AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: T-bred v.s. Barton
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/13/2004 01:55 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/13/2004 01:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

Guys, I was wondering, does the 512K L2 cache make a difference in the Folding process? I wouldnt think so. I would think that the Colck speed in Athlon XP's would be better than the cache size. But I could be wrong. Just a question I thought up.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 02/13/2004 02:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

I've been trying to find out what really effects F@H's performance. Clock speed affects it up to a point, but instructions play a much more prominent role. For example, my 2500+ running 3DNow performs at the level of a PIII 800MHz running SSE. You're probably thinking it's not possible, but I assure you it is. Give the 2500+ SSE and you see the role clock speed plays. So I don't know, there are a number of factors. Clock speed is definitely important when talking about Tinkers. It takes that same 800MHz box nearly 5 days to finish a Tinker, whereas it takes me less than 2. I don't think cache really plays that much of a role either because the 2500+ performs on par with the A64 3200+.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 02/13/2004 11:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

Thats what I was thinking. I have all my machines running on SSE, no lockups either. The Barton dont have any different instructions sets, just the cache size is larger, right? Nothing different that would affect folding. Cause now with my 2700+, its folding a frame almost as fast as my 3200+. 2167MHZ compared to 2205Mhz. Its a difference of about 15 seconds a frame. What I am going to try to do, is lower the fsb on my barton to get it as close to the speed as the 2700+ as I can, and then see, if it makes any difference. I know there could be a million variables to set the results off, but its worth a try tho.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 02/13/2004 12:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Yeah, all the Barton has is some extra cache.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 02/13/2004 03:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

OK guys, a comparison here for all you guys out there that are curious about the difference between a 2700+(2167MHZ)T-bred and a 3200+(2205MHZ stock, but mine running at 2230MHZ) Barton. 10 frames.

3200+(2230MHZ) Barton. Core_65. Tinker
[19:23:18] Finished a frame (70)
[19:27:28] Finished a frame (71)
[19:31:45] Finished a frame (72)
[19:35:53] Finished a frame (73)
[19:39:57] Finished a frame (74)
[19:44:02] Finished a frame (75)
[19:48:09] Finished a frame (76)
[19:52:18] Finished a frame (77)
[19:56:28] Finished a frame (78)
[20:00:39] Finished a frame (79)
[20:04:57] Finished a frame (80)

2700+(2167MHZ) T-bred. Core_65. Tinker
[18:41:26] Finished a frame (170)
[18:46:08] Finished a frame (171)
[18:50:51] Finished a frame (172)
[18:55:33] Finished a frame (173)
[19:00:11] Finished a frame (174)
[19:04:51] Finished a frame (175)
[19:09:31] Finished a frame (176)
[19:14:09] Finished a frame (177)
[19:18:46] Finished a frame (178)
[19:23:26] Finished a frame (179)
[19:28:08] Finished a frame (180)

2230MHZ Barton.....81 Mins, 39 secs.
2167MHZ T-Bred.....87 Mins, 22 secs.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 02/13/2004 03:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Are both those times from working on the same WU?

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 02/13/2004 03:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

The only problem with that comparison, and it's something I read about on the F@H forums, is that each frame is different, meaning that you can't directly compare them. You'd have to use the same WU and the same steps. There's a way to do that, give me a sec.

Edit: Found it' ">http://forum.folding-community...ic.php?t=7052&start=15. See Zim's post.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 02/13/2004 03:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

Yeah, p694, and p695, so it really isnt a direct comparison.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 02/14/2004 01:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pro Kid
Senior Member

Posts: 5241
Joined: 10/08/2003

Well I got my rig runnin at 2.08 and when I get gromacs (and only gromacs) its about 5 minutes per step.

-------------------------
Life is hard you know this $hit gets taxin,
Thats why when ya find me Ima be relaxin...
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information