AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Conquests
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/07/2004 03:38 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/11/2004 03:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Lol, speaking of overtaking, I'm getting screwed by Tinkers again. I dropped 2 WUs today. It's a joke.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 02/13/2004 06:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marc2003
Senior Member

Posts: 247
Joined: 11/02/2003

we're about to be owned. look how many points they're dropping a day





 02/13/2004 11:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
klrk1400
Senior Member

Posts: 962
Joined: 11/04/2003

QUOTE (marc2003 @ Feb 13 2004, 03:53 AM) we're about to be owned. look how many points they're dropping a day


I think those points dropped are more of a result of the stat server problem than actual points per day. I looked at several of the teams and it seems they have a huge spike for one day.

It looks like they have the stat servers up.

-------------------------

Folding for Team #34106' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showforum=27
 02/13/2004 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jes
Senior Member

Posts: 1134
Joined: 10/22/2003

Well it's a small contribution...but my dual opty has now joined the team. Although I can't say how effective it'll be since it does a fair bit of work, so "slack" time is quite rare at the moment! But every little helps as they say.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
http://www.shellprompt.net
Unix & Oracle Web Hosting Provider powered by AMD Opterons
 02/13/2004 11:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

QUOTE (jes @ Feb 13 2004, 08:30 AM) Well it's a small contribution...but my dual opty has now joined the team. Although I can't say how effective it'll be since it does a fair bit of work, so "slack" time is quite rare at the moment! But every little helps as they say.
Yeah, but their Opterons. Are you running 2 WU's at a time? since you have 2 CPU's? Just curious to hear from someone who did it, how hard it was to setup.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 02/13/2004 12:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jes
Senior Member

Posts: 1134
Joined: 10/22/2003

Yep, one running on each processor....extremely easy to setup. I'm not running with any fancy commandline parameters, should I be using the sse options or is it smart enough to figure that out? (I literally looked at the help page for 20 seconds).

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
http://www.shellprompt.net
Unix & Oracle Web Hosting Provider powered by AMD Opterons
 02/13/2004 12:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Very sweet, jes. And yeah, klrk, those results are due to the stats server blowing up the other day. Almost everyone lost all their points and then they all came back at once making it seem as if they had just added hella ppl to their team.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 02/13/2004 12:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Yay, more crunch power.

Yeah, SSE will help. Turn it on by starting the client with -forceSSE tacked on. You can tell when its enabled since you'll see an entry in your log that says "Extra SSE boost OK" when the client starts work on a WU.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 02/13/2004 12:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

You will you notice a difference with SSE on? Oh yeah. 20-30% somtimes even up to 40% increase in performance.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 02/13/2004 01:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

QUOTE (jes @ Feb 13 2004, 12:45 PM) Yep, one running on each processor....extremely easy to setup. I'm not running with any fancy commandline parameters, should I be using the sse options or is it smart enough to figure that out? (I literally looked at the help page for 20 seconds).
From my little help guide...I wrote it myself

Increased Performance with AMD Processors

There is a way to process work much quicker than normally possible. This involves forcing the use of SSE optimizations, which are disabled by default when using AMD processors. To enable this feature, add the -forceasm (version 3.24) or the -forceSSE (version 4.00) flag to the shortcut. It should be noted that some users have experienced crashes when this feature is enabled, so be forewarned.

Update: AMD and the Pande Group have found a solution to the SSE crashes and are currently testing it. If you experience any problems, it's recommended that you give the beta core a try. It can be found here' ">http://www.folding.org/beta-core.

Ex: "C:\Program Files\Folding@Home\winFAH.exe" -forceSSE


-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 02/13/2004 01:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pilot
Senior Member

Posts: 2910
Joined: 12/16/2003

Throw me a link for the Threats?

-------------------------
Pilot
AMD 64 3000 @ 2.0GHz || Running Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate
Apple iBook G4 1.42GHz (PPC Core) || Running Apple OSX Tiger
 02/13/2004 01:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

QUOTE (Pilot @ Feb 13 2004, 10:41 AM) Throw me a link for the Threats?
This isnt really the exact link, but go back a page, and it shows the team threats, and then on the members page, pick a member, and it shows the members threats...http://folding.extremeovercloc.../tea...hp?TeamID=34106' ">http://folding.extremeovercloc...mbers.php?TeamID=34106

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 02/13/2004 01:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brian128
Senior Member

Posts: 2644
Joined: 11/06/2003

Doesnt look like I'll be keeping second place for long

-------------------------
 02/13/2004 01:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Rofl!

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 02/13/2004 01:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brian128
Senior Member

Posts: 2644
Joined: 11/06/2003

If I had 10 PCs Id be ripping you guys apart yes, if you cant tell, those are sour grapes

-------------------------
 02/13/2004 01:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

QUOTE (Brian128 @ Feb 13 2004, 01:51 PM) If I had 10 PCs Id be ripping you guys apart yes, if you cant tell, those are sour grapes
I've actually got 11, but that's besides the point

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 02/13/2004 02:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jes
Senior Member

Posts: 1134
Joined: 10/22/2003

Ok, I'm obviously being very thick here...but...

I've downloaded the beta Core_78 to prevent the documented freezing (a quick test showed that the old core froze my machine...good thing my 8 week long running job had just finished!. However, when I start up the F@H program, it still seems to download and use the FahCore_65.exe file.

Clues anyone?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
http://www.shellprompt.net
Unix & Oracle Web Hosting Provider powered by AMD Opterons
 02/13/2004 02:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

Well, they have recently been giving tinkers...core 65, out recently. You cannot use SSE on core 65, only 78 I think. But until you get a core 78...gromacs, you wont know until then. So, you'll probably have to wait it out. Unless...you wanna try Genome@home. You wont get the same amount of points, but it will most likely be a gromacs core, and you can use SSE on them. ANyone else think that will work?

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 02/13/2004 03:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jes
Senior Member

Posts: 1134
Joined: 10/22/2003

Right....ok (I'm still not up to speed on this, so excuse the basic questions).

I ran the program with the -forceSSE parameter which of course made the machine lockup (as already reported). So I downloaded the new core, but does that mean that I will only be able to use that core until I get a "core 78 gromacs"? So if I continue to run with the -forceSSE parameter and get one that uses the 65 core the machine will just lockup again?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
http://www.shellprompt.net
Unix & Oracle Web Hosting Provider powered by AMD Opterons
 02/13/2004 03:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Yeah, there are two cores. Fahcore_78 and Fahcore_65. 78 is used for Gromacs WUs and can use optimizations (3DNow/SSE). 65 is used for Tinker WUs and can't use optimizations. I'm taking it you used one of the bad WUs to test the freeze.

Edit: [content edited], it locked up from the start? Or did you use the test WU? Anyways, yeah, you won't be able to use that core until you get a Gromacs WU. The -forceSSE flag won't do anything while you're doing a Tinker WU, so you don't have to worry about lockups.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » Distributed Computing » Conquests

<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information