AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: BF2 Video Settings
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/12/2006 06:14 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/12/2006 06:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Comanche12
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/12/2006

I just built my new rig my specs are:

AMD 3800+ x2 dual core

MSI NEO K8N Platinum

ATI x800xl 256 mb PCI express

1.5 G PC3200 memory

450W power supply

Kept old IDE 80 Gig HD

My question is will my BF2 load and play fast on high settings or am I better off just keeping medium and load ultra fast as it does now. I am woried about stressing out system and hurting my performance in game. I play more BF2 SF more so than the regular BF2. Any suggestions or ways to speed up more or get even better performance would be appeciated. /ph34r.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='ph34r.gif' />
 01/12/2006 06:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

You should be ok on the highest settings, as long as you close everything else before playing. BF2 (memory leak or not) still uses up to 1.3GB of RAM while playing maxed out, and you have just a bit over that.

-------------------------
 01/13/2006 09:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Logan[TeamX]
Senior Member

Posts: 3185
Joined: 12/07/2003

Why the heck are you running RAM in single-channel mode?

I played BF2 on High settings, 1280x1024 and for the most part it was fine. Yes, it needs more than 1GB of RAM to be flawless, however.
 01/13/2006 10:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
V-Tec
Senior Member

Posts: 294
Joined: 05/19/2004

Someone a while ago talked about disabling both the dynamic lighting effects and shadow effects. After that my gameplay increased by about 10 fps /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

-------------------------
asdfasdfasdf
 01/13/2006 01:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

QUOTE(V-Tec @ Jan 13 2006, 10:39 AM)Someone a while ago talked about disabling both the dynamic lighting effects and shadow effects. After that my gameplay increased by about 10 fps /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />
[right][snapback]593358[/snapback][/right]
I don't think he'll need to do that with his system, but that's a nice tip for others.


-------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information