AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: The Half-Life 2 Thread
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/16/2004 09:12 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 12 13 14 15 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/18/2004 10:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
norymeoreason41
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 08/07/2004

QUOTE (kccustom @ Nov 18 2004, 07:33 PM) I got mine from Walmart, it does have Counter Strike Source, says right on the box
great news! Guess I'll go by the store tomorrow and pick it up! I can't wait. I just wish my computer could play it a little better!
 11/18/2004 10:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klesk4000
Senior Member

Posts: 2857
Joined: 01/02/2004

If you preload it off of steam do you have to preload HL2, CS:S, and HL:s in order for it to work correctly?

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ || Temp Biostar 939 || Sapphire X1800XT 512mb|| 1.5GB OCZ || SB Audigy Platinum eX || 500w 34amps Aspire PSU
Klesk
 11/19/2004 12:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kanavit
Senior Member

Posts: 2533
Joined: 10/06/2003

Finally finished installing HL2! playing it now, wow! The graphics in HL2 is awesome, as good as Doom3 and Farcry with a different distinction. Very nice sound and original gameplay. The phsyics and facial expression on the characters are the best i've seen. I'm using 66.93 forceware drivers to play.

My only complaint about the Whole HL2 experience is installation process. It took 30 min! 5 install CDs and registration with Steam for DSL users really sucked big time. It took forever to unlock HL2 software , plus CD activation number was not helping matters either. Then the game won't start because I didn't insert the right playing CD. finally, after all that it took forever to load the game!

-------------------------
--======== proud owner of new razor tarantula gaming keyboard ========--
 11/19/2004 02:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

Yeah, took about 15mins on my new A64 monster to install. I got one of the NF3 Chipsets that doesnt like the 2ghz HT link, so I am messing with that. I once ran my HT link at 500, to play it....ran ok. but jerked at times. Now I am running it at 1.6ghz, and it runs so dang smooth. Cant wait til I get my X800XT.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 11/19/2004 09:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brian128
Senior Member

Posts: 2644
Joined: 11/06/2003

It installed pretty fast off the DVD for me. But it took atleast an hour to even log into steam.. my activation is pending still, several days after installing it. at this rate ill have the game beaten before its activated.

-------------------------
 11/19/2004 01:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

I didn't have a single issue with mine.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 11/19/2004 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

My activation took about 8 hours. But I am riding high now. Probably going to have to format before I beat the game. Which sucks. But, that just means I get to see the beautiful game that is HL2 over and over.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 11/19/2004 01:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
merlin371
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2985
Joined: 02/24/2004

QUOTE (LVSeminole @ Nov 19 2004, 07:05 PM) My activation took about 8 hours. But I am riding high now. Probably going to have to format before I beat the game. Which sucks. But, that just means I get to see the beautiful game that is HL2 over and over.

LVS
if I ever end up doing that I would never clear the game everytime that I was in the middle of a game and I had to format and lose the saved files I wouldn't play with that game anymore, I did it with far cry
 11/19/2004 04:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fallen Phoenix
Senior Member

Posts: 2948
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (Ardrid @ Nov 19 2004, 10:03 AM) I didn't have a single issue with mine.
Same here, took about 15 minutes from putting the DVD in to playing the game. Less than 3 minutes of that was actually authorization. I did all this ~5pm CST too.
 11/19/2004 08:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DontIntelMe
Senior Member

Posts: 855
Joined: 04/06/2004

i havnt been bothered to play hl2 , waited 2 years now i cant be arsed.
 11/19/2004 08:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jondice
Senior Member

Posts: 250
Joined: 10/30/2004

Looks like we'll be able to play HL2 in linux:
http://www.transgaming.com/news.php?newsid=135' ">http://www.transgaming.com/news.php?newsid=135

Only wish I had a comp so that I could play it at all heh. Not that I have the time atm, but there's always Christmas.

-------------------------
Seldom Right, but never Wrong.
 11/19/2004 09:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SLaY3r
Senior Member

Posts: 3793
Joined: 03/17/2004

My only complaint is the crosshair color. I want something other than white becuase its hard to see sometimes!

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of AMD, OCZ, or ATI
"bv, if Mormons were real, you'd be one" - SDA
 11/19/2004 11:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
essi1553
Member

Posts: 196
Joined: 09/09/2004

QUOTE (SLaY3r @ Nov 19 2004, 06:00 PM) My only complaint is the crosshair color. I want something other than white becuase its hard to see sometimes!
can't you change that in settings? I know you can in cs:s

-------------------------
' ">http://www.silent-and-violent.tk
Click the picture for a direct link to our guild wars team site, come and signup!
 04/02/2005 09:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

Classic Half Life 2 thread. jsut thought i would bring it up back to the top of the pile for nostalgic reasons.

still, has nothing on the Doom III thread
 04/04/2005 03:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

Finally the full HL2 thread. Good thing it's gonna be 1 thread instead of the old 10to30.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » Gaming and Lan Parties » The Half-Life 2 Thread

<< 12 13 14 15 Previous Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information