AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Whats happening to our F@H Team?
Topic Summary: Were going up in rank... (Not good)
Created On: 10/10/2009 12:09 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/14/2009 09:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Let's worried on getting the un-employed (including myself) employed first.

and that stupid health-care bill can take a hike.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/14/2009 10:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

Originally posted by: Royal Flush

Obama should give us funds in his healthcare bill so we can update systems to make folding monsters


Well they will be buying computers, but if the EMR system I have to use at the hospital is any indication, any and all available CPU cycles will be sucked up by the EMR program.

-------------------------
 10/14/2009 10:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
B-Shot
Case Modder

Posts: 1212
Joined: 05/18/2009

Lets nominate Immortal Lobster to the White House for Folding Tsar.
Job requirements
1) Breathing
2) Acorn supporter
3)Owe taxes

May be tough Lobster.
 10/14/2009 11:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Originally posted by: B-Shot

Lets nominate Immortal Lobster to the White House for Folding Tsar.

Job requirements

1) Breathing

-Kinda


Originally posted by: B-Shot
2) Acorn supporter


-Do I look like a squirrel?!?!

Originally posted by: B-Shot
3)Owe taxes


-Unemployed, no income


Originally posted by: B-Shot
May be tough Lobster.


Bah, sounds like an easy job!

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/14/2009 11:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

I have done some google skimming and found that ATI cards should really show their colors once the GPU V3 clients show face, they should be using OpenCL this time around...
The Windows SMP clients also need work.

[offtopic]
The job market is hurting pretty bad... That was the no.1 reason I joined the navy (that and the IT rate was open ).

Good luck with job hunting IM, hopefully you will grow a few money trees soon!
[/offtopic]

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 10/14/2009 11:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Originally posted by: Charlie22911


Good luck with job hunting IM, hopefully you will grow a few money trees soon!

[/offtopic]


Thanks

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/15/2009 07:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

Originally posted by: B-Shot

Lets nominate Immortal Lobster to the White House for Folding Tsar.

Job requirements:

1) Breathing
2) Acorn supporter
3)Owe taxes

May be tough Lobster.


^+5, Painfully True

-------------------------
 10/17/2009 11:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dobson
Overclocker

Posts: 510
Joined: 01/22/2005

Now that the weather is getting a little cooler I can increase my points per day.

-------------------------
131,008...333,165...1,101,272...1,423,897
 11/01/2009 08:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

I've closed down my smp client as I'm migrating to Win 7 soon. I'm trying out the gpu2 on my 4870, just for kicks, till I get sorted and reinstall.

I just sorted out the old FX60 system today and will have that running the gpu2 client on its 1950xtx once I go to Win 7. It takes a fair ol while to complete a smp unit. Nice easy install of the gpu client I must say.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 12/05/2009 09:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

I just swapped back to the SMP on my dual core from 2 single core clients. All I seemed to get on it was p2483, p2484 and p2499's averaging 644 ppd. The SMP should turn out a better ppd.

I see 2 people stopped folding recently. Anyone want to fill their place?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 12/05/2009 10:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

I stopped for a bit, i fold for another team as well, i may put one of the GPU cores and the PS3 on AMD and put the remaining 2 cores on the other team.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 12/13/2009 08:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Domma
B1FF

Posts: 113
Joined: 08/10/2004

C'mon fellas...it should be cold enuf at this time of year for ya's to start crankin up ur folders...let's stop the slide.

-------------------------
AMD Phenom X4 9750 / ASUS M2N32 SLI Deluxe / 4 x 1GB Corsair PC6400 / 2 x 250GB Seagate SATA II - RAID 0 / 2 x Gainward Bliss 7950GT 256MB / Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic / Plextor PX760-SA DVD-RW / Sony IDE DVD-ROM / Antec TruePower Trio 650W

AMD Phenom II X4 965 / ASUS M4N82 Deluxe / 2 x 2GB GSkill PC2-8500 / 2 x 160GB Seagate SATA II - RAID 0 / 2 x Gigabyte GTX275 896MB / Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer / Pioneer SATA DVD-RW / Corsair TX 750W
 12/13/2009 09:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brayden430
Fanboi

Posts: 91
Joined: 06/22/2009

Just decided to Download Gpu version onto desktop i leave my computer on 24/7 so my 8600 should do something hopefully.

Never mind I Insta Blue screen of Death

Well My GPU dosent like F@H so My Single core gets to show its power

I changed my Overclock by 10 mhz and it works now ya

-------------------------
===============
Current system
===============
OS: Ubuntu 10.10/Windows 7
Power Supply:RoseWill Bronze series 750 watt modular
RAM: Patriot 2GB 240-Pin DDR3
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-770TA-UD3 AM3
CPU: Athlon II X3 435 Rana 3.2Ghz Overclocked
GPU: AMD 6950 unlocked to a 6970
______________________________________

Edited: 12/13/2009 at 10:04 PM by Brayden430
 12/15/2009 07:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

I normally run two cores on my Prescott, two on my Opteron, and one on my A64 San Diego. The Prescott and San Diego have been out of comission for a bit, and I formatted the Opteron but forgot to get folding back on it. I'm working on that now.

On the plus side, I'm going to try to have our PS3 do a core a night downstairs

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 06/04/2010 04:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
action man
Moderator

Posts: 3572
Joined: 10/12/2003

i havent done any folding for over a year and im still in the top 10??? might start folding again sometime soon.. is a 4670 any good for folding or shall i not bother with the gpu cliet and just use the smp client on my quad core?

-------------------------
MODERATOR
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.


Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?
 06/04/2010 04:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

IMO I have been unfaithful to the forum
Im doing BOINC crunching for another team running 19 cores
I gave up on folding since the cpu clients and all were such a pain.
Sorry guys

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
 06/04/2010 06:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

Traitor. lol SMP isn't all that hard to install, even as a service. Hasn't given me many problems since I started running it.

Actionman, I'm currently running both SMP and GPU together. SMP, on the A3 core, puts in way more ppd than the gpu. You need to get yourself a passkey for the bonus points though otherwise it ain't worth it.

I'm running a 4870 1gb card and a PhII 940. Points below...

4870 on its own roughly 2600 ppd avg. With the SMP it takes a bit of a hit but the SMP makes up for it.
SMP2 gives 3800-4200ppd

Only been running it like this for a week but it is worth it. The gpu needs a little tweek before you can run it with the SMP. You need to add a couple of environment variables to get its cpu usage down to stop it hogging all of one core.

http://en.fah-addict.net/artic...ronment-variables.php


FX60 is giving roughly 1200ppd which altogether is giving me 7000ppd.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 06/04/2010 06:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
action man
Moderator

Posts: 3572
Joined: 10/12/2003

ok thanks for the info TLH.. im a bit out of the loop on folding so ill have to do some reading before i get going again but hopefully ill have my p2 940 and ati4670 doing smp and gpu units and once i figure whats screwing around with my gf computer ill add an fx60 and 1950xt-x to that... should get me around 5000ppd maybe?

-------------------------
MODERATOR
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.


Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?
 06/04/2010 07:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

You can't fold on the 1950 anymore m8. 2*** series and up only now.

I'm available on Steam most of the time if you need help and want to talk.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 06/04/2010 07:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
action man
Moderator

Posts: 3572
Joined: 10/12/2003

o well looks like it will just be the fx60 then lol

-------------------------
MODERATOR
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.


Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » Distributed Computing » Whats happening to our F@H Team?

<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information