AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Project: Redwood -by ZapWizard
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/11/2005 12:49 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/11/2005 12:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZapWizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003



This is the start of my next project.
Specs in the plans:

-Shuttle SFF 939 motherboard
-AMD Athlon 64 FX-55
-1GB Kingston HyperX DDR (U.L.L. or 533Mhz T.B.D.)
-ATI Radeon X800 XT PE
-120GB 7200 RPM IDE Harddrive
-Slim-line slot-load DVD-ROM/CD-RW
-120mm Black-Ice Radiator
-120mm Alluminum Fan
-Two C-systems Pumps
-PSU yet to be determined (Shuttle PSU most likely)

Mods:
-Complete custom case made out of high quality wood
-Custom copper water-blocks
-Modified Radiator with dual inlets and outlet, plus fill and bleed taps
-And much much more to come.

Here is more eye candy:



http://www.zapwizard.com/Proje.../pla...ns/block_02.jpg' ">http://www.zapwizard.com/Proje...ood/plans/block_02.jpg
http://www.zapwizard.com/Proje.../pla...ns/block_03.jpg' ">http://www.zapwizard.com/Proje...ood/plans/block_03.jpg
http://www.zapwizard.com/Proje.../pla...ns/block_04.jpg' ">http://www.zapwizard.com/Proje...ood/plans/block_04.jpg
http://www.zapwizard.com/Proje.../pla...ns/block_05.jpg' ">http://www.zapwizard.com/Proje...ood/plans/block_05.jpg



http://www.zapwizard.com/Proje.../pla...TI_Block_02.jpg' ">http://www.zapwizard.com/Proje...plans/ATI_Block_02.jpg
http://www.zapwizard.com/Proje.../pla...TI_Block_03.jpg' ">http://www.zapwizard.com/Proje...plans/ATI_Block_03.jpg

Before you ask: The 3D renderings were made using trueSpace3, a free graphics program you can download from: http://forms.caligari.com/forms/ts3all_free.html' ">http://forms.caligari.com/forms/ts3all_free.html
It takes a lot of time to learn, and I can't teach you over the net.

-------------------------
' ">http://www.ZapWizard.com
The opinions expressed above do not represent the views of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 01/11/2005 07:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
toyowheelin
Member

Posts: 35
Joined: 12/05/2004

I spot a mistake, the socket in your 3d drawings looks like a 754 not a 939
 01/11/2005 11:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZapWizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (toyowheelin @ Jan 11 2005, 06:58 PM) I spot a mistake, the socket in your 3d drawings looks like a 754 not a 939
Correct.

As I have a 754 board and CPU right now.
I can convert to a 939 pretty easily.

-----------------
Usually if I can make it in 3D I can convert it to real life:

3D: http://www.zapwizard.com/lanpc/Angle.jpg' ">http://www.zapwizard.com/lanpc/Angle.jpg
Real: http://www.zapwizard.com/lanpc/HighRes/Connectors.jpg' ">http://www.zapwizard.com/lanpc/HighRes/Connectors.jpg

3D: http://www.zapwizard.com/ATI/pc-front.jpg' ">http://www.zapwizard.com/ATI/pc-front.jpg
Real: http://www.zapwizard.com/ati/highres/02-Angle-Big.jpg' ">http://www.zapwizard.com/ati/highres/02-Angle-Big.jpg

3D: http://www.zapwizard.com/proje...ston...on/Plans/3d.jpg' ">http://www.zapwizard.com/projects/Kingston/Plans/3d.jpg
Real: http://server2.uploadit.org/files/zapwiz-Cimg0165.jpg' ">http://server2.uploadit.org/files/zapwiz-Cimg0165.jpg

3D: http://www.zapwizard.com/proje.../pla...lans/wood-4.jpg' ">http://www.zapwizard.com/projects/wood/plans/wood-4.jpg
Real: http://www.zapwizard.com/projects/wood/plans/real.jpg' ">http://www.zapwizard.com/projects/wood/plans/real.jpg

