AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Starcraft 2 subscription or not?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/08/2010 11:17 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/08/2010 11:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
serbusfish
Deprecated

Posts: 422
Joined: 10/17/2008

Im interested in picking up Starcraft 2 but as its a Blizzard title I was wondering if its subscription based like World of Warcraft is? Really hope not as I want to play this game badly.

Edit: Also does this game have a skirmish mode like Command and Conquer games do?

-------------------------
ASRock K10N78FullHD-hSLI R3.0 Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3.9ghz
Sapphire Radeon 5870 1GB
4GB DDR2 RAM (4 4 4 12)
Corsair TX650W PSU
Thermaltake M5 Case
Windows Vista x64 Ultimate
 08/10/2010 01:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

No, SC2 is not subscription based. You buy it and that's that. This one is only the Terrans campaign unfortunately. The Zerg and Protoss ones will follow some other time.

The game does have a skirmish mode, but it lacks LAN play which is really bad.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 08/11/2010 06:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

You can still play friends over Battlenet though so essentially you have LAN but over the net.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 05/28/2011 01:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ckoehne
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/28/2011

Theyve mentioned before the possibility of stopping subscription for wow too but I doubt it will happen since they make so much money off of it. I hope that Diablo 3 isn't subscription.

-------------------------
Web Design Des Moines | Website Design Des Moines
 08/20/2011 04:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mighty lazer
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 08/20/2011

no .. its not subriaction based

you will need to be online to validate your game

and yes.. it has a skirmish mode... like command and concoure
 08/22/2011 07:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mighty lazer
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 08/20/2011

Originally posted by: TLH

You can still play friends over Battlenet though so essentially you have LAN but over the net.


im fairly sure they did just that

but its only up to a cirtent level..then you need to pay to keep playing
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information