AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: pc wont boot
Topic Summary: no post after installing new gfx card
Created On: 02/12/2010 08:48 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/12/2010 08:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NAVI_Z
Deprecated

Posts: 324
Joined: 03/01/2009

hey folks. hows da clan doin 2day?hope all is well. just got a new grfx card and guess what? no post no boot no nothing. its an ati xfx hd 5770 triple x edition.all old drivers are disabled including on board.got plenty of power by way of a corsair tx650w power supply.running win7 ultimate 64bit. 4 gigz of ram. wd velociraptor hd.asus p5lp-le mobo. latest bios revision(v5.23).everything turns on including the fan on the card which means its getting power.it just wont post.yes i've tried puting the old gfx card back in and yes it posts and boots into windows.$#@!%$#@%$#$^&%(. please help! would like to get gaming and benchmarking this card. yes i've installed the latest driver from ati(v10.1).

-------------------------
Cpu-amd phenom 2 x4 965 be oc'd to 4ghz. ram-corsair dominator ddr3
1600mhz@9-9-9-24 3x2gigz chilled w a kingston hyper x ram cooler. grfx-ati hd 5870 xfx
triple x edition.mobo-asus m4a78T-E chipset790gx.hdd-wd velociraptor 300gig wd
cavair green 500gig,samsung spinpoint 250gig. cpu cooler-corsair H-50 hydro liquid cooler.
psu-kingwin 800w. case-NZXT temptest air flow king. os-win7 ultim 64bit.
 02/12/2010 08:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

ASUS FAIL.
Reset BIOS.
Then, reinsert the new card and make sure it's properly connected.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 02/12/2010 09:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NAVI_Z
Deprecated

Posts: 324
Joined: 03/01/2009

trying as we speak. thanx overmind.

-------------------------
Cpu-amd phenom 2 x4 965 be oc'd to 4ghz. ram-corsair dominator ddr3
1600mhz@9-9-9-24 3x2gigz chilled w a kingston hyper x ram cooler. grfx-ati hd 5870 xfx
triple x edition.mobo-asus m4a78T-E chipset790gx.hdd-wd velociraptor 300gig wd
cavair green 500gig,samsung spinpoint 250gig. cpu cooler-corsair H-50 hydro liquid cooler.
psu-kingwin 800w. case-NZXT temptest air flow king. os-win7 ultim 64bit.
 02/12/2010 09:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NAVI_Z
Deprecated

Posts: 324
Joined: 03/01/2009

ok.tried reseting the bios via removing the battery and still no go.

-------------------------
Cpu-amd phenom 2 x4 965 be oc'd to 4ghz. ram-corsair dominator ddr3
1600mhz@9-9-9-24 3x2gigz chilled w a kingston hyper x ram cooler. grfx-ati hd 5870 xfx
triple x edition.mobo-asus m4a78T-E chipset790gx.hdd-wd velociraptor 300gig wd
cavair green 500gig,samsung spinpoint 250gig. cpu cooler-corsair H-50 hydro liquid cooler.
psu-kingwin 800w. case-NZXT temptest air flow king. os-win7 ultim 64bit.
 02/12/2010 09:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

not enough to remove it.
Either use the jumper or short-circuit the battery socket pins.
There are capacitors in the MB.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 02/12/2010 09:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NAVI_Z
Deprecated

Posts: 324
Joined: 03/01/2009

wow! short circuit the pins?! sick! i'll try the jumpers first.thanx.

-------------------------
Cpu-amd phenom 2 x4 965 be oc'd to 4ghz. ram-corsair dominator ddr3
1600mhz@9-9-9-24 3x2gigz chilled w a kingston hyper x ram cooler. grfx-ati hd 5870 xfx
triple x edition.mobo-asus m4a78T-E chipset790gx.hdd-wd velociraptor 300gig wd
cavair green 500gig,samsung spinpoint 250gig. cpu cooler-corsair H-50 hydro liquid cooler.
psu-kingwin 800w. case-NZXT temptest air flow king. os-win7 ultim 64bit.
 02/12/2010 11:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Orn
Titanic Jelly Hammer

Posts: 3481
Joined: 01/04/2008

that's what I do when trying to do a hard bios reset, coz I dont have an extra jumber, and the mobo didnt come with one, WEIRD!, but the safe way would be just using the jumpers

also there have been some GSOD with the 5770's, I dont know why just ask people they seem to know wayy more than I do, that is what I would do because I dont know ***** about computers let alone graphics cards, so how are you all doing today, fine I hope because I have been recently to a weeding and I positively hated it, and I want to go to sleep
 02/22/2010 12:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NAVI_Z
Deprecated

Posts: 324
Joined: 03/01/2009

no go folks. had to get another mobo.so i went with the tried and true asus m3a78. sent the intel chip back and got an amd athlon 2 x4 260. plays awsome.

the xfx hd 5770 still has some issues that just make playin games unplayable though. not even the hot fix from ati helped. yep i got catilyst 10.2. i hope 10.3 solves these issues.

-------------------------
Cpu-amd phenom 2 x4 965 be oc'd to 4ghz. ram-corsair dominator ddr3
1600mhz@9-9-9-24 3x2gigz chilled w a kingston hyper x ram cooler. grfx-ati hd 5870 xfx
triple x edition.mobo-asus m4a78T-E chipset790gx.hdd-wd velociraptor 300gig wd
cavair green 500gig,samsung spinpoint 250gig. cpu cooler-corsair H-50 hydro liquid cooler.
psu-kingwin 800w. case-NZXT temptest air flow king. os-win7 ultim 64bit.
 02/22/2010 12:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: Overmind

ASUS FAIL.

Reset BIOS.

Then, reinsert the new card and make sure it's properly connected.


Seen it happen to few others , its a Asus bios problem.

Fix 1 = reset cmos and set main GPU boot to PCI-E

Fix 2 = update bios and repeat.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/03/2010 03:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sam.reader
Newbie

Posts: 30
Joined: 03/03/2010

I think I know what your problem is.
Just check if you have connected the Display plug of the monitor to the Motherboard or the GPU pin.
You will need to connect the Display plug to to the GPU Pin

-------------------------
Am the King!!!
Tomcat Linux
Tomcat Configuration
Tomcat Logging
 03/08/2010 12:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NAVI_Z
Deprecated

Posts: 324
Joined: 03/01/2009

thanx for da help everyone. did the Guru thing. worked like a charm. u da man G!

-------------------------
Cpu-amd phenom 2 x4 965 be oc'd to 4ghz. ram-corsair dominator ddr3
1600mhz@9-9-9-24 3x2gigz chilled w a kingston hyper x ram cooler. grfx-ati hd 5870 xfx
triple x edition.mobo-asus m4a78T-E chipset790gx.hdd-wd velociraptor 300gig wd
cavair green 500gig,samsung spinpoint 250gig. cpu cooler-corsair H-50 hydro liquid cooler.
psu-kingwin 800w. case-NZXT temptest air flow king. os-win7 ultim 64bit.
 03/19/2010 05:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sam.reader
Newbie

Posts: 30
Joined: 03/03/2010

Hey NAVI_Z since that has worked for you it would be nice if you can create a new thread and let everyone know the complete procedure since that may help anyone else who may be facing the same problem.
And its nice to know that you have comeback and let everyone know that your problem is solved.

-------------------------
Am the King!!!
Tomcat Linux
Tomcat Configuration
Tomcat Logging
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information