-------------------------
' ">http://www.ZapWizard.com
The opinions expressed above do not represent the views of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 01/11/2005 11:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
toyowheelin
Member

Posts: 35
Joined: 12/05/2004

It is a truely interesting design, I wonder how well that one fan will cool the processor and GPU
 01/13/2005 06:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
snithead88
Senior Member

Posts: 661
Joined: 07/04/2004

he will have the liquid cooling do that for him, which will cool it pretty well.. haha this guy rocks. im gonna come get one of his systems also

-------------------------

Free Sigs, Ask. AM3 Score
 01/13/2005 10:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
toyowheelin
Member

Posts: 35
Joined: 12/05/2004

yes I know the liquid will cool them, however the liquid gets hot from cooling the cpu and gpu so the fan cools the liquid. I just dont know if it will be able to do a good enough job cooling the liquid.
 01/13/2005 12:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZapWizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003

Yes, even though I am using water to cool the CPU and GPU (Possible the PSU and DDR too) the exact same amount of heat is generated and must be transfered into the air.

I am using a Black-ice Extreme 120mm radiator, and a medium power 120mm fan.

The radiator has a much larger surface area for heat transfer then both the CPU heatsink, and GPU heatsink combined, therefore it will cool better then the original heatsinks, even with a single fan.

-------------------------
' ">http://www.ZapWizard.com
The opinions expressed above do not represent the views of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 01/13/2005 12:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
toyowheelin
Member

Posts: 35
Joined: 12/05/2004

Well zap sounds like you have done your homework, I was just going by your drawings. But you have it all figured out and sounds like it should be a pretty nice setup. Maybe try to market it as a new setup for those shuttle boxes, maybe a few extra $$$ coming in Anyway good job on the design, cant wait to see the final results!
 01/13/2005 03:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZapWizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003

I noticed I don't have my latest rendering on these forums:



Large image:
http://www.zapwizard.com/Proje.../pla...lans/wood-4.jpg' ">http://www.zapwizard.com/Projects/wood/plans/wood-4.jpg

I have changed the pump to a much better DDC pump.
I added a resivoir to allow the system to remain full all the time.
I moved the harddrive and DVD, and added the drawer rails that will allow for easy access.

-------------------------
' ">http://www.ZapWizard.com
The opinions expressed above do not represent the views of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 01/13/2005 05:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dan.M
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3796
Joined: 10/23/2003

nice

btw.. what program do u use to make those renders ?

-------------------------
Formerly Known as AzN_Pride
i7-2600|P8P67 Deluxe|HD6970&HD5770|16GB G.Skill RAM|640GB WD Caviar Black|Corsair AX750W|Silverstone Raven 3
 01/13/2005 05:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZapWizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE
Before you ask: The 3D renderings were made using trueSpace3, a free graphics program you can download from: http://forms.caligari.com/forms/ts3all_free.html' ">http://forms.caligari.com/forms/ts3all_free.html
It takes a lot of time to learn, and I can't teach you over the net.


It's in the first post, as someone always asks.

-------------------------
' ">http://www.ZapWizard.com
The opinions expressed above do not represent the views of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 01/13/2005 06:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Super_Dude
Senior Member

Posts: 1078
Joined: 07/22/2004

How do you plan on keeping the HD Cool? and will you be using a different type of liquid besides water?

-------------------------
' ">http://profile.xfire.com/superdude11

DFI NF3 Ultra-D
3200+ Venice
1GB(2x512) Gskill FX
Visiontek XTASY X850XTPE
Antec True 430w
300gb Maxtor
TDK 420-N DVD/+RW drive
 01/13/2005 09:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZapWizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (Super_Dude @ Jan 13 2005, 05:52 PM) How do you plan on keeping the HD Cool? and will you be using a different type of liquid besides water?
The HD won't get hot enought to require extra cooling.
The airflow through the system should be enough.

I will be using distilled water only.

