AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Minesweeper Thread
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/21/2005 04:42 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/21/2005 04:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zincschumacher
Senior Member

Posts: 1088
Joined: 09/05/2004

Intro:
Well, when I am bored, I play the Microsoft Minesweeper. Boring enough? I know everyone will think this is a cheap game, but you can train your accuracy of mouse controlling through this simple game. Also, can be quite observative.
As I know not every member here can play the high-ended game, it is quite meaningless to make a thread of those high-ended games.

So I start this Minesweeper Thread

Please feel free to post your fastest time here!! Time should be in second for completing the game.

Remember, the mode is to be Expert mode but I will als put other mode

Here's my time: 123 (2/5/2005) Screenshot' ">http://zinc_schumacher.sinatown.com/Screen00054.jpg

Expert Mode
1) zincschumacher, 123
2) mburgan, 129

Intermediate Mode
1) zincschumacher, 41
2) mburgan, 46
3) TLH, 103
4) benpb1, 123

Beginner Mode
1) zincschumacher, 5
2) F34R, 6
3) Axe, 8; mburgan, 8
4) TLH, 12
5) benpb1, 17

-------------------------

------Zinc Schumacher------
 04/21/2005 09:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

Are we talking expert mode,intermediate or beginner here?
Better still how about a chart for all 3 modes
Nice little game.I'll go and get some practice in.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 04/21/2005 07:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Titmouse
Overclocker

Posts: 931
Joined: 01/26/2004

Umm...13 sec On beginner and 201 sec on Intermediate. Havent betaen expert yet..lol..

Wow..is that game ever anyonig if you play with sound.

-------------------------
-Athlon 64 X2 5600+
-4x1gb Patriot Extreme
-ENERMAX Liberty ELT500AWT
-Windows 7 ultimate
-Radeon Hd 4850
-2x120gb WD Caviar SE
- SI K9N4 SLI-F Socket AM2
-Zion case
-Samsung Syncmaster 204b 20" Widescreen
 04/21/2005 08:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thecrzyGreek
Senior Member

Posts: 689
Joined: 04/11/2005

I have yet to beat the game I just click and pray

-------------------------
"We have lingered long enough on the shores of the cosmic ocean. We are ready at last to set sail for the stars." - Carl Sagan
"As long as there have been humans we have searched for our place in the cosmos. Where are we? Who are we? We find that we live on an insignificant planet of a humdrum star lost in a galaxy tucked away in some forgotten corner of a universe in which there are far more galaxies than there are people. We make our world significant by the courage of our
 04/21/2005 08:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Titmouse
Overclocker

Posts: 931
Joined: 01/26/2004

QUOTE (thecrzyGreek @ Apr 21 2005, 04:13 PM) I have yet to beat the game I just click and pray
lol

For anyone who dosnt know how the game works the number that shows up tells you how many mines are next to that block.

-------------------------
-Athlon 64 X2 5600+
-4x1gb Patriot Extreme
-ENERMAX Liberty ELT500AWT
-Windows 7 ultimate
-Radeon Hd 4850
-2x120gb WD Caviar SE
- SI K9N4 SLI-F Socket AM2
-Zion case
-Samsung Syncmaster 204b 20" Widescreen
 04/21/2005 08:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
O'Neil
Senior Member

Posts: 3073
Joined: 02/02/2005

i dont like minesweeper ;/ i always lose lol

-------------------------
AMD 6000 X2 @3.2GHZ | 4GB OCZ Platinum | 4870 XFX RADEON 1GB | Corsair 750 Watt PSU |
 04/22/2005 03:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zincschumacher
Senior Member

Posts: 1088
Joined: 09/05/2004

Oh...my miss...that should be the Expert Mode

Let me update the first post...thx..and also sorry

-------------------------

------Zinc Schumacher------
 04/22/2005 04:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zincschumacher
Senior Member

Posts: 1088
Joined: 09/05/2004

Tips:

1) Number represent how many mine(s) is around the squares that surround the number.

2) Right click to select the square which you predict the present of mine. (With a flag)

3) Double click the number that you predict the mines location can makes you open all "unflagged" surrounding squares... (High risk if you wrongly predicted..I usually lose with the last two square with one mine....50% wrong... )

Cheers..I just use those method... my beginner time is 9 sec, intermediate is 44 sec

-------------------------

------Zinc Schumacher------
 04/22/2005 08:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
benpb1
Senior Member

Posts: 564
Joined: 02/14/2005

QUOTE (zincschumacher @ Apr 22 2005, 08:01 AM)Tips:

1) Number represent how many mine(s) is around the squares that surround the number.

