AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: The M$ crash program curse on the xbox360
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/23/2005 04:38 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/23/2005 04:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
10stagepipelineX10pipelines
Senior Member

Posts: 733
Joined: 10/19/2003

It seems the BSOD and crashing curse that M$ is well known for is now part of the XBOX360 problem with some games.

More info: Crashing xbox360's' ">http://games.slashdot.org/arti.../11/23/138200&from=rss

-------------------------
Opteron 175
2 GB Crucial Value Ram
Asus A8R MVP Deluxe
Gigabyte 7800GT
PCP&C 510 Turbo Cool SLI

Lesson learned: DON'T buy Tyan motherboards.......

 11/23/2005 04:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tamerz
Elite

Posts: 1961
Joined: 10/07/2003

Yes, there have been lots of people with problems so far. But other people are having no problems at all. Seems like there are just some bad ones out there. I don't think anyone knows the extent of it yet.
 11/23/2005 04:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
10stagepipelineX10pipelines
Senior Member

Posts: 733
Joined: 10/19/2003

All the more reason I will stay with a computer. I like to know that my money spent on hardware actually functions.

-------------------------
Opteron 175
2 GB Crucial Value Ram
Asus A8R MVP Deluxe
Gigabyte 7800GT
PCP&C 510 Turbo Cool SLI

Lesson learned: DON'T buy Tyan motherboards.......

 11/23/2005 05:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

QUOTESeems like there are just some bad ones out there. I don't think anyone knows the extent of it yet.


didn't this happen with the first XBOX? i'm sure MS will sort it out.

-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
 11/23/2005 05:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tamerz
Elite

Posts: 1961
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE(someone124 @ Nov 23 2005, 02:10 PM)didn't this happen with the first XBOX? i'm sure MS will sort it out.
[right][snapback]552533[/snapback][/right]


They may sort it out. But I'd be furious if I waited in line, payed a ton of money, then it doesn't work and I have to wait for a replacement.
 11/23/2005 06:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

yea MS is already back ordered till...wat after january? there gonna have a hard time if they have to provide RMA's...



-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 11/24/2005 09:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stix
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4617
Joined: 03/01/2004

No matter whats launched there is always problems. Just look at the ps2 and original xbox. I don't see why this is a suprise to anyone.

Only company that has the best track record for launches is Nintendo.
 11/24/2005 10:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Prelude76
Senior Member

Posts: 3366
Joined: 02/01/2005

but wait! consoles are the future of gaming because it elminates all these incompatibilites and crashes found in PC gaming due to thousands of different configurations!

/biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

(smack upside the head) - it's a M$ product, what did you all expect? stability? maybe by the time Xbox 3.11 is released, it will *finally* be all fixed.
 11/24/2005 10:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

wow, that didn'twork very well..... /blink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='blink.gif' />
anywy, its MS, so they'll sort it out. they always do, one way or another.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 11/24/2005 10:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stix
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4617
Joined: 03/01/2004

Well there service is awesome to get it fixed. They overnight ya a box and its a prepaid back to them overnight and then they get it back to you in 5 days or less
 11/24/2005 11:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Prelude76
Senior Member

Posts: 3366
Joined: 02/01/2005

QUOTE(Stix @ Nov 24 2005, 07:45 AM)Well there service is awesome to get it fixed.  They overnight ya a box and its a prepaid back to them overnight and then they get it back to you in 5 days or less
[right][snapback]552987[/snapback][/right]


that's good service.

but 'awesome' service would be if they cross shipped a new xbox for you to use while they fix your $400 system. that's what ncix.com does to all components if you get their extra coverage option. if my 19" LCD screws up, they'll send me a new one first, then do arrangements to fix my defective one. /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />
 11/24/2005 12:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

QUOTE(Prelude76 @ Nov 24 2005, 11:01 AM)that's what ncix.com does to all components if you get their extra coverage option.
[right][snapback]552993[/snapback][/right]

that's a big "if" isn't it? and not to doubt you, but I couldn't find any mention of this on their site...and I really doubt they're going to allow a customer to have two xbox360s at the same time....trust is one thing, bad business is another...

also, is an xbox 360 considered a "component"?

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 11/24/2005 12:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
proudmoore2
Senior Member

Posts: 1266
Joined: 11/06/2004

QUOTE(Stix @ Nov 24 2005, 06:07 AM)

  Only company that has the best track record for launches is Nintendo.
[right][snapback]552938[/snapback][/right]

they make great systems at long but there launcyh titles still suck(not to say that xbox's or ps2's were any better) but it has come out with some great games and it is a very simple sexy little machine, which is what the revolution hopes to become.

as far as these crashes go, i had heard that they were having problems with the initial xbox 360s. I thought it was just a rumor but...

