AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Your Keyboard Layout
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/10/2006 09:07 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/10/2006 09:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

and its my keyboard too (my layout):



posted because i know its weird. any other weird ones.... not just the usual WASD!

ALSO: in case you were wondering? HOW DO I GO FORWARD:

RIGHT MOUSE BUTTON = FOWARD
LEFT MOUSE BUTTON = NORMAL FIRE
normally, EXTRA BUTTON = RELOAD (though in MOHAA, it has to be my ALTGR key!
MX510 btw
 08/10/2006 09:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rico
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3439
Joined: 04/19/2004

Interesting. I use the standard WASD setup for CS 1.6, but with a few more binds added in.

This is some of my config.cfg for CS.
CODEbind "TAB" "+showscores"
bind "ESCAPE" "cancelselect"
bind "SPACE" "+jump"
bind "'" "scout; buyammo1"
bind "+" "sizeup"
bind "," "buyammo1"
bind "-" "sizedown"
bind "." "buyammo2"
bind "0" "slot10"
bind "1" "slot1"
bind "2" "slot2"
bind "3" "slot3"
bind "4" "slot4"
bind "5" "slot5"
bind "6" "slot6"
bind "7" "slot7"
bind "8" "slot8"
bind "9" "slot9"
bind "`" "toggleconsole"
bind "a" "+moveleft"
bind "b" "buy"
bind "c" "radio3"
bind "d" "+moveright"
bind "e" "+use"
bind "f" "drop"
bind "i" "deagle; secammo"
bind "j" "awp; buyammo1"
bind "k" "famas; galil; primammo"
bind "l" "mp5; primammo"
bind "m" "chooseteam"
bind "n" "flash"
bind "o" "vesthelm; defuser; hegren"
bind "p" "ak47; m4a1; primammo"
bind "q" "lastinv"
bind "r" "+reload"
bind "s" "+back"
bind "t" "messagemode"
bind "u" "messagemode2"
bind "v" "+voicerecord"
bind "w" "+forward"
bind "x" "radio2"
bind "y" "messagemode2"
bind "z" "radio1"
bind "~" "toggleconsole"
bind "UPARROW" "+forward"
bind "DOWNARROW" "+back"
bind "LEFTARROW" "+left"
bind "RIGHTARROW" "+right"
bind "ALT" "+strafe"
bind "CTRL" "+speed"
bind "SHIFT" "+duck"
bind "END" "kill"
bind "KP_END" "sgren"
bind "KP_DOWNARROW" "vesthelm; hegren; usp; secammo; primammo"
bind "KP_PGDN" "famas; primammo; vesthelm; deagle; secammo; hegren"
bind "KP_ENTER" "stopsound"
bind "KP_INS" "vesthelm; primammo; hegren; deagle; secammo; defuser; flash"
bind "CAPSLOCK" "m4a1; ak47; primammo; vesthelm; hegren; deagle; secammo"
bind "MWHEELUP" "+duck"
bind "MOUSE1" "+attack"
bind "MOUSE2" "+attack2"
bind "MOUSE3" "+hook"

I hit P and O I get AK/M4, Armor, Nade and Defuser. Ahh easyness.

-------------------------
AMD X2 4200+ *** DFI NF4 Ultra-D (modded to SLi-D) *** eVGA 7950GT (with Zalman FC-ZV9)
January 16th was the day life changed... the day I bought WoW
 08/10/2006 09:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

my default key map for all fps games.

F=forward
D=back
S=strafe right
A=strafe left
Left Mouse=fire
Right Mouse=alt fire or melee attack
R=reload
E=use/pickup
Q=flashlight
G=throw grenade
T=grenade type

etc.

since I have my right hand on the mouse, I like to use a "home row" key map. that way my left hand rarely, if ever, has to leave the keyboard.

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 08/10/2006 09:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

ok ill only mention changes (in CSS)

disabled flashlight
disabled night vision
disabled 'cheer', close program, etc
buy: enter on numpad
menu items: 0-9 on numpad
radio buttons: /, *, - (top right of num pad) (notice the selections are on numpad too)
reload: back button on mouse
mini-script for "best weapon": wheel click ("slot3;slot2;slot1" so it pulls out best, because if you dont have slot1, it stops at slot2, etc)
mini-script for "best grenade": forward button on mouse ("use weapon_smokegrenade;use weapon_flashbang;use weapon_hegrenade" works same as above)
F1 teamsays "Bomb is at A!"
F2 teamsays "Bomb is at B!"
F3 teamsays "Bomb is down, HERE!"
F4 teamsays "Get the other hostages!"


perpetually adding mini scripts and binds etc

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 08/11/2006 01:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SneakyLilBastard
Senior Member

Posts: 733
Joined: 10/30/2004

up arrow - forward
down arrow - backward
left arrow - strafe left
right arrow - strafe right
right shift - jump
right cntrl - crouch
right application - prone
keypad 1 - lean left
keypad 0 - lean right
mouse left - fire
mouse right - alt fire
mouse middle - reload
mouse thumb - run
wheel down - switch weapon
wheel up - aim
enter - use

And then backslash, backspace, forward slash, delete, pageup, pagedown, home, end, and keypad 4 are certain keys depending on the game.

