AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Doom 3 Coverage
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/02/2004 01:07 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/02/2004 03:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klesk4000
Senior Member

Posts: 2857
Joined: 01/02/2004

No?

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ || Temp Biostar 939 || Sapphire X1800XT 512mb|| 1.5GB OCZ || SB Audigy Platinum eX || 500w 34amps Aspire PSU
Klesk
 08/02/2004 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

its just on the BETA version you do. maybe the BETA demo was another level though
 08/02/2004 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

QUOTE (Klesk4000 @ Aug 2 2004, 03:10 PM) Sometimes, you nkow its jumpy, i wouldnt say this would give you nightmares unless your affected by that stuff. Also, i just got it some im playing it in the light.......... I could post soime screenies but i cant host and they would proboly make this thread all out of wac because it would stretch the screen out so much. If your going to buy this game, you will not be dissapointed, I assure it.
The rule is to play in the dark! You're not a man otherwise!

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 08/02/2004 03:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klesk4000
Senior Member

Posts: 2857
Joined: 01/02/2004

yea but i have this big window behind me and it lights up eveeything, hmmmm i could throw some towels up there...................


http://www.personal.psu.edu/us...bet1...k4000/doom1.JPG' ">http://www.personal.psu.edu/us...MD/klesk4000/doom1.JPG
http://www.personal.psu.edu/us...bet1...4000/awsome.JPG' ">http://www.personal.psu.edu/us...D/klesk4000/awsome.JPG
http://www.personal.psu.edu/us...bet1...k4000/doom2.JPG' ">http://www.personal.psu.edu/us...MD/klesk4000/doom2.JPG

The links should work, make sure you uncompress the image too.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ || Temp Biostar 939 || Sapphire X1800XT 512mb|| 1.5GB OCZ || SB Audigy Platinum eX || 500w 34amps Aspire PSU
Klesk
 08/02/2004 04:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Looking pretty sweet, Klesk.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 08/02/2004 04:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PowerPlant05
Senior Member

Posts: 284
Joined: 01/14/2004

Nice Im still debating wether Im going to get it or not....

-------------------------
Coming Soon:
Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Tagan 480W PSU
M.A.S.S. Computers Inc.' ">http://www.masscomputers.com/
 08/02/2004 04:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

Oh, i KNOW you should my friend PowerPlant05. it is the best game ever - put into a concise description
 08/02/2004 04:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brian128
Senior Member

Posts: 2644
Joined: 11/06/2003

screenshots rarely ever show how good things really look when you see them in full motion.

-------------------------
 08/02/2004 04:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

yeah i know - which means that it is ALOT better than it looks. with S Shots your only getting a fraction of a SINGLE sense!! whilst with real game play you get Sound and Vision ETC!!!
 08/02/2004 04:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PowerPlant05
Senior Member

Posts: 284
Joined: 01/14/2004

QUOTE screenshots rarely ever show how good things really look when you see them in full motion.

Soo true, I cant estimate the sound and visual experience it would be until I play it. I was hopeing to be able to play it online but this 56K modem will be holding me back...

-------------------------
Coming Soon:
Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Tagan 480W PSU
M.A.S.S. Computers Inc.' ">http://www.masscomputers.com/
 08/02/2004 05:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bauger
Driod

Posts: 181
Joined: 07/25/2004

sorry for the stupid question i'm about to ask ...but... is this a multiplayer game?as online with other people?

