AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Project: Sub Zero
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/16/2005 07:58 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/16/2005 07:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harleybro
Senior Member

Posts: 1597
Joined: 10/10/2004

Well as you all probably know I have really been getting into benching and OCing. I am starting this log to list photos of my current project along with OC results and screenies. I will be installing everything on a workbench. My cooling will be consisting of my first hopefully subzero temps. on my cpu and gpu. I will be cooling the CPU with dry ice. For the GPU I will be using a 172 Watt peltier powered by a 24vdc psu. The hot side of the peltier will be cooled by a DD Maze4 water block. I'll be posting pics and screenies as they roll in this weekend.

-------------------------

AM3 112,659' ">http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/a...iew.php?run=1497574217 3dm01 39,110' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8668017 3dm03 21,901' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=4122341
 04/16/2005 11:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jason57570
Senior Member

Posts: 707
Joined: 10/07/2003

how'd it all go?? I was home did you try to call for help/tips??

let me know

-------------------------
Ati x1900 Crossfire & FX-60 Dual Core
[3DMark 2006=12,573
[3DMark 2005=20,667
[3DMark 2003=42,891
 04/17/2005 01:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harleybro
Senior Member

Posts: 1597
Joined: 10/10/2004

Well went ok Except for possibley frying my 24vdc psu lol. Checking into wr OC on 4000 now . Frost started sneaking away from me under insulation so haven't fired it bk up. Gonna run my HD on this rig to send results to vr zone and see what happens. Other than that tray tools would not work for me so had to DL ati tool. Got some better AM3 scores but forgot to log on after submitting. I'll post some shots in a bit.

-------------------------

AM3 112,659' ">http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/a...iew.php?run=1497574217 3dm01 39,110' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8668017 3dm03 21,901' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=4122341
 04/17/2005 03:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harleybro
Senior Member

Posts: 1597
Joined: 10/10/2004

K here's the photos.

My Bench:
' ">http://img237.echo.cx/my.php?image=picture0028ra.jpg

Intial firing up of the cooler:
' ">http://img63.echo.cx/my.php?image=picture0049gg.jpg

The DI bubbling away:
' ">http://img32.echo.cx/my.php?image=picture0058vh.jpg
' ">http://img229.echo.cx/my.php?image=picture0063ci.jpg

Frost sneakin away from me under the insulation:
' ">http://img151.echo.cx/my.php?image=picture0093ee.jpg
' ">http://img84.echo.cx/my.php?image=picture0084kw.jpg

-------------------------

AM3 112,659' ">http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/a...iew.php?run=1497574217 3dm01 39,110' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8668017 3dm03 21,901' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=4122341
 04/25/2005 02:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
toyowheelin
Member

Posts: 35
Joined: 12/05/2004

hey thats pretty sweet...do you have any screenshots of the temps you were getting with it?
 04/25/2005 05:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jason57570
Senior Member

Posts: 707
Joined: 10/07/2003

his temps never breal -28c load "BIOS TEMP"

base temp of the unit is about -62 to -65c under load at all times

I know as its my old dryice unit that ran my fx55@3550mhz@1.92v

-------------------------
Ati x1900 Crossfire & FX-60 Dual Core
[3DMark 2006=12,573
[3DMark 2005=20,667
[3DMark 2003=42,891
 04/25/2005 06:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harleybro
Senior Member

Posts: 1597
Joined: 10/10/2004

Yup in the bios the lowest I saw was -34c with the warmest being -28C. As for all the other software it shows some crazy number in red since the temps. where too low.

-------------------------

AM3 112,659' ">http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/a...iew.php?run=1497574217 3dm01 39,110' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8668017 3dm03 21,901' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=4122341
 04/25/2005 10:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
amd64lizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1165
Joined: 10/22/2004

Why Why Why, I hope you would put the processor back in its case and put the cooler back on the video card... I wouldn't be able to do that to 1500 bucks worth of computer parts... I mean I could do that but I wouldn't allow myself.. If overclocking means I have to do that then I would prefer not to. Nice screen shots though.

-------------------------
| Intel C2D E6400 | eVGA NF68 | AC Freezer 7 Pro | OCZ Plat Rev 2. 4-4-4-15 DDR2800 | Antec Nine Hundred | OCZ 450W Modstream | eVGA Ge-Force 8800 GTS |
 04/26/2005 08:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harleybro
Senior Member

Posts: 1597
Joined: 10/10/2004

why not why not why not lol. Well I have another mobo that stays mounted in the case. Currently the cpu is still on the benching set up. I actually have to try it but think I repaired my other 850XT. So that one will stay in the case probably on a maze4 though. I have 2 X850XT air cooling set-ups from the 2 cards. So all that's left is the cpu but when I go for either the FX-55 or 57 that will be the benching set-up and the 4000 in the case. The main reason for this is I have more fun tweaking and benching then gaming. But imagine gaming on an AMD @ 3.3gig with outrageous clocks on the graphics card.

