AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Overclocking Phenom 9550
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/02/2008 09:39 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/02/2008 09:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AmadoMD
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/02/2008

I recently bought an AMD Phenom 9550 and i was just wondering if anyone recommends overclocking, and if so how high?I also bought a Thermaltake Big Typhoon.

Specs: Amd Phenom 9550 2.2, Asus M2N-SLI, 8GIG (4-2gigs) Pc6400 Corsair xms, Nvidia 7950GT, Seagate 320gig, Antec 900.

Suggestions please!
 09/19/2008 04:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stevensl2
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/19/2008

Okay i overclocked my phenom 9550 to 2.53ghz i set the FSB to 230
and kept everything else auto except the ram volts which i upped to 2.20

-------------------------
Asus M3A
Phenom 9550 oc 2.53ghz
Xfx 8800gt 512mb
Coolermaster 650w
Asus xonar dx soundcard
Antec 900 gamercase
 09/20/2008 11:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Superhal
Overclocker

Posts: 547
Joined: 08/02/2008

yes. in general, the phenom gets spanked by the intel quad cores, unless you use a slight overclock. the performance difference was killing me, so i overclocked for peace of mind. at 2.88 ghz (20% OC), i can beat intel quads with higher mhz on many benchmarks now.

regarding your situation now, here's what i did:

1. test the heck out of that cooler and figure out the max voltage it can handle.
2. lower the ht/ram/nb multipliers by 2 or 3.
3. raise the fsb at the max voltage until it's stable. lower the voltage if it can keep the same fsb.
4. raise or lower the ht/ram/nb to match the fsb and OC and keep stability.

I would recommend against messing with the ram/sb/nb voltage. the asus board comes with bios protection, but it seems to be unable to function if the bad setting is ram/sb/nb.

-------------------------

9750 X4 // 8600 GT // PC-6400 DDR2 800 mhz 1gig X 2 // WD 500 GB SATA HD // 580w PSU // Core Contact Freezer w/ IC Diamond 7 // DVD-RW // Win XP 32 bit // CPU-Z Validation #420180
 12/13/2008 01:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
huunguyen
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/30/2008

J&W RS780AMD+128SP,phenom 9550,ram corsair bus 800 (timing 5-5-5-18), power acbel-i 510W, Cpu fan cooler master(cost 12USA),ATI HD3450. total cost = 480USA
system bus = 235MHz
cpu multi = 11 (default)
ht multi = 8 (default = 9)
nb multi = can not change. i set at bios = 8 (default=9). after checking it in window.its value is still 9. :evil: :twisted:
timing set 5-5-5-18 or 5-5-5-15
Vddim = 1.9+0.2v
Vcore = 1.3v
Vnb = auto
Vsb = auto
Temperature idle = 21-22 oC
Temperature full load 1 hour = 37-38 oC.

-------------------------
huu nguyen
 01/20/2009 05:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mikmouse24
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 01/19/2009

ok i have a 9550 also-
problem is- in the bios i really don't know where to adjust settings- i see where the multiplier is- but i'm not sure where to find FSB settings-
i've never overclocked- so if anyone could just give me the 1 paragraph quick overclock instructions- that would be awesome-
what do i need to do to overclock- thats my question- and where to find it on my bios
im assumming in the MIT intelligent tweaker section-
gigabyte board-
thanks
--------
also- where can i tweak my RAM timings?

-------------------------
Phenom X4 9550
GA-M57SLI-S4 MoBo
4G GSkill Ram (2 x 2g 800mhz DDR2)
NVidia 9800 GTX+ 1g Video Card
Antec True Power Trio TP3-650 650W
Antec 900 Case
WINXP 32 bit
WoW Addiction v 3.0
 01/29/2009 08:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dolsson
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 01/29/2009

Hey I just joined as I saw this thread and figured I could help.

ok i have a 9550 also- problem is- in the bios i really don't know where to adjust settings- i see where the multiplier is- but i'm not sure where to find FSB settings- i've never overclocked- so if anyone could just give me the 1 paragraph quick overclock instructions- that would be awesome- what do i need to do to overclock- thats my question- and where to find it on my bios im assumming in the MIT intelligent tweaker section- gigabyte board- thanks


Hit CTRL+F1, this will open up an advanced section in your Bios. I have the same motherboard and that's what I had to do.

I picked up my 9550 last night with the OCZ Vendetta 2. Looking to OC mine after work today! Good luck, let me know how it goes!!