2) Right click to select the square which you predict the present of mine. (With a flag)

3) Double click the number that you predict the mines location can makes you open all "unflagged" surrounding squares... (High risk if you wrongly predicted..I usually lose with the last two square with one mine....50% wrong... )

Cheers..I just use those method... my beginner time is 9 sec, intermediate is 44 sec
when you say double click, surely you mean click both mouse buttons???

that how mine works anyways.



-------------------------
currently:6000+ x2, msi k9a platinum, 6800GT, 74 gig raptor, 2gb corsair twinx 800mhz, corsair 520w psu, zalman aero flower, lg dvd-rw w/ lightscribe. all in a lovely lian-li pc-v1000BII

still to add: HD3870x2, 750gb barracuda.
 04/22/2005 08:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zincschumacher
Senior Member

Posts: 1088
Joined: 09/05/2004

Yes...wrong typed...that should be "click both button same time"

-------------------------

------Zinc Schumacher------
 04/23/2005 09:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Titmouse
Overclocker

Posts: 931
Joined: 01/26/2004

ooo..I enevr new about that trick


-------------------------
-Athlon 64 X2 5600+
-4x1gb Patriot Extreme
-ENERMAX Liberty ELT500AWT
-Windows 7 ultimate
-Radeon Hd 4850
-2x120gb WD Caviar SE
- SI K9N4 SLI-F Socket AM2
-Zion case
-Samsung Syncmaster 204b 20" Widescreen
 04/23/2005 02:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
F34R
Case Modder

Posts: 1486
Joined: 12/22/2004

Fastest : 6 seconds on beginnger (got lucky). I'll play a few games, and get a screenie..

Cant beat 20 seconds so far. I keep missing 1 mine at 8-12 seconds...
 04/23/2005 02:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
91RX-7 Boy
Senior Member

Posts: 2938
Joined: 12/29/2004

i could never beat it
 04/24/2005 12:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zincschumacher
Senior Member

Posts: 1088
Joined: 09/05/2004

QUOTE (F34R @ Apr 23 2005, 10:08 AM) Fastest : 6 seconds on beginnger (got lucky). I'll play a few games, and get a screenie..

Cant beat 20 seconds so far. I keep missing 1 mine at 8-12 seconds...
HOW about the expert mode?

-------------------------

------Zinc Schumacher------
 04/24/2005 02:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zincschumacher
Senior Member

Posts: 1088
Joined: 09/05/2004

I just beat my own fastest time for expert mode
Now is 131 sec

Screenshot:

Screenshot 1' ">http://hk.geocities.com/zincschumacher/Screen00013.jpg
Screenshot 2' ">http://hk.geocities.com/zincschumacher/Screen00014.jpg
Screenshot 3' ">http://hk.geocities.com/zincschumacher/Screen00015.jpg

-------------------------

------Zinc Schumacher------
 04/24/2005 07:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
benpb1
Senior Member

Posts: 564
Joined: 02/14/2005

' ">http://img181.echo.cx/my.php?image=minesweeper4ao.jpg

put me down for beginner and intermediate.
i WILL beat it on expert, and post another shot. (i keep getting it down to 2 squares, but the mine could be in either of the 2. whichever i pick is the frickin mine)

-------------------------
currently:6000+ x2, msi k9a platinum, 6800GT, 74 gig raptor, 2gb corsair twinx 800mhz, corsair 520w psu, zalman aero flower, lg dvd-rw w/ lightscribe. all in a lovely lian-li pc-v1000BII

still to add: HD3870x2, 750gb barracuda.
 04/24/2005 10:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

Beginner=12
Intermediate=103
I'll post a pic when I actually manage to beat Expert.
It's just too frustrating getting 75% done and then stuffing up.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 04/24/2005 03:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Max Axe
Senior Member

Posts: 1765
Joined: 10/23/2004

I only play beginer mode. If I have time to spend on game, I'd rather play FPS or 3D Strategy like R.O.T.N and E.E.

--Edit--

Fastest time 8 seconds.

-------------------------

Basically if you are getting a LCD, get one with a good contrast and brightness ration-->BVchurch @ Jan 30 2005, 12:53 PM
Why don't you post links rather than bossing people around.@Max Axe-->danm
 04/24/2005 04:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
F34R
Case Modder

Posts: 1486
Joined: 12/22/2004

You can remove my 6 second time. I cant prove it other than my word, and that was a few months ago when I did it. If you dont care about that, leave it be hehe.
 04/25/2005 01:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zincschumacher
Senior Member

Posts: 1088
Joined: 09/05/2004

QUOTE (Max Axe @ Apr 24 2005, 11:16 AM) I only play beginer mode. If I have time to spend on game, I'd rather play FPS or 3D Strategy like R.O.T.N and E.E.

--Edit--

Fastest time 8 seconds.
Well. I spend my most time on FPS, too. But I just use this to warm up my finger and hand....

-------------------------

------Zinc Schumacher------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information