AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Installing F@H on Suse 9.1
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/25/2005 06:37 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/25/2005 06:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

Hey everyone,

I recently converted my F@H machines to linux, but i would like to learn how to use linux a little better, and Win2k was gettting corrupted. Anyway, i downloaded the Linux version of F@H, but since im such a linux noob, i don't really know how to install it /blush.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='blush.gif' /> /blush.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='blush.gif' /> i tried using Yast to install it, but i don't think it worked. Could anyone help me out with this /blush.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='blush.gif' /> /blush.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='blush.gif' />

thanks!

by the way, this computer is a 400MHz PII w/ 256 mb of ram, and im working on getting my 400MHz Celery running Suse, and then im going to try fedora on my 500MHz PIII

-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
 08/25/2005 07:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

First, just like in windows, you've gotta know where you downloaded the client. It'll probably be in your home directory somewhere, and most of the time you'll have an icon that says "home" or something on the desktop, so you can click on that and then poke around in there until you've found it. Once you find it open up a terminal window. If it's in some sub-folder of your home directory you can use the command cd to move into directories until you get there. Also, the command ls will list the files in a directory in case you want to see what's in it. One thing that throws a lot of people off when they first try Linux is how the file permissions work. In linux, there are a set of permissions that determine whether or not the file can be read, whether or not the file can be written to, and whether or not the file can be executed. Just because you download something that ends in .exe doesn't mean the OS will let you execute it as is. You've got to flip on the execute permissions in order to run it. You do that with the chmod command

chmod +x FAH502-Linux.exe

or...

chmod 755 FAH502-Linux.exe

If you want to try the old school way. /cool.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='cool.gif' />

I'm sure there's some way to do this through the GUI, but I've never really bothered to look for it. After you've got the permissions set up you should be able to run it from the GUI, or type in the path to it and run it from the command line.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 08/25/2005 07:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

i opened a terminal window in the folder that the executable file was in and i typed what you said and i pushed enter and nothing happened /blush.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='blush.gif' /> i definitly missed something...

edit -mime helped me get it to work on irc, thanks!

-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
 08/25/2005 08:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Yeah, unless you're doing something like a search command where you know some output should be coming back, it's generally not a problem when linux drops you back at the command line like that without seeming to do anything. It's just a lingering side effect of being born out of unix at a time where the only people who used computers were programmers and sysadmins who already knew how to use the system.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 08/26/2005 04:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
srg86
Senior Member

Posts: 3455
Joined: 05/06/2004

QUOTE(Mime @ Aug 25 2005, 04:29 PM)Yeah, unless you're doing something like a search command where you know some output should be coming back, it's generally not a problem when linux drops you back at the command line like that without seeming to do anything.  It's just a lingering side effect of being born out of unix at a time where the only people who used computers were programmers and sysadmins who already knew how to use the system.
[right][snapback]489000[/snapback][/right]


That is the unix way, program only tell you something when they absolutly have to otherwise they don't bother. Actually AFAIK the reason for this goes right the way back to the early 70's. Then a unix machine's output device was not a VDU but a printer. As printers take ages, it's better not to have anything outputted that doesn't need to be (like a copyright message for example) so your not sitting arround all day, it's more efficient.

AFAIK that's why. It's odd when you first use it as your thinking "well did it work" but if there was a problem, you would have had some output. When you get used to it it's actually quite nice IMHO.

srg

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Manchester) 2.2GHz, DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D, 1GB Corsair XMS DDR400 Dual Channel, 80GB WD Caviar SE SATA, 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax 9 SATA, NEC 4550A, Radeon X800GTO 128MB DDR, M-Audio Audiophile 2496, Tagan TG480-U01.

Commodore Amiga 1200, MC68060 50MHz CPU (FPU Built in), 2MB Chip RAM, 16MB Fast RAM, AGA Graphics Chipset, 20GB IBM Travelstar 40GN, Kickstart 3.1 ROM, Workbench 3.1
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information