-------------------------
GA-M57SLI-S4 V2.0
OZC Vendetta 2
AMD X4 Phenom 9550 4MB
OCZ Reaper 4GB (2x2GB)
2xXFX 8600GTS SLI
OCZ ModXtream 780w Quad Rail
Antec 900
 02/11/2009 09:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dolsson
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 01/29/2009

It seems everyone is getting some pretty good overclocks out of the 9550. I have a thread open of my own and I too was able to get 15% more out of it. Looks like some people are getting 20%. Not bad!

-------------------------
GA-M57SLI-S4 V2.0
OZC Vendetta 2
AMD X4 Phenom 9550 4MB
OCZ Reaper 4GB (2x2GB)
2xXFX 8600GTS SLI
OCZ ModXtream 780w Quad Rail
Antec 900
 03/17/2009 02:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Automatic
Junior Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 03/06/2009

Hi AmadoMD, Where the suggestions helpful? Heres another thread from another forum relating to your M2N-SLI and AMD Phenom 9550 specs.

http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/t298669.html

Also, for anyone having any issues with overclocking, a good rule of thumb is to check out the date on your mobo bios and if the manufacturer has an updated BIOS, then flash it.

-------------------------
Computer Help & Repair
 04/09/2009 03:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
agnosie
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/09/2009

Hi, there, Im new in this forum and also Im a newbie in overclocking, Did not want it to start a new thread since i have been reading through this one.I would like to overclock my Phenom 9550 currently at 2.2ghz , before trying i would like some advice from you to see if it is a good idea or not. or if it's possible

here are my Specs:
Phenom X4 9550 (Agena)
Asus M2N78-LA
power supply 300W
Viper patriot 2x2gb
onboard nvidia 9100
 04/13/2009 08:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Two7Buckeye
Senior Member

Posts: 440
Joined: 01/09/2009

Your power supply may hinder you a little bit. Id see how far stable you can get it. Just out of curiosity are you using the stock HSF? You might consider getting a good aftermarket cooler. Also what kind of overclock are you hoping to achieve?

-------------------------
Phenom II 955
Cooler Master V8
ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX
2 x Sapphire 4870 1GB GDDR5
4GB GSkill Pi Black 1066
2 x 74GB WD Raptor 16mb RAID-0
640GB WD Caviar Black 32mb
Cooler Master HAF 932
Antec Quattro 850w
 04/14/2009 05:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JanaV
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/14/2009

Is overclocking really safe? i heard reports that it messes up the hardware eventually...

-------------------------
Fitness Tips
 01/09/2010 06:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eisenheim
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/09/2010

I OC'ed my cpu to 2.65 with ease, i got it all the way to 2.78 before it would start to BSOD, and i could only get it to run stable at 2.65 without messing with the voltage, I ran Passmark, Burn in, and a few other stress testers including the stability test provided with AMD overdrive.
Now i did not use Overdrive to OC my CPU, i merely used the FSB, BUT! i would like to know if anyone else has the MSI k9A2 Platinum board with this CPU, and if So, have you OC'ed the CPU with FSB and Voltage. it would be helpfull to know the stable volt clocks im pusing for 3.0 GHz.
Oh and when I OC'ed my CPU actualy ran cooler, no i didnt burn anything out and even with an IR probe the readings are accurate, 13 idle, 22 under load, they dropped about 6 degrees, strange aye?
<a href="http://s214.photobucket.com/al...iew¤t=OCPIC.png" target="_blank"><img src="http://i214.photobucket.com/al...itofvikings/OCPIC.png" border="0" alt="Photobucket"></a>
 01/09/2010 06:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eisenheim
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/09/2010

 03/23/2010 11:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
auzt67
Newbie

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/23/2010

Hi all, I am new to this forum business, but here it goes. I have the AMD Phenom X4 9550 rated at 2.2GHz. Now I have sucessfully overclocked this CPU to 3.025GHz.

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1094649

That's my CPU-Z validator link.

System Spec is as follows;

MSI KA780G
Sapphire Tech HD4870 512MB dual slot
Kingston Hyper-X Memory 2 x 2GB 1066MHz standard
Asus Vento Tower
HDD 1 - Hitachi Deskstar 160Gb 8MB (Windows 7 Professional 32Bit)
HDD 2 - Samsung 1Tb F3 32Mb
HDD 3 - Samsung 500Gb T series 16Mb
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information