AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Project: internal UPS *Finished*
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/20/2005 09:59 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/20/2005 09:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abshnasko
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 07/20/2005

Don't tell me its ghetto, I know that already:

http://thinkhacks.futureofcnc.com/index.php?showtopic=2' ">http://thinkhacks.futureofcnc.com/index.php?showtopic=2

Let me know what you think - there's a little How-To on it as well

-------------------------
http://www.thinkHacks.com' ">http://www.thinkHacks.com

My rig:

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (1.8 stock, running @ 2.52GHz)
MSI Neo4 Platinum Mobo
512MB cheapass DDR400 memory
ATI Radeon X700 Pro 256MB PCI-E
 07/20/2005 10:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
landlord
Senior Member

Posts: 1147
Joined: 08/14/2004

um, well its asking me to sign in to see whats on your link.

-------------------------
Favorite Quotes: "NOPE. better reformat. probably the dreaded "WINDOWS" virus." - nolano
"RID[content edited]! lol. so funny how the filter blocks out the [content edited] part." - nolano
 07/20/2005 10:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NetZeroZeus
Senior Member

Posts: 685
Joined: 06/18/2005

Umm, you posted this in Anandtech Forums and Ocforums, and you know you didn't get very nice replies from there, so I will say the same as they did but a bit nicer, it's ugly but it works....and it was your idea so I commend you for it, I always like originality, just if you cleaned it up a bit it would be a whole lot better....

-------------------------
Athlon 64 3500+ Venice@275x10 - Mushkin Redline XP4000+@3.2v on 180 div. - DFI LanParty UT Nforce4 Ultra-D - Leadtek 7800GTX@540/1425 ⌐_⌐- Creative Soundblaster Live! 24-bit - Seagate SATA 160Gig HDD - CD-RW - DVD-RW - Antec Truepower 2.0 550w - 1337 Case..not - XP-90C, VF-700Cu and a whole lot of fans
 07/20/2005 11:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
O'Neil
Senior Member

Posts: 3073
Joined: 02/02/2005

I got too admit its kind of Ugly ( Sry ;/ ) But if your happy with it thats all that counts.

-------------------------
AMD 6000 X2 @3.2GHZ | 4GB OCZ Platinum | 4870 XFX RADEON 1GB | Corsair 750 Watt PSU |
 07/21/2005 02:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MikeyPez
Senior Member

Posts: 1528
Joined: 10/14/2004

Its that big black thing in front of the case.... /dry.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='dry.gif' />

-------------------------

Vinatge AMD at SocketAplus
A single jpeg will make fat little rich kids cry. That is pretty powerful! - AndrewZorn
 07/21/2005 03:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

doesnt that rase ur temps? i had a ups and it pretty hot some times

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 07/21/2005 08:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
benpb1
Senior Member

Posts: 564
Joined: 02/14/2005

QUOTE(athlonxp2800+/333 @ Jul 21 2005, 07:00 PM)doesnt that rase ur temps? i had a ups and it pretty hot some times
[right][snapback]464704[/snapback][/right]


i would assume so, as it is taking up 1/4 if the case, and blocking air flow from the front of the case

-------------------------
currently:6000+ x2, msi k9a platinum, 6800GT, 74 gig raptor, 2gb corsair twinx 800mhz, corsair 520w psu, zalman aero flower, lg dvd-rw w/ lightscribe. all in a lovely lian-li pc-v1000BII

still to add: HD3870x2, 750gb barracuda.
 07/22/2005 07:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Logan[TeamX]
Senior Member

Posts: 3185
Joined: 12/07/2003

At least you:

- were original

- gutted a Dell case and added in some real parts
 07/22/2005 06:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MikeyPez
Senior Member

Posts: 1528
Joined: 10/14/2004

I know you say its ghetto but when modding, cleaness really does count. Out of 10 I give it a 5 for orignality.

-------------------------

Vinatge AMD at SocketAplus
A single jpeg will make fat little rich kids cry. That is pretty powerful! - AndrewZorn
 07/25/2005 02:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

i can't see it o_0


-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
 07/25/2005 03:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Old Camper
Senior Member

Posts: 1741
Joined: 06/13/2004

I think I would have gone for an external side-mount rather than internal.

Encased it in something, then given it a gloss finish to blend in with the rest of the case.

Never the less, I guess it's original. Though I don't see the point of having an inbuilt UPS inside a desktop PC. Kinda pointless.

Old Camper.

-------------------------
One day, humanity will advance forward and leave behind our humble little world to reach innumerable heights of technology, evolution and civilization, to bring our imaginations into the unsuspecting universe and ourselves... play God.
| Email/MSN: old_camper@hotmail.com | Visit the SSAA | IRC @ #forums.amd.irc on irc.d
 07/29/2005 05:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cow8mynuts
Senior Member

Posts: 1079
Joined: 11/30/2003

http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=51627' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=51627

please dont make multiple thread about the same topic, the mod's dont like it.

-------------------------


my healthzone
 08/09/2005 05:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
104456
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/09/2005

There are several commercial products which provide internal UPS the battery residing in a spare bay such as:
http://www.ups2.com/' ">http://www.ups2.com/
http://www.geek.com/hwswrev/hardware/ups/amsdell/' ">http://www.geek.com/hwswrev/hardware/ups/amsdell/
 09/20/2005 06:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abshnasko
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 07/20/2005

How much are they?

-------------------------
http://www.thinkHacks.com' ">http://www.thinkHacks.com

My rig:

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (1.8 stock, running @ 2.52GHz)
MSI Neo4 Platinum Mobo
512MB cheapass DDR400 memory
ATI Radeon X700 Pro 256MB PCI-E
 09/21/2005 12:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ezyn
Senior Member

Posts: 251
Joined: 05/16/2005

pretty nice, but not my taste

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information