-------------------------
' ">http://www.ZapWizard.com
The opinions expressed above do not represent the views of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 01/13/2005 11:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rob_a89
Senior Member

Posts: 435
Joined: 01/25/2004

very nice job.. i cant wait to see the actuall build.. and im gonna mess around with that 3d render program.. good stuff
 01/17/2005 07:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jimi
Senior Member

Posts: 778
Joined: 10/29/2004

That's an odd design for your water block, is that your design?

You might find that it will slow your flow rate down, making your temps higher than what they should be.

-------------------------
DFI CFX3200 DR | AMD Opt 170 2.75GHz | 2GB G.Skill HZ | ATI X1900CF Edition



<img src="http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/8848/xfire
 01/18/2005 12:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tech-Daddy
Senior Member

Posts: 200
Joined: 01/08/2005

Red helping ya with the wood?


Always love reading up on your technical salads!
Always fresh, always ingenuitive.

I'll be watching,
 01/18/2005 12:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZapWizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003

That is my design, as above the channels are designed to be easy to make using a dremel.
That may change if I have the block CNCed, or even as I am cutting the channels.

QUOTE (Tech-Daddy @ Jan 17 2005, 11:13 PM)Red helping ya with the wood?

Always love reading up on your technical salads!
Always fresh, always ingenuitive.

I'll be watching,

Probably, he has more larger tools and space then I do.
"Technical salads" LOL I like that.

-----------

Text update:
I have finalized my designs for the internals.
I will be using a 380-watt server power supply that I was going to use on another project:
http://www.zapwizard.com/Proje...rPC/.../PSU/Index.html' ">http://www.zapwizard.com/Proje...LaserPC/PSU/Index.html
It is not silent by any means, but I plan on lowering the sound by removing the four 40mm fans.
The large 120mm fan output will be routed to pass out the back of the case, passing through the PSU on it's way out.

I also have a initial design for the outside of the case, it will be flat on the top and bottom, and curved on the sides.

-------------------------
' ">http://www.ZapWizard.com
The opinions expressed above do not represent the views of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 01/18/2005 11:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
{OLD}agile
Member

Posts: 29
Joined: 07/25/2004

ZapWizard. Nice to happen upon your stuff. Saw your MaxPC rig, but didn't know it was you. I read so many tech magazines that sometimes I do not always read the text or just peruse it. Anyway man, nice work. I saw your site and body of work, and came away impressed and inspired.

Anyway, how are you going to fabricate the WBs? Concsidering your setup, an acrylic cap would be nie although the thermal transfer would not nearly be as good though probably only by 2-3 degrees.

Additionally, how did you render your drawings? Solidworks?

Thanks man.
 01/18/2005 11:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Super_Dude
Senior Member

Posts: 1078
Joined: 07/22/2004

Why kingston? Sponsor maybe? Also, what brand of harddrive will you be using?


-------------------------
' ">http://profile.xfire.com/superdude11

DFI NF3 Ultra-D
3200+ Venice
1GB(2x512) Gskill FX
Visiontek XTASY X850XTPE
Antec True 430w
300gb Maxtor
TDK 420-N DVD/+RW drive
 01/19/2005 12:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZapWizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE ({OLD}agile @ Jan 18 2005, 10:09 PM) Anyway, how are you going to fabricate the WBs? Concsidering your setup, an acrylic cap would be nie although the thermal transfer would not nearly be as good though probably only by 2-3 degrees.

Additionally, how did you render your drawings? Solidworks?
I am not sure on the blocks yet, as above, I am checking into getting them water-cut or CNCed.
I don't want an acrylic cap, as I want polished copper to be visible.

Also as in the thread, I used trueSpace3 for the renders.

QUOTE (Super_Dude @ Jan 18 2005, 10:12 PM)Why kingston? Sponsor maybe? Also, what brand of harddrive will you be using?

Kingston as I already have the memory (If I can find it in my office)
The harddrive is a 120GB Segate Baracuda that I won at QuakeCon and am using in my main system.

-------------------------
' ">http://www.ZapWizard.com
The opinions expressed above do not represent the views of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information