AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Tinkers
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/30/2004 01:32 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/01/2004 07:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Those two lines are a normal part of the Tinker execution, LVS. From what I understand, Stanford is having issues with the Gromacs servers.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 02/02/2004 03:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xamlit
Senior Member

Posts: 1206
Joined: 11/02/2003

Pilot. prepare to be passed! I just added a (Gulp. I know its against the rules) an intel P4 1.4ghz to the lot.
 02/02/2004 03:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
klrk1400
Senior Member

Posts: 962
Joined: 11/04/2003

QUOTE (xamlit @ Feb 2 2004, 12:03 PM) Pilot. prepare to be passed! I just added a (Gulp. I know its against the rules) an intel P4 1.4ghz to the lot.
You mean there are rules???

-------------------------

Folding for Team #34106' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showforum=27
 02/02/2004 03:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

No rules here...just one motto "More, More, More!!" That motto has been proven by Ardird.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 02/02/2004 04:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Yep, the more crunch power the better. Unless you're using a mac. You still won't really be breaking a rule though, you'll just get laughed at by everyone else.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 02/02/2004 04:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
klrk1400
Senior Member

Posts: 962
Joined: 11/04/2003

QUOTE (Mime @ Feb 2 2004, 01:11 PM) Yep, the more crunch power the better. Unless you're using a mac. You still won't really be breaking a rule though, you'll just get laughed at by everyone else.
They only get laughed at if they tell.

-------------------------

Folding for Team #34106' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showforum=27
 02/02/2004 04:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xamlit
Senior Member

Posts: 1206
Joined: 11/02/2003

Errrrr.... Macs are taboo? I was going to set up my bro's dual 64 bit g5 to fold for us.
 02/02/2004 05:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
klrk1400
Senior Member

Posts: 962
Joined: 11/04/2003

As long as it helps the team it doesn't matter what kind of machine it is. In my opinion anyway!!

-------------------------

Folding for Team #34106' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showforum=27
 02/02/2004 05:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

Yeah bring them on...Just tell eveyone that they are opterons! Being that they are 64-bit.!

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 02/02/2004 06:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Yeah, the G5s are a lot better IMO, than earlier mac chips. Those poor processors were stuck with PC133 ram for years and years...

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 02/02/2004 10:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fallen Phoenix
Senior Member

Posts: 2948
Joined: 10/07/2003

I'm getting some Tinkers, more than usual but still getting some Gromacs
 02/03/2004 01:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pro Kid
Senior Member

Posts: 5241
Joined: 10/08/2003

QUOTE (Mime @ Feb 2 2004, 06:11 PM) Yeah, the G5s are a lot better IMO, than earlier mac chips. Those poor processors were stuck with PC133 ram for years and years...
lol.

-------------------------
Life is hard you know this $hit gets taxin,
Thats why when ya find me Ima be relaxin...
 02/03/2004 08:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marc2003
Senior Member

Posts: 247
Joined: 11/02/2003

just started foling at the weekend and all i've had is tinkers. they are taking about 35-40 hours each and i'm getting 70 points for each. what sort of pointage/work unit rate per day do you get for 'normal' work units?

btw have xp2600 5-6 minutes per frame at the moment
 02/03/2004 02:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

I use the -advmethods flag, and I have recieved nothing but Gromacs the last 2 days. 500 Frame Gromacs. I think those are around 30-40 points. There is one good thing about tinkers, you get 71 points for one normally. There is a points system, that if you get it done quicker, you get better points, but every tinker I got, I got 71 points for it regardless. My sisters 800MHZ Celeron took 6 days to comlpete a tinker, and it gave her..no...me 71 points! haha But there is a flag, -forceSSE, its what I use for gromacs, and it works great. Cut my time down by around 40%. But Ardrid has the topic here...http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=5764' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=5764 Just go to properties on the shortcut, in the start menu, or wherever you have it, and put in the flags he has there. It worked for me.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 02/05/2004 06:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marc2003
Senior Member

Posts: 247
Joined: 11/02/2003

edit: had a problem now solved!!!!
 02/06/2004 05:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

I'm still getting slammed by Tinkers. In any event, I found this crazy WU. It's a 5000 WU. Contrary to what you may believe, it's actually not a beast like the 2500 WU. The [content edited] thing is only worth 11 points and takes me a little less than 3 minutes to complete.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 02/06/2004 09:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

Lemme see, 5000 frames, and you can complete 5000 frames in 3 minutes? Or 3 minutes per frame? Cause if its 3 minutes for the whole WU, then, lemme ask you....what kinda super computer you have? But that is great, I got one of them 5000 pointers, at least I know not to get my hopes up. Yeah, but when I first saw that 5000 frame WU, I flipped, I calculated it tho, and its going to take 19 hours...from the start. Oh yeah, what did you to to the guys at stanford? Cause I am not getting tinkerized(finding the closest piece of wood, and knocking the heck out of it). All I can do is dont do the -advmethods thing. You will get gromacs, thats not the problem....you wont get credit for them, thats all, in my experience.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 02/06/2004 11:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

2.5 minutes per frame. It took me about 5 hours to complete the whole thing. Of course, what do you know, I'm doing another [content edited] Tinker now.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 02/06/2004 10:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pro Kid
Senior Member

Posts: 5241
Joined: 10/08/2003

Hope I get me one of those, sounds like a good deal. Not the tinkers.

-------------------------
Life is hard you know this $hit gets taxin,
Thats why when ya find me Ima be relaxin...
 02/11/2004 03:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Oh, what do you know, 2 Tinkers a row...

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » Distributed Computing » Tinkers

<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information