AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: STEAM
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/15/2004 10:04 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/15/2004 10:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ruckus
Senior Member

Posts: 1236
Joined: 02/13/2004

Ok so I have a voucher and CD key for getting a ATI Card for half life and other games....now what??

I downloaded steam and setup an account and when it ran there was a menu listing games....Is that where I download the games?? When can I download Half Life?

Other questions about STEAM
1. Will it always run in the background?

2. If you get the CD version do you need to have STEAM loaded on your system to run the game or only till you activate it?

3. Once I down load a game do I need steam to play the game?

Thanks

-------------------------
AMD 64 3200+ (clawhammer) @ 2.2ghz OC'd | ASUS K8V Deluxe (754) BIOS ver:1008 | TT Venus 12 HS<br>WD SATA 120 8mb Cache 7200rpm | ATI 9800XT 256 CAT 6.6 CCC | ATI Silencer 3 VGA Cooler<br>1 GB DDR400 Micron 2x512 | 2.5-2-2-11 2.8v | Creative Audigy 2 ZS | Plextor 708A 8x DVD-rw rw+ drive<br>DVD rom Drive | 9in1 Card Reader | NEC FE2111SB 22" CRT <br>Antec True-Blue 480w | X-Dreamer Case w/6 Fans | Win XP Prof SP2
 11/15/2004 10:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mincemeat
Senior Member

Posts: 1575
Joined: 07/25/2004

You must activate that serial by entering by pressing the "activate a game i already own" button.

It only runs in the background when u play any valve game.

You need steam no matter if you buy in store on on the net.

-------------------------
' ">http://profile.xfire.com/minc3d
 11/15/2004 10:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cow187
Senior Member

Posts: 1995
Joined: 08/13/2004

First of all, are you talking about Half Life 2, or Half Life? Cause theres a big difference.

When you install steam and it finishes updating, if you have a Half Life 1 cd key or related (cs or dod cd key) than you have access to all HL1 released mods and any third party mods you download.

Whatever is greyed under avaialable games you can click and start downloading, and play right away.

If your talking about Half Life 2, you install the game, go into steam, activate your cd key into an acount (make an acount) than youll have Half Life 2 and CS Source there.

If you wana play offline than you make it so you dont log off just make sure you clicked save information at the log in, and didnt check do not save my information, and you can run steam while not conected to the net, and play.

If you dont want Steam to run all the time (Who would) just uncheck the box in settings that says run steam when windows starts, than it will only run when you open it yourself, and you can close it after your done playing.

-------------------------
AMD64 3500+ Newcastle
Asus A8V Deluxe
2x512mb DDR400
ATI X850 Pro @ X850 XT
NEC 3500 16x DVD
470W Enermax Noisetaker
Viewsonic VP171b 17" 8ms LCD
 11/15/2004 11:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ruckus
Senior Member

Posts: 1236
Joined: 02/13/2004

Yes...Half Life 2.....So I need to have STEAM even if I get the CD version...

-------------------------
AMD 64 3200+ (clawhammer) @ 2.2ghz OC'd | ASUS K8V Deluxe (754) BIOS ver:1008 | TT Venus 12 HS<br>WD SATA 120 8mb Cache 7200rpm | ATI 9800XT 256 CAT 6.6 CCC | ATI Silencer 3 VGA Cooler<br>1 GB DDR400 Micron 2x512 | 2.5-2-2-11 2.8v | Creative Audigy 2 ZS | Plextor 708A 8x DVD-rw rw+ drive<br>DVD rom Drive | 9in1 Card Reader | NEC FE2111SB 22" CRT <br>Antec True-Blue 480w | X-Dreamer Case w/6 Fans | Win XP Prof SP2
 11/15/2004 11:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SLaY3r
Senior Member

Posts: 3793
Joined: 03/17/2004

QUOTE (Ruckus @ Nov 15 2004, 10:24 PM) Yes...Half Life 2.....So I need to have STEAM even if I get the CD version...
Yes, you have to have Steam to activate it.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of AMD, OCZ, or ATI
"bv, if Mormons were real, you'd be one" - SDA
 11/15/2004 11:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mincemeat
Senior Member

Posts: 1575
Joined: 07/25/2004

Also you need steam to basically play it online at any time. Steam runs the MP process for all valve games now. Love it or hate it..... hate it ......

