AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Counter Strike Source
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/19/2006 07:52 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/19/2006 07:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

I just recently acquired CSS. Playing it online is good. However, all of a sudden it will FREEZE and then jitter very slowly whilst making some very annoying noises!

Now, my ping on there is about 60 which is no problem but I do have mIRC open and MSN.

What do you think?
 08/19/2006 07:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

when css stuttered for me it was unstable RAM

like it froze, repeated the last noise it made indefinately, and about 50% of the time after that the computer just turned off or restarted

sometimes it would 'recover' though

try toning down your ram timings or upping voltage see if that helps

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 08/19/2006 08:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

thanks AZ, but i highly doubt it. this is at 2.7Vdimm / CAS#3 and it is supported all the way to vdimm 3.0

its very annoying and it seems to happen in steam games
 08/19/2006 09:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

Okay, I have found out the problem. The freezes are occurring due to my low level 5600 Vanilla. Everytime a grenade is thrown (must be a Flashbang) these stutters happen. Obviously this video card cannot cope with the lightening effect. So, looks as though I have another reason to mourn for the waiting of my 6800gt!
 08/19/2006 10:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marcus_667
Senior Member

Posts: 780
Joined: 09/26/2005

also update ure chipset drivers on the k8t800 chipset as css isnt keen on via chipsets


-------------------------
First rig: Intel core 2 qx6700@ 3.5 gHz|ge-force 8800gtx sli|3 gig gskill ram|750 gig seagate and a 150 gig raptor | anted ninehundred case| enermax galaxy 1kw psu | dell 3007

Second Rig: Amd Athlon X2 6000+ | 8800 gtx|wd raptor 74 and a 320 seagate | 2 gig ram|sb x-fi | seasonic m12 700watt | coolermaster stacker 830 black | dell 2407
 08/19/2006 10:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

God [content edited] VIA.
 08/19/2006 11:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: 3246251196
thanks AZ, but i highly doubt it. this is at 2.7Vdimm / CAS#3 and it is supported all the way to vdimm 3.0

its very annoying and it seems to happen in steam games


i didnt believe it either i said the same type stuff when they said it was my RAM timings etc but it turned out to be that

obviously youve already found the problem, though i think i was talking about a totally different kind of stuttering than you

just in case you have future issue though, i guess

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 08/19/2006 11:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

yeah, acknowleged AZ. thanks for your replies!
 08/19/2006 11:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shards_of_glass
Senior Member

Posts: 2123
Joined: 12/31/2003

I doubt that it would be your video card My brother used to play on a FX5200 but then he broke it. Now He is playing on a MX4000 and it works okay with a P4 1.6 and 512 PC <3200 RAM so maybe it is something other then that.

-------------------------
#1 Athlon 64 4000+ / DFI LP UT RDX200 CF-DR / Seagate 7200.10 16MB 320GB SATA-150 / Corsair VS DDR400 1024MB SC
 08/19/2006 11:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

i have an AXP 2700+ with (256 or 512, not sure, someone stole my RAM i think) RAM, Geforce 2 and it ran CSS pretty horribly. like, not playable, even on lowest settings.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 08/20/2006 12:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

There is no question that it is the video card not being able to handle the lightening effects. Maybe it is something to do with the FX series I do not know. Maybe it is something wrong with my chipset.

Eitherway, when I get back my 6800gt, I will be able to deduce the problem.

Thanks for comments, however.
 08/20/2006 02:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
conzymaher
Senior Member

Posts: 1103
Joined: 09/16/2005

I also had a stuttering problem with UT2004 the other day..

Turned out it was the dock I had running in the background... It must haven been interfering with the drivers as it uses Open gl....

So if you have anything like a dock try disabling it and see if it helps......

-------------------------
Core 2 Duo E4300 at stock until my Scythe Ninja arrives Abit AB9 Pro , 2 gigs OCZ Titanium 800mhz (4-4-4-15), Sapphire X1800XT 512MB<!--/color
 08/20/2006 03:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

what is DOCK?
 08/20/2006 03:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

like the stardock docks?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 08/20/2006 03:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sepheroth003
Senior Member

Posts: 3602
Joined: 08/29/2004

I still love the game but css is probably the buggiest game ive ever played (hitboxes, lag, server lag eg:choke loss)

-------------------------

New Site!! Team Effex WoW, US Auchindoun Alliance IGN: Fearaga
 08/20/2006 04:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thecrzyGreek
Senior Member

Posts: 689
Joined: 04/11/2005

The hitboxes are fine
http://video.google.com/videop...id=2325617804374182980

-------------------------
"We have lingered long enough on the shores of the cosmic ocean. We are ready at last to set sail for the stars." - Carl Sagan
"As long as there have been humans we have searched for our place in the cosmos. Where are we? Who are we? We find that we live on an insignificant planet of a humdrum star lost in a galaxy tucked away in some forgotten corner of a universe in which there are far more galaxies than there are people. We make our world significant by the courage of our
 08/20/2006 05:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

i jsut watched tht and while it was informative he had it on fakelag 150 which is like 400 ping or something

i did fakelag 25 for what is a normal game to me and the hitboxes were so close you could basically consider it bullet travel time since it picks the middle of the two

and then i had fun for oh, about, AN HOUR with hotkeying the slowdown/speedup so it was like i was THE ONE
except i was playing bots
which made it even easier and more matrix

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 08/20/2006 06:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marcus_667
Senior Member

Posts: 780
Joined: 09/26/2005

i play on 100 tick servers and their pretty dead on hitbox wise but since the last udate theres been more loss and choke in netgraph i hope they sort that cos my dedi runs fine on other games

-------------------------
First rig: Intel core 2 qx6700@ 3.5 gHz|ge-force 8800gtx sli|3 gig gskill ram|750 gig seagate and a 150 gig raptor | anted ninehundred case| enermax galaxy 1kw psu | dell 3007

Second Rig: Amd Athlon X2 6000+ | 8800 gtx|wd raptor 74 and a 320 seagate | 2 gig ram|sb x-fi | seasonic m12 700watt | coolermaster stacker 830 black | dell 2407
 08/20/2006 07:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ace_spyder
Senior Member

Posts: 1052
Joined: 08/29/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: marcus_667
i play on 100 tick servers and their pretty dead on hitbox wise but since the last udate theres been more loss and choke in netgraph i hope they sort that cos my dedi runs fine on other games


I disagree about 2 months ago my choke was always about 35 now its usually 0 or 1 and my ping on good servers is sometimes as low as 10. That might be becuase I got a new router though. I also always use to get this SV_failedtoupdate thing or something and the game would lag horribly for like 2 minutes at the beginning of every game.

quote:

Originally posted by: TheReturnOfAZ
and then i had fun for oh, about, AN HOUR with hotkeying the slowdown/speedup so it was like i was THE ONE
except i was playing bots
which made it even easier and more matrix


Hey az try these two out.
bind "mouse5" "host_timescale 1.0;phys_pushscale 5;sv_gravity 800;noclip;phys_timescale 1"
bind "mouse4" "host_timescale 0.2;phys_pushscale 9999999999999999;sv_gravity 200;noclip;phys_timescale
0.2"
 08/20/2006 07:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

wait you can make teh physics work at a different timerate than the rest? awesome! so id make physics like half whatever the game is, to make stuff flying around look slower

can these be used when playing other people? naturally id be the host
but if i do sv_cheats 1 does that mean everyone can mess with the settings and use noclip? like id like to just make it something the host controls

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information