AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Folding @ Home
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/13/2003 09:44 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/17/2003 01:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

AMD would win. We're far better folders

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 10/17/2003 01:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (Ardrid @ Oct 16 2003, 09:02 PM) Hey, I think it's only me and Fallen on the AMD Forums team for Folding. I know some of you other guys out there want to help us
tell me what it takes

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 10/17/2003 01:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Cool. All you need to do is d/l the Folding@Home client. You can get that from here' ">http://www.stanford.edu/group/.../folding/download.html

After you get the client all you have to do is run it, setup your username and team # (34106 in this case) and start folding. You can even set how much of your CPU you want to devote to the process. I'm actually running at 100%. Thankfully it's cool outside so my temps aren't going up that much. It was crazy yesterday. I was at full load all night and my temp never rose above 39C. Amazing what cold weather can do for your processor


-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 10/17/2003 01:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

cool, and yeah cool weather makes a nice difference, unfortunately i live in a hot dorm room

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 10/17/2003 01:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

ok i am set up, running around 70%when will it show me as part of the team?

edit: 70%cpu usage, temps around 49C according to ASUS Probe

go team forums.amd.com!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 10/17/2003 02:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fallen Phoenix
Senior Member

Posts: 2948
Joined: 10/07/2003

You'll show up as soon as you finish your first work unit, shouldn't take too long. Looks like Ardrid is whooping up on my lonely 1700+. I'm thinking about talking my principal into letting me borg the entire school!!

the borging!!!
 10/17/2003 02:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pro Kid
Senior Member

Posts: 5241
Joined: 10/08/2003

Are you guys using the screen saver. Cause thats what I got, guess I have to change the configuration for it now though. And Ard, I will catch and surpass you.

-------------------------
Life is hard you know this $hit gets taxin,
Thats why when ya find me Ima be relaxin...
 10/17/2003 02:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pro Kid
Senior Member

Posts: 5241
Joined: 10/08/2003

Are you guys using the Terminal version or the Screensaver one. Cause I would of done the screen saver one but it won't let me change my team or name. So I got the Terminal version.

-------------------------
Life is hard you know this $hit gets taxin,
Thats why when ya find me Ima be relaxin...
 10/17/2003 02:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

me too





-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 10/17/2003 02:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Java
Elite

Posts: 2298
Joined: 10/05/2003

What the heck, I'll sign up. Afterall, it is for a good cause, unless of course they start trying to clone the protiens.

-------------------------
There are 10 types of people in the world, those that understand binary and those that don't.

Java
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

System 1: A64 X2 4800 | A8N SLI Del. | 6800GT | TT Tsunami | WD 80GB HD | Plextor DVD R/W | 1GB Corsair Pro, 1GB Crucial Balistix<br>System 2 (Wife's): A64 460
 10/17/2003 03:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[borg]
Senior Member

Posts: 528
Joined: 10/07/2003

hey, don't run that wasteful screensaver... just eats your resources

-------------------------
Barton 1833@2200 (11.0x200) AQXEA 0329 XPMW 1.75vcore
NF7-S rev2.0 + 2x512 DDR 400Mhz + SLK-947U + TT SF II
FX5600 256 DDR 350/450
 10/17/2003 04:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

I'm using the graphical client. Right now on on my 4th WU...28% complete. Folding owns and it's for a good cause

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 10/17/2003 04:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (Ardrid @ Oct 17 2003, 12:07 AM) I'm using the graphical client. Right now on on my 4th WU...28% complete. Folding owns and it's for a good cause
ardrid ... come on pls posted your shot ne !

I would like to see yr ... working unit ....come on man

-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 10/17/2003 04:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

I would but I don't have anything to upload it to.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 10/17/2003 04:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

sorry ardrid I thought .. you can make it .... again sorry to troubling you .. mate

Its heavy rainy in here ... full thunder ...scare

Kanpai ( cheer ) Brian

-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 10/17/2003 06:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
infiltrator
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4334
Joined: 10/08/2003

Lol, what you guys don't know is that you are crunching data for the development of chemical warfare What guarentee is there that it's actually processing decent data? Theoretically they can process what they want on your PC without you even knowing. Call me paranoid, but I prefer to keep stuff like this off my PC's that are currently live and need to work without interuption. My little Alien Finder PC is hapily crunching data and we'll prolly find ET soon - if ET nukes it - I can rebuild it in less than 10 mins. My noo PC takes too long to build and it's too much Data to backup!

But Honestly? Do you guys use it on your only PC's or do you also have spare boxes lying around doing the crunching.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/17/2003 06:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

again from me

-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 10/17/2003 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fallen Phoenix
Senior Member

Posts: 2948
Joined: 10/07/2003

You guys are just whipping up on me I really need that Barton, I really really need a new PSU
 10/17/2003 02:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Don't worry about it, Brian. On another note, I wish it was storming here. I love t-storms

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 10/17/2003 02:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

I'm personally running the client on my PC, Inf. I keep it at about 90-100% unless I'm playing a game or watching a movie or something. My Barton is loving every second of it

Oh, and I don't think they'd blatantly lie about folding proteins. What would happen if they were found out? Besides, they've even written papers based on all our wonderful folding

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » Distributed Computing » Folding @ Home

<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information