AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Overclocking
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/11/2005 03:15 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/11/2005 03:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dobson
Overclocker

Posts: 510
Joined: 01/22/2005

Does overclocking a cpu corrupt a wu? If so then at what point would that happen?

-------------------------
131,008...333,165...1,101,272...1,423,897
 06/11/2005 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

QUOTE(Dobson @ Jun 11 2005, 02:15 PM)Does overclocking a cpu corrupt a wu? If so then at what point would that happen?
[right][snapback]435801[/snapback][/right]

yes it probly would void your warranty but take to concideration how long your warranty is /sleep.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sleep.gif' />

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 06/11/2005 04:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
D22_2003
Senior Member

Posts: 314
Joined: 11/24/2003

QUOTE(athlonxp2800+/333 @ Jun 11 2005, 11:22 AM)yes it probly would void your warranty but take to concideration how long your warranty is /sleep.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sleep.gif' />
[right][snapback]435805[/snapback][/right]



I think he is talking about a work unit from Folding@Home, overclocking can sometimes corrupt a wu but i do not know at what speed it will happen at.

-D-

-------------------------
Main PC = AMD Athlon XP 1800+, Thermaltake Volcano 12, FIC AM37 Motherboard, ATI Radeon X1300Pro 256Mb, 640Mb RAM, 400watt ACEPower Dual Fan PSU, On board NIC, WD 40Gb & WD 250Gb<br><br>Second PC = AMD X2 4200+ AM2, 2048mb ram, WD250GB SATA, ATI Radeon X2900XT, Samsung 19in Widescreen LCD 5ms 3000:1 contrast / native resolution 1440x900
 06/11/2005 05:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Megadeth
Senior Member

Posts: 7822
Joined: 08/14/2004

Run Prime95 for 6-12 hours after overclocking. If it passes those tests without crashing or returning any errors, then F@H will be fine. I believe the instructions that Prime95 makes the cpu process are more intense than what any application out there has. So, it is right to assume that F@H will be fine if the cpu returns stable after Prime95.
 06/11/2005 05:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dobson
Overclocker

Posts: 510
Joined: 01/22/2005

Yes, a work unit for F@h. The reason I ask is because some motherboards come overclocked from the factory, although very little, it is still an overclock to the cpu. Would these boards cause corruption to a work unit? Yes? No? Maybe?

-------------------------
131,008...333,165...1,101,272...1,423,897
 06/11/2005 08:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

QUOTE(Dobson @ Jun 11 2005, 01:15 PM)Does overclocking a cpu corrupt a wu? [right][snapback]435801[/snapback][/right]

God I hope not, otherwise I'd better stop folding 24/7 on my XP-M...

If it's stable, it's fine.

-Adam
 06/11/2005 08:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Yeah, the only time OCing will affect your WUs is when you've OCed too far and caused the system to become unstable. If your FSB is just a few clocks above stock, that's extremely unlikely to happen.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 06/11/2005 08:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

If you do have a WU become corrupted or F@H detects errors in it's calculations,F@H will send what you have done already back,and give you a score dependant on % completed.I think this can happen alot of the time if you've agreed to test beta WU's.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information