-------------------------
AMD OPTERON 165 at 2.475 GHZ, 2 gigs Corsair XMS, As Rock Sata 2 board. Connect 3D 256mb x1900GT at 591/716, Western digital 160gig SATA, 80 gig ATA 100, Creative Labs X-fi extreme music, Ultra Xconnect 500watt modular, Acer 1916W, Saitek Eclipse Keyboard, , Ultra UV wizard Mid T case, Logitech MX 1000 , Logitech z5500 5.1 THX speakers(amp fried so im currently using a set of panosonics 160watt shelf system, 2 speakers, soon to be replaced by z5450s) , Leather Executive chair.
 11/24/2005 01:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Prelude76
Senior Member

Posts: 3366
Joined: 02/01/2005

QUOTE(MrWicked1968 @ Nov 24 2005, 09:15 AM)that's a big "if" isn't it?  and not to doubt you, but I couldn't find any mention of this on their site...and I really doubt they're going to allow a customer to have two xbox360s at the same time....trust is one thing, bad business is another...
[right][snapback]553032[/snapback][/right]


i dont know if all components have the option, but my 19" LCD i bought from them had extra coverage that included zero dead pixel guarantee, and cross-shipping RMA for 1 year. it's ok if you doubt me, i wont lose sleep over it. /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' />

i'm no fan of consoles, but even I assumed that at least it wouldnt crash. is there any ways to update these games that run off the DVD, or is it hardware fault thats causing these crashes? i'm starting to think this console was rushed a bit too quickly just to cash in on xmas sales.
 11/24/2005 01:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

QUOTE(Stix @ Nov 24 2005, 06:07 AM)No matter whats launched there is always problems.  Just look at the ps2 and original xbox.  I don't see why this is a suprise to anyone.

  Only company that has the best track record for launches is Nintendo.
[right][snapback]552938[/snapback][/right]


Stix is the only person to hit the nail on the head here. There have always been problems with first releases of pretty much everything. PS2 died on our family oh about 10 days out of warranty. Xbox 1 had some problems with some hard ware. Athlon 64 first edition motherboards werent exactly the best, nor were the chipsets.
 11/24/2005 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Prelude76
Senior Member

Posts: 3366
Joined: 02/01/2005

excuse my ignorance (once again, console history is not my forte) but isn't faulty hard drives in Xbox1 and dead PS2 units after 1 year warranty a bit differnt then these software glitches found in Xbox360?

thats what i meant by 'i dont think i've seen this before', software glitches in a console when ALL consoles are supposedly designed around one format, thereby avoiding DLL H e l l, 1,000s of PC components, driver versions, etc.., that is plaguing PC games these days. after all, even game developers (such as Civ4 developers) publicly comment about how console design is much easier, since they can make it work on all systems the same, yet now we are seeing crashes in Xbox360 games. i'm sorry, but that's unheard of in console world. so is it sloppy coding by developers, or hardware issues, and if its the software that needs to be 'patched' like all pc games these days, how will that be done, especially on the core model with no hard drive?
 11/24/2005 03:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shant
Senior Member

Posts: 1945
Joined: 07/17/2005

... thats the reason why i dont like yo buy things when they come out ... i like to wait that way it's fixed after a wile ....

just like window XP .... at first people use to call it windows xtra problem lol but it was true until the updates and all that stuff ... hey wait a minute i forgot to do my updates ! doh! be back later on ! lol /laugh.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='laugh.gif' />

-------------------------

AquaMark3 : 89,055 3DMark05 : 8,070 3DMark03 : 17,093 3DMark2
 11/24/2005 04:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Megadeth
Senior Member

Posts: 7822
Joined: 08/14/2004

I stick with PC, I have no reason to go to consoles right now.
 11/24/2005 05:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
O'Neil
Senior Member

Posts: 3073
Joined: 02/02/2005

Nintendo's are solid. I still have the first nintendo that ever came out those things are hard too break i must of droped it like 50 times it still works lol. Then again the Diskettes look like Pancakes but heh

-------------------------
AMD 6000 X2 @3.2GHZ | 4GB OCZ Platinum | 4870 XFX RADEON 1GB | Corsair 750 Watt PSU |
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information