-------------------------
' ">http://profile.xfire.com/minc3d
 11/15/2004 11:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SLaY3r
Senior Member

Posts: 3793
Joined: 03/17/2004

QUOTE (Mincemeat @ Nov 15 2004, 10:28 PM) Also you need steam to basically play it online at any time. Steam runs the MP process for all valve games now. Love it or hate it..... hate it ......
I give VALVe credit tho, they are taking strides to limit/prevent piracy.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of AMD, OCZ, or ATI
"bv, if Mormons were real, you'd be one" - SDA
 11/15/2004 11:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sepheroth003
Senior Member

Posts: 3602
Joined: 08/29/2004

dunno if anyone answered this, skimmed through quick. Steam does not ALWAYS run in the background. It shows itself in the taskbar and all you gotta do is right click it and hit exit and it'll go away. Other than that yes it will run the whole time your playing.

-------------------------

New Site!! Team Effex WoW, US Auchindoun Alliance IGN: Fearaga
 11/15/2004 11:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mincemeat
Senior Member

Posts: 1575
Joined: 07/25/2004

It limits piracy but at what cost, to those with no internet who buy games for SP only, to those gamers who would rather use a exe based style like 99% of other games. I think the idea was good but the execution is failing in some crucial areas, especially a unified offline LAN system.

-------------------------
' ">http://profile.xfire.com/minc3d
 11/15/2004 11:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sepheroth003
Senior Member

Posts: 3602
Joined: 08/29/2004

ya but the expansion of the internet is happening everywhere. It really is so close to a standard now. Like Ive said in another post, if my dad wanted to play HL2(hes in iraq) he has access to the internet and could activate it if needed. Also you could just have someone else activate it with his account. Maybe I dunno if that would work.

Anyways its a good idea and Its half working. They still have some problems with it, Stupid friends only comes up a couple times a week.

-------------------------

New Site!! Team Effex WoW, US Auchindoun Alliance IGN: Fearaga
 11/15/2004 11:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mincemeat
Senior Member

Posts: 1575
Joined: 07/25/2004

Like you said, they can surely go to lengths to get it to work, but should they HAVE to? Dont they have more to worry about than where they can go to activate a darn game? You get my drift. Its more hassle for those who count than its worth. Im glad 99% of the rest of the industry hasnt resorted to such crippling techniques for some that seems so easy for us at home.

-------------------------
' ">http://profile.xfire.com/minc3d
 11/18/2004 04:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ruckus
Senior Member

Posts: 1236
Joined: 02/13/2004

After you set up steam and "download the game"...does the game reside on your hard drive or just on the server....how does the CD version work...is there any performance advantage to getting the cd version over the ATI package on steam?? I have been playing but wanted to know how this works

-------------------------
AMD 64 3200+ (clawhammer) @ 2.2ghz OC'd | ASUS K8V Deluxe (754) BIOS ver:1008 | TT Venus 12 HS<br>WD SATA 120 8mb Cache 7200rpm | ATI 9800XT 256 CAT 6.6 CCC | ATI Silencer 3 VGA Cooler<br>1 GB DDR400 Micron 2x512 | 2.5-2-2-11 2.8v | Creative Audigy 2 ZS | Plextor 708A 8x DVD-rw rw+ drive<br>DVD rom Drive | 9in1 Card Reader | NEC FE2111SB 22" CRT <br>Antec True-Blue 480w | X-Dreamer Case w/6 Fans | Win XP Prof SP2
 11/18/2004 05:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pointreyes
Senior Member

Posts: 846
Joined: 10/07/2003

The game resides on the hard drive and you can backup the game to CD or DVD. Instructions can be found at the link provided below.

http://www.abxzone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=83767' ">http://www.abxzone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=83767

-------------------------
Diagram of Hardware Profile' ">http://members.dsl-only.net/~pointreyes/ga/hsystem.jpg

BSD Daemon Copyright 1988 by Marshall Kirk McKusick. All Rights Reserved.
 11/18/2004 06:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fallen Phoenix
Senior Member

Posts: 2948
Joined: 10/07/2003

There are very few people with a computer that don't have at least some form of internet, of those that don't have an internet connection, very few play games. They're excluding a small percentage of people, I think it's a fair trade. Personally I love Steam and hope more games use it, the only thing I don't like is I still have to have the CD in the drive to play the game.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information