AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Windows 7 gaming
Topic Summary: The next Windows gaming platform?
Created On: 01/13/2009 05:31 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/13/2009 10:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PCMIKE09
Senior Member

Posts: 253
Joined: 01/10/2009

lol but I'm just going to delete mine when everything becomes more stable.

-------------------------
Dell Studio 15 Hp dv6000
Intel C2duo t5800 2.0ghz Amd Turion tl-50 x2 1.6ghz
3gb 800mhz ram 2gb 667mhz ram
Ati Mobility Radeon hd 3450 256mb Nvidia geforce go 6150
 01/14/2009 06:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

Here's what Even Balance (A.K.A. Punk Buster) has to say:

Note #2: This is due to PunkBuster not supporting Windows 7, and we will not support Windows 7 until it is released to the general public for purchase. I'm sorry, but we do not support beta or release candidate operating systems.


To which I replied:

Note #3: You had a patch/update for Vista Beta 2 so "gamers could try out the next revolution in Windows gaming". Considering the enthusiasm Windows 7 has garnered for itself at this point, I'd strongly recommend supporting it, becasue this will be the next gaming OS to replace Windows XP and offer DirectX 11 gaming to the masses." If not, we can always uncheck PB support in our games. We're beta testing the OS in various aspects including gaming, so when the RTM version is ready for public, it will go smooth. It would be nice to have Punk Buster support at that time, instead of having the general public flood your support page with merciless cries of help. Help out a few people now trying their best to test things out, or have hundreds of millions of users crying to you when Windows 7 goes public. Don't forget, the server files in games need to be looked at becasue I'm sure Windows 7 will used for games servers also.


-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 01/14/2009 09:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

looks like I have dead space working in Windows 7 now.

I still cant get need for speed undercover or bioshock to work in windows 7.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 01/14/2009 at 09:56 PM by PC-GURU -
 01/14/2009 11:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

I'll check out Pro Street and the rest of assorted games I have currently installed on here. I was able to manually update my driver to the 8.12 hotfix driver and IQ and FPS are the same as before (still better than Vista) but the games seem to load a bit quicker. Still no CCC for me, but I can't complain really.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 01/15/2009 12:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

Is it GPU dependant? With this 4850, I can barely notice any difference between official 8.12s for either XP or Vista, that includes CCC completness.
Still havent gotten around trying games tho. Just a quick 3dMark run. SO far, performing just as well as XP.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 01/15/2009 12:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

Originally posted by: axy1985

Is it GPU dependant? With this 4850, I can barely notice any difference between official 8.12s for either XP or Vista, that includes CCC completness.

Still havent gotten around trying games tho. Just a quick 3dMark run. SO far, performing just as well as XP.


I'm actually using the 8.12 4850 hotfix driver, ahahah. I just figured since this was the latest and greatest ATI drivers, I'd use these over the 2 month old ATI Windows 7 Beta drivers... which won't install on my old chipsets anyways.

I have everything working rather well now, so I'm afraid to change any settings or drivers now.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 01/15/2009 03:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

small problem with Left 4 Dead in Windows 7. Unable to heal my self and picture looks grainy.

scratch that FIXED.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 01/15/2009 at 03:49 AM by PC-GURU -
 01/15/2009 10:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BigBear
Member

Posts: 104
Joined: 05/06/2007

PunkBuster (EvenBalance) still do not offer Crysis 64bit support.
It's been out long enough, yet you have to use 32bit to play multiplayer w/PB.
http://www.punksbusted.com/for...ex.php?showtopic=46090

-------------------------
ASUS L1N64-SLI 680a WS Dual Socket L, 2x AMD Athlon 64 FX-74, 2x ASUS EN8800GTX/DDR3/768M (SLI),
2x WD 150GB Raptors 10000rpm-Raid0, 4gig Corsair DDR2@800mhz-PC6400, Dell 30in (2560x1600),
Enermax Galaxy 1000W, ThermalTake Armour Extreme, Vista Ultimate-64bit OS...
TrackIR:4 Pro
 01/15/2009 03:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PCMIKE09
Senior Member

Posts: 253
Joined: 01/10/2009

PCGURU
Bioshock and left 4 dead work perfect for me with know problems.

-------------------------
Dell Studio 15 Hp dv6000
Intel C2duo t5800 2.0ghz Amd Turion tl-50 x2 1.6ghz
3gb 800mhz ram 2gb 667mhz ram
Ati Mobility Radeon hd 3450 256mb Nvidia geforce go 6150
 01/15/2009 04:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

left 4 dead is working perfect now but NO luck with bioshock lol.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 01/15/2009 04:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PCMIKE09
Senior Member

Posts: 253
Joined: 01/10/2009

This might sound wierd but install it in safe mode. Works sometimes for me.

-------------------------
Dell Studio 15 Hp dv6000
Intel C2duo t5800 2.0ghz Amd Turion tl-50 x2 1.6ghz
3gb 800mhz ram 2gb 667mhz ram
Ati Mobility Radeon hd 3450 256mb Nvidia geforce go 6150
 01/15/2009 04:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

tried that. it loads but then freezes and drops to desktop at start of loading a saved game or new game. Working fine in vista X64.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 01/15/2009 08:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

just ran a few benchmarks with farcry 2 in windows 7. Shows a 10 FPS to 20 FPS boost over vista for me. Quality looks just a little better to.



-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 01/15/2009 at 08:29 PM by PC-GURU -
 01/15/2009 09:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

performance and quality of crysis and crysis warhead look to be the same in w7.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 01/15/2009 09:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PCMIKE09
Senior Member

Posts: 253
Joined: 01/10/2009

PC-GURU-
What software are you using to test your fps.
It will be a great help indeed if you tell me that program.

-------------------------
Dell Studio 15 Hp dv6000
Intel C2duo t5800 2.0ghz Amd Turion tl-50 x2 1.6ghz
3gb 800mhz ram 2gb 667mhz ram
Ati Mobility Radeon hd 3450 256mb Nvidia geforce go 6150
 01/15/2009 09:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Farcry II benchmark is built into the game.

Crysis and crysis II have time demo benchmarks available here.

click here

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 01/15/2009 09:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

the others I just have to run fraps and look at the overall performance compared to Vista to see how it stacks up. The games that work are showing the same performance and in some cases better.

No loss in any game as of yet.

about to run 3DmarkVantage that will help paint a better picture on DX10 gaming abilities of Windows 7.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 01/15/2009 09:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PCMIKE09
Senior Member

Posts: 253
Joined: 01/10/2009

Thanks hate to bother you, would you happen to know any bioshock benchmarks.
Oh and thanks for the link.

EDIT: Also heard that bioshock 2 is comming out. Yay I wonder if my gpu card will handle it. Do you know if it will use the same engine.

-------------------------
Dell Studio 15 Hp dv6000
Intel C2duo t5800 2.0ghz Amd Turion tl-50 x2 1.6ghz
3gb 800mhz ram 2gb 667mhz ram
Ati Mobility Radeon hd 3450 256mb Nvidia geforce go 6150
 01/15/2009 09:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

don't know of a time demo benchmark for bioshock.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 01/15/2009 09:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PCMIKE09
Senior Member

Posts: 253
Joined: 01/10/2009

PC-GURU-
Would you happen to expirence better graphic performance back in the old xp.

-------------------------
Dell Studio 15 Hp dv6000
Intel C2duo t5800 2.0ghz Amd Turion tl-50 x2 1.6ghz
3gb 800mhz ram 2gb 667mhz ram
Ati Mobility Radeon hd 3450 256mb Nvidia geforce go 6150
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » Gaming and Lan Parties » Windows 7 gaming

<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information