- N

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ | ASUS A8R-MVP CF X1600 | AMD Radeon X1900XTX 512MB | <a href="http://www.
 08/11/2006 04:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TridenT_Boy3555
Senior Member

Posts: 2557
Joined: 12/26/2005

324 are you left handed? Not sure if the Mx510 is left and right or just right.

I use typical wasd. I usually never end up switching keys in the games. Unless something like use/action is not e, gotta have it as e unless that e button is something like leaning right. So yea, for me personalizing things doesn't always make it better for me.

-------------------------

My signature is environmentally friendly. Is yours?
 08/11/2006 12:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

right handed. mx510 (mine) is right handed.
 08/12/2006 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

I just got this



so Im getting it sorted today config wise. It has 4 shift states for a total of 104 keys all programable. And it has lights so you know what mode your in.

Nostromo N52 (haha the name of the ship in movie Alien)
http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCa...Page...oduct_Id=157024


A Best buy just opened yesterday here so I had to check it out. Saw that, grabbed it right away was $41 after tax, well worth it. I been wanting one since n50. This is the 2nd version with more keys, macro ability and able to map mouse functions. Has application trigger too, so each config is auto used for that program. Should save my $100 Dinova keyboard from excesive gaming use. Save it for webwork haha.
 08/12/2006 12:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

heh i just use the basic layout, i'm adaptable

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 08/23/2006 10:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: Xtreeme
I just got this

so Im getting it sorted today config wise. It has 4 shift states for a total of 104 keys all programable. And it has lights so you know what mode your in.

Nostromo N52 (haha the name of the ship in movie Alien)
http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCa...Page...oduct_Id=157024
A Best buy just opened yesterday here so I had to check it out. Saw that, grabbed it right away was $41 after tax, well worth it. I been wanting one since n50. This is the 2nd version with more keys, macro ability and able to map mouse functions. Has application trigger too, so each config is auto used for that program. Should save my $100 Dinova keyboard from excesive gaming use. Save it for webwork haha.



I am a little confused then... You use that in the picture instead of your keyboard and mouse?
 08/23/2006 11:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

i think its a keyboard replacement only
just the left hand

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 08/23/2006 02:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006


Ya it replaces the keyboard but you can use it to do the mouse too. I dont. The arrow keys where your thumb goes is used for it sometimes (again I dont). I prefer to just use it as a highly programable and comfy keyboard. So far its great....big diff in BF2 and BFMEII.
 08/23/2006 02:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CBI Elite
Senior Member

Posts: 1089
Joined: 06/23/2005

Wow 324, that is some layout...I'd be scratching my head all day trying to figure out how to play on your system lol. I use the basic WASD layout...in some games I have spawn binds, but in general I tend to keep it the same.

Just wondering...you have the Saitek Executive? Rofl? They have an "Executive"? Looks just like the Saitek Gamer Keyboard (minus the pad).

-------------------------

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ E3 @ 2.6GHz/1.44V | Asus A8N-SLi V1014
eVGA 7900 GS @ 525MHz/1,450MHz | <a href="http://ww
 08/23/2006 03:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

its an eclipse with a gray finish (in place of teh silver parts)... yeah, thats the difference between gaming and work friends...

honestly i think the matte finish on the exec looks cooler though

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 08/23/2006 04:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

i have the Saitek Gamers'. yeah, i have that extra pad too but i never use it
 08/23/2006 05:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

the one with the pad doesnt glow though, right?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 08/23/2006 06:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

yup, the one with that pad does glow. in fact, its glowing right now in front of me
 08/23/2006 06:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

wow i always thought it was eclipse OR gamer

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 08/23/2006 06:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

I think the GAMERS' was one of the first ones out. I got it straight away. I would have probo prefered the black one now. But, i love this one too
 08/28/2006 08:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

I like my Logitech DUO keyboard, http://www.logitech.com/index....ucts...,CONTENTID=9575
but I have yet to find a keyboard that really works like you need for games, a controler. Just me. But I find if I have to search for keys spaced all over the board (not side by side) it adversly effects my game play.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information