AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: how is hl2 optimized for ATI?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/17/2004 01:18 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/17/2004 01:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

if HL2 is optimized for ATi, how is it running so good at 1600x1200 4xAA 8xAF and everything on high on my 6800GT LITE!?!?
i cant even do that in doom3 and imo hL2 looks better...
how can anything do any better

i did the stress test and i got 161fps...how?
this is just amazing, i dont get it

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 11/17/2004 01:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
merlin371
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2985
Joined: 02/24/2004

it's not that is optimized is that in theory ATi card should run HL2 better cause it's a D3D engine but no one is sure about which is faster
 11/17/2004 01:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

well, id say my 6800 is doing quite well...

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 11/17/2004 01:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
amdrulesanduknowit
Senior Member

Posts: 1273
Joined: 09/04/2004

maybe because of the new engine they built for it they cleaned out all the old stuff and started a brand new engine with out all the old krap lol
 11/17/2004 01:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

QUOTE (amdrulesanduknowit @ Nov 17 2004, 10:23 AM) maybe because of the new engine they built for it they cleaned out all the old stuff and started a brand new engine with out all the old krap lol
or is it the ps3.0?
and i noticed in the installation that HL2 doesnt use DX9.0c?
why not? its a brand new game..even COD:UF uses it

i know a guy who has a FX5200ULTRA and he oc'd it to like a 5950 with some custom cooling, and he can run HL2 stress test at an average of 68fps..i just dont see how this is possible

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 11/17/2004 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
amdrulesanduknowit
Senior Member

Posts: 1273
Joined: 09/04/2004

whats ps3.0 i think i have heard about ti before but dont remember waht it does
 11/17/2004 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

QUOTE (amdrulesanduknowit @ Nov 17 2004, 10:30 AM) whats ps3.0 i think i have heard about ti before but dont remember waht it does
pixel shader 3

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 11/17/2004 03:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mincemeat
Senior Member

Posts: 1575
Joined: 07/25/2004

It runs better because Valve has used ATIs 3Dc tech to give large detailed normal maps compression with no quality loss. Nvidia has no such similar feature that was coded into Half Life 2, hence the great quality and performance on all ATI cards x600 and up.

-------------------------
' ">http://profile.xfire.com/minc3d
 11/17/2004 03:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

But, do we know if HL2 uses 3Dc yet? Or SM 2.0b or SM 3.0? HDR? I dont think I have heard any word on that yet. Of course the reviews arent complete yet.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 11/17/2004 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jondice
Senior Member

Posts: 250
Joined: 10/30/2004

QUOTE (Mincemeat @ Nov 17 2004, 12:18 PM) It runs better because Valve has used ATIs 3Dc tech to give large detailed normal maps compression with no quality loss. Nvidia has no such similar feature that was coded into Half Life 2, hence the great quality and performance on all ATI cards x600 and up.
Does Nvidia have any technology that is similar? I noticed Shadowbane was advising driver upgrades because the new engine will use normal maps, but they made no mention of ATI specifically.

-------------------------
Seldom Right, but never Wrong.
 11/17/2004 04:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
flyck
Senior Member

Posts: 394
Joined: 10/27/2003

the difference between ati cards and nvidia cards is negilible. (9800pro and higher, 6600GT and higher).



-------------------------
Dual opteron 244 :: MSI K8T master2 :: 2 * 512 DDR-SDRAM OCZ PC3200 2-3-3-6 ECC/REG :: GeForce NX6800 :: Western Digital Raptor 36GB 10000rpm :: Western Digital Caviar 1200JB 120GB :: Maxtor 160GB :: Liteon Cdwriter 52x24x52 :: liteon DVD player :: Plextor CDRW 12x4x32 SCSI
 11/17/2004 04:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

QUOTE (Mincemeat @ Nov 17 2004, 03:18 PM) It runs better because Valve has used ATIs 3Dc tech to give large detailed normal maps compression with no quality loss. Nvidia has no such similar feature that was coded into Half Life 2, hence the great quality and performance on all ATI cards x600 and up.
And how is that you know that? Valve only said that they would support 3Dc and SM3.0, not that it would be in there from the start. ATI's minor overall performance advantage can be attributed to 3 things: FP24, higher fillrate, and slightly stronger shader performance. 3Dc doesn't have jack to do with it.

As to HDR, I've said this before, it's a default feature. Every DX9 card implements it. It's a standard Source feature.

Jondice, yes, DXTC/5

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 11/17/2004 04:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cow187
Senior Member

Posts: 1995
Joined: 08/13/2004

My system got me average 99 FPS in the stress test (located on the CS:Source menu).

Well at least we know valve didnt pull an ID-nVidia on HL2.

-------------------------
AMD64 3500+ Newcastle
Asus A8V Deluxe
2x512mb DDR400
ATI X850 Pro @ X850 XT
NEC 3500 16x DVD
470W Enermax Noisetaker
Viewsonic VP171b 17" 8ms LCD
 11/17/2004 05:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Another unsubstantiated idea that's thrown around. What did id do besides make an OGL game? NVIDIA planned to own ATI from the start. It's quite simple if ppl would stop and think. NVIDIA has been and still is the king of OGL performance. Now, add in the fact that the CineFX's UltraShadow technique was designed, and amplified in NV40, specifically for shadowing techniques like those found in Doom 3 and it shouldn't be too hard to see why ATI got slaughtered.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 11/17/2004 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
merlin371
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2985
Joined: 02/24/2004

QUOTE (Ardrid @ Nov 17 2004, 11:00 PM) Another unsubstantiated idea that's thrown around. What did id do besides make an OGL game? NVIDIA planned to own ATI from the start. It's quite simple if ppl would stop and think. NVIDIA has been and still is the king of OGL performance. Now, add in the fact that the CineFX's UltraShadow technique was designed, and amplified in NV40, specifically for shadowing techniques like those found in Doom 3 and it shouldn't be too hard to see why ATI got slaughtered.
ya that's good but making up conspiracy theorys it's apparently more entartaining
 11/17/2004 05:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

Ahhhh yes, the ID-Nvidia conspiracy theory. Well, first off, I consider that rumor just as high as the ATI-Valve Rumor. The term "Oh well" comes to mind. There is no question in my mind that ID probably had less regard for ATI's performance once the D3 alpha was leaked. But...who cares? Its very very playable with the X800 cards. I mean, the game is capped at 60 fps for crying out loud. Its(reviews) all based on timedemo scores. As for the ATI-Valve thing....I dont think NVidia did anything to tick them off. Its just that NVidia, at the time, supplied them with an incompetent DX9 Graphics architecture NV3x. Yes ATI had the Vouchers with some of the XT cards, but, when you have only one company that provides you with a good DX9 architecture, wouldnt you tend to go with it? I mean, I thought it was gracious to have a "Mixed mode" for NVidia's NX3x GPU's. That way, the drivers dont have to do the work. But still, conspiracy theories...yeah, there is probably something going on under the table, but nothing to get excited about. Not even worth my time for a discussion on it. But, I think there is something to them, not much, but something.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 11/17/2004 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SLaY3r
Senior Member

Posts: 3793
Joined: 03/17/2004

I think HL2 will support SM3 w/ a patch later on. Am I correct?

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of AMD, OCZ, or ATI
"bv, if Mormons were real, you'd be one" - SDA
 11/17/2004 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

Yeah, that SM2.0b, 3Dc, bunch of other good things.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 11/17/2004 06:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mincemeat
Senior Member

Posts: 1575
Joined: 07/25/2004

For those who dont believe HL2 has 3Dc support, check it here:



-------------------------
' ">http://profile.xfire.com/minc3d
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information