discrete channels of dolby digital output via digital coax (spdif). And it works (better) under Linux than windows. My Audigy has been on the floor collecting dust for months because it simply doesnt support this.
 01/28/2006 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

 01/29/2006 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISA...iewI...item=6840058395' ">http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISA...=80139&item=6840058395
ha
ill have to update thaat

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 01/29/2006 06:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

oops.. the seller got a bad mark for that
http://feedback.ebay.com/ws/eB...dll?...userid=avid6eek' ">http://feedback.ebay.com/ws/eB...edback&userid=avid6eek

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 01/29/2006 06:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

that is so dumb... and he is filing fraud... losers need to learn how to read the whole sentence before they throw down $400

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 01/29/2006 06:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

see the bottom of the auction page?
Q: Is this a retail or OEM cpu?
Jan-19-06
A: Wow...there seems to be some misunderstanding. The price of the auction was really run up overnight. This is for an Integreated Heat Spreader...the piece of metal which covers the processor to protect the die from damage, and NOT FOR AN ACTUAL PROCESSOR. If anyone needs bids canceled please contact me ASAP.




-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 02/04/2006 02:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jahz
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 01/26/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: zeppelinrox
see the bottom of the auction page?
Q: Is this a retail or OEM cpu?
Jan-19-06
A: Wow...there seems to be some misunderstanding. The price of the auction was really run up overnight. This is for an Integreated Heat Spreader...the piece of metal which covers the processor to protect the die from damage, and NOT FOR AN ACTUAL PROCESSOR. If anyone needs bids canceled please contact me ASAP.



Yet he listed it the same way again...

Anyway, I got my new rig all set up 3-days after odering it (newegg = fastest shippers ever?). The Opteron is a beauty. 2700 (300x9 @ 1.45v) right out of the box. Temps in the low 30's, sweet. I'm using a DFI Lanparty nF4 SLI-DR. This mobo really is amazing for tweaking the [content edited] out of components. However, it is extremely tempermental... especially with RAM and power.

Unfortunately I haven't finished getting the ram settings right. Rebooted at some point last nigth during a Prime run (on the ram stress setting).

You guys have any problem getting the board to use RAM in dual channel mode??
Edit: directed at TheReturnOfAZ who listed an dfi nf4 board in his sig
 02/04/2006 03:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

hey start a new thread askin for help
make sure to mention New Opteron and DFI in the title

2.7 ghz = NICE!

oh list all specs too especially the ram

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 02/04/2006 03:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jahz
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 01/26/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: zeppelinrox
hey start a new thread askin for help
make sure to mention New Opteron and DFI in the title

2.7 ghz = NICE!

oh list all specs too especially the ram



k.

AMD Opteron 165 - 300x9=2700Mhz
DFI LanParty UT nF4 SLI-DR
5x WD 150GB special edition HDs (the ones with the 7M cache, remember? got a great deal on .75TB w/SATA adapters.)
2x 512MB Mushkin lvl1 PC3200 2-3-2(-7?)
Enermax Liberty 500W ATX2.2
Sapphire Radeon X800 GTO2
Vid Mod: 12 pipeline -> 16 pipeline, 400Mhz -> 540Mhz GPU
Homebrewed water cooling: Core: 28c at idle, mid 30's under load

Edit:
Oh, right, I would post a new topic, but I figured these aren't really the forums for DFI mobo's and RAM.
 02/04/2006 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

you have 5 WD 150s!?

2.7 at 1.45 is pretty nice too

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information