-------------------------
AMD Athlon XP 2700+
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L1
DDR PC4000 512MB UNBUFF DIMM(2 Sticks Crucial Ballistix)
PNY GeFORCE 6600GT AGP 8x
EPOWER 450 watt Puma II
Western Digital Caviar 120 GB
 08/02/2004 05:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klesk4000
Senior Member

Posts: 2857
Joined: 01/02/2004

yes as of now 4, but there will be mods for LAN games that hold up to 16 i hear. And CTF

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ || Temp Biostar 939 || Sapphire X1800XT 512mb|| 1.5GB OCZ || SB Audigy Platinum eX || 500w 34amps Aspire PSU
Klesk
 08/02/2004 05:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

AHHHHHHHH!! everyone is not talking cos they are on DOOM III and i have to WAIT for it yet!!!!!!!!!!
 08/02/2004 05:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klesk4000
Senior Member

Posts: 2857
Joined: 01/02/2004

I take it you live in the UK? Youll get it next week. Its all good.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ || Temp Biostar 939 || Sapphire X1800XT 512mb|| 1.5GB OCZ || SB Audigy Platinum eX || 500w 34amps Aspire PSU
Klesk
 08/02/2004 05:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Carlz0r
Senior Member

Posts: 5326
Joined: 02/07/2004

Oh god. I must get that game. How much does it cost. Im getting my gig of ram and 9800 XT just in time I guess. I should be able to play it at medium.

-------------------------
The fanboyism issue got worse. I'm gone (for now) got better again, I'm occasionally back.<br><br>Don't be stupid. Conroe > K8L SAYS WHO? K8L > Conroe SAYS WHO? No Benches = No Comparision<br>PortalForums Admin
 08/02/2004 06:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

It's almost here! All the parts, save my GT, are in my possession! Doom 3 is almost upon us all!

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 08/02/2004 06:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

oh - normally the forum has alot more replies more quickly than today. i thought everyone - moreover Ardrid in this example, had all the FORUMS - MSI, AMD, and an addition of an endless technology list had those MINIMIZED whilst playing on DOOM III
 08/02/2004 06:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
klrk1400
Senior Member

Posts: 962
Joined: 11/04/2003

I won't have Doom3 until tomorrow. Hopefully for $44.95.

-------------------------

Folding for Team #34106' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showforum=27
 08/02/2004 06:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SDA
Senior Member

Posts: 3895
Joined: 10/06/2003

As far as I can tell, that texture swapping deal will happen with 256MB cards on Ultra and 128MB cards on High. It's quite playable for me on high (128MB card that's.. roughly a 9800 Pro, 512MB of RAM) until I head into someplace that, according to the game engine, has stuff that needs to be loaded right now (every other room or so). Having a gig of RAM or so could well make the difference. I've settled for 1152x864 / medium quality (the swapping on High doesn't actually kill gameplay, but it makes the game a little too easy when I get half a second of "pause" to view the contents of every second new room and, if applicable, anything right in front of the door about to ambush me). I would settle for 1280x960, except that's not an option (rrrrrr).

Anyway, I've only got a couple hours of gameplay logged, but I've come to two conclusions already: it's REALLY dark (which is what gets me on edge, not the scripted events), and in the grand iD tradition, it favors scripted events to the point where I'll look at a pile of ammo and think "not worth the ambush."

Also, the machine gun reload looks cool.

And that's about all I have to say on Doom 3. Now to get back to playing it...

EDIT: Also, I have decided that I would really like the ability to duct-tape the flashlight to the shotgun.

-------------------------
DEC Pentium X2 5200+ w/ HyperCache (Ezra core)
Asus M7NCD-MAX3 (OPTi Vendetta 82C760)
6x Generic 32MB PC2700 RDRAM (50ns SIMMs)
2x nVidia Millennium X1800 Duo (SLI mode)
12x (daisy-chained) Quantum Medalist 180GXP (w/ separate SCSI-1 adapter)

"Oh, you started a Rube Goldberg machine. A Rube Goldberg machine... called JUSTICE." <a href='http://www.boomspeed.com/old_camper/amdforumsircchat.ht
 08/02/2004 07:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klesk4000
Senior Member

Posts: 2857
Joined: 01/02/2004

Yea tell me about it. I wish you could have it on the plasma gun (flashlight).

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ || Temp Biostar 939 || Sapphire X1800XT 512mb|| 1.5GB OCZ || SB Audigy Platinum eX || 500w 34amps Aspire PSU
Klesk
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » Gaming and Lan Parties » Doom 3 Coverage

<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information