-------------------------

AM3 112,659' ">http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/a...iew.php?run=1497574217 3dm01 39,110' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8668017 3dm03 21,901' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=4122341
 04/26/2005 08:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
O'Neil
Senior Member

Posts: 3073
Joined: 02/02/2005

QUOTE (harleybro @ Apr 26 2005, 04:16 AM) why not why not why not lol. Well I have another mobo that stays mounted in the case. Currently the cpu is still on the benching set up. I actually have to try it but think I repaired my other 850XT. So that one will stay in the case probably on a maze4 though. I have 2 X850XT air cooling set-ups from the 2 cards. So all that's left is the cpu but when I go for either the FX-55 or 57 that will be the benching set-up and the 4000 in the case. The main reason for this is I have more fun tweaking and benching then gaming. But imagine gaming on an AMD @ 3.3gig with outrageous clocks on the graphics card.
if only :/ noooooooooooooooooooo stop it wish my cpu ran at 3.3Ghz lol no actually i wish my video card wasn't a radion 9200

-------------------------
AMD 6000 X2 @3.2GHZ | 4GB OCZ Platinum | 4870 XFX RADEON 1GB | Corsair 750 Watt PSU |
 04/26/2005 10:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
killaz1337
Senior Member

Posts: 1555
Joined: 11/20/2004

Wait til the new FX 57 comes out, jason will be all over that, and will probably OC the first chance he gets.

I wonder what he will hit, 3.7?

Chris,

-------------------------
[b][u]System 1)| AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Windsor | Abit KN9 Ultra W/ nForce 570 Ultra Chipset | 1GB (512x2) OCZ DDR-II 800 @4-4-4-12[/b][/u]
 04/30/2005 10:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trickson
Senior Member

Posts: 6387
Joined: 12/10/2003

that is sick man!! what about the frost? how did you prevent it from frying the mobo CPU ect??? and how do I make one of them?

-------------------------
EVGA 680i mobo , Q6600 @3.4GHz , Ultra Chill Tech CPU Cooler , BFG8800GT/OC , ASUS 8800GT 720/1000 video cards SLI with Tt DuOrb VGA cooler , Corsair XMS2 800MHz 4-4-4-10 2T 2GB RAM , rocketfish 700W PSU , LG Flatron L222WT monitor , Cmstacker Case , SMOKIN FAST!! .
 04/30/2005 02:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harleybro
Senior Member

Posts: 1597
Joined: 10/10/2004

Well as long as the base is well insulated and the back of the board I used a 5x5 piece of neoprin you don't get much frost. The mobo is painted in the general area with nail polish. I didn't make that one I bought it from jason57570. I am making one for the gpu well it's just finished except for insulation. I took one of my extra MAZE4's apart and am using the copper base. Mant have told me the base will be waaaay to thin. I will give it a go later tonight. If it doesn't work then I am off to buy more parts and build one with the 1/2" copper bar stock I have here. For the graphics card I painted the whole thing with nail polish.

-------------------------

AM3 112,659' ">http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/a...iew.php?run=1497574217 3dm01 39,110' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8668017 3dm03 21,901' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=4122341
 04/30/2005 02:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SLaY3r
Senior Member

Posts: 3793
Joined: 03/17/2004

Hey harley, you gonna do the same stuff w/ a R520?

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of AMD, OCZ, or ATI
"bv, if Mormons were real, you'd be one" - SDA
 04/30/2005 02:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harleybro
Senior Member

Posts: 1597
Joined: 10/10/2004

Depends on the cost when they come out maybe yeah. Got my other x850XT up if I can only get the vmod to stick then I am set for amr for now.

-------------------------

AM3 112,659' ">http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/a...iew.php?run=1497574217 3dm01 39,110' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8668017 3dm03 21,901' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=4122341
 04/30/2005 03:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stix
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4617
Joined: 03/01/2004


Looks good harley.
 05/01/2005 08:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harleybro
Senior Member

Posts: 1597
Joined: 10/10/2004

Thanks here's some pics of the gpu cooler I built.
' ">http://img166.echo.cx/my.php?image=picture0365pt.jpg

' ">http://img251.echo.cx/my.php?image=picture0376de.jpg

-------------------------

AM3 112,659' ">http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/a...iew.php?run=1497574217 3dm01 39,110' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8668017 3dm03 21,901' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=4122341
 05/01/2005 08:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trickson
Senior Member

Posts: 6387
Joined: 12/10/2003

sweet bro !

-------------------------
EVGA 680i mobo , Q6600 @3.4GHz , Ultra Chill Tech CPU Cooler , BFG8800GT/OC , ASUS 8800GT 720/1000 video cards SLI with Tt DuOrb VGA cooler , Corsair XMS2 800MHz 4-4-4-10 2T 2GB RAM , rocketfish 700W PSU , LG Flatron L222WT monitor , Cmstacker Case , SMOKIN FAST!! .
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information