AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Folding Stops games
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/10/2004 02:55 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/10/2004 02:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
merlin371
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2985
Joined: 02/24/2004

When I have the folding prog running on the background and i open Far Cry it minimize it there's nothing I can do just close folding then Far Cry works, why does it do this??
 04/10/2004 02:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

Go into the configure options of the folding client, and then set the CPU priority to normal. And if its already at normal, then turn the CPU usage down to 95% or so...then see if it works. We will be here if the problems persist.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 04/10/2004 04:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
merlin371
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2985
Joined: 02/24/2004

I did and nothing I set the core priority to slightly higher and the Cpu usage to 95% and nothing but I noticed that it happens only the secont time around, I mean i start far cry with Folding on the backgorund and it goes fine then when I exit the game and start it againg it doesn't work
 04/10/2004 06:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

You don't want priority on slighly higher. And if everything is working properly, F@H should drop down to 0% allowing Far Cry to use the CPU. That's why it runs in idle.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 04/10/2004 06:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
merlin371
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2985
Joined: 02/24/2004

ya it is on idle and all but it keeps on doing it only with Far Cry all of the other games work Far Cry is the only one that gives problems
 04/10/2004 06:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Hmm...interesting. I never experienced that problem with the demo at all. I think the easiest thing for you to do is simply pause F@H when you're playing a game. It won't be doing any work anyway, so it won't effect your output.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information