AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Cant Overclock AMD Phenom
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/23/2007 03:11 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/23/2007 03:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JmKmX
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/23/2007

Hi i just bought a new AMD Phenom along with a ASUS M3A32-MVP... for some reason my cpu does not oc... ive been overclocking amd cpus for about a year and a half and never had a problem... my old mobo's BIOS was similar to this one... OCing on this new one should not be a problem... also i noticed that when windows is starting my cpu frequency and multipier's values are different...

according to CPUZ my cpu's specs are the following

when windows:

core speed:2206.7mhz
multiplier:x0.3
bus speed: 7150.8mhz
this seems a bit out of place for me but then after a little while that windows finishes loading it goes to this

core speed: 2206.7mhz
multiplier: x11.0
bus speed: 200.6mhz


well going back to the ocing i tried many different things like turning certain features off and stuff but nothing seems to work... no even rasing the frequency of the cpu niether the multipier if i do this my pc wouldnt start...

does anyone knows anything about this problem...

-------------------------
AMD Phenom 9500 2.2GHZ
Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe
ATI 2900XT 1024-512mb (Crossfire)
OCZ Crossfire 4gb DDR2 6400
Thermanltake Thoughpower 850w
Samsumg 3000:1 2ms 1680/1050
 12/23/2007 04:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgemeal
Overclocker

Posts: 708
Joined: 03/27/2007

Did you try raising the memory controller and HyperTransport voltages? I only say this because in Xbit Labs Phenom 9900 review they raised the memory controller and HyperTransport voltages from the default values to 1.25V and got the M3A32-MVP Deluxe to run the 9900 @ 3GHz.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articl...play/amd-phenom_9.html

-------------------------
MSI 770-C45
Phenom II X2-550 @ X4 @ 3.5GHz @ Stock Vcore.
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
2x2GB DDR3 1333 @ 9-9-9-24-33-1T
1x60GB SSD /1x300GB VelociRaptor / 1x320GB Seagate / 1xDVD 22X
Audigy2 / HD 6670 1GB / Acer 22" / Win7-64_Ult.
Antec SOHO / Antec BP550 Plus
 12/23/2007 06:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JmKmX
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/23/2007

man i read the entire review and tried to do what they did even wrote down the votage levels and nothing...

i cant increase not a single 1mhz well actually i got it up to 2.25 and when i restart my rig to raise it a little more my pc wouldnt start ....

not even with AMD overdrive it freezes my pc as soon as i do any kind of overclocking thing... this is really getting me mad already

hey and what about the cpu changing its values when my pc starts du have any idea whats is this????

thx

-------------------------
AMD Phenom 9500 2.2GHZ
Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe
ATI 2900XT 1024-512mb (Crossfire)
OCZ Crossfire 4gb DDR2 6400
Thermanltake Thoughpower 850w
Samsumg 3000:1 2ms 1680/1050
 02/19/2008 03:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
timw
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 02/19/2008

wow not one single mhz ??! maybe your memory is to blame, try to run it on a lower divider. make sure everything else is low and check for bios upgrade this sounds more like a software bug then a hardware failure. I know the x4's are bad oclockers but not that bad


also! make sure your PCI bus is locked before you try to increase the clock....

Edited: 02/19/2008 at 03:37 AM by timw
 03/07/2008 09:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rlong
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/07/2008

my 9500 runs stable at 2418 so far . i believe the fsb is 220 . with ecs mb gforce6100pm-m2 using nvidia ntune .when i set it at 220 in the bios it wont start but ntune turns it up after windows starts. i believe it ran ok at 2500 also but i turned it down a bit for safety
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information