AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Faulty WU's
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/18/2005 05:54 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/18/2005 05:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hubs8907
Senior Member

Posts: 1647
Joined: 06/10/2004

I keep having lots of faulty WU's since I installed the console version.....it said something about instability by possibly an overclock, or by overheating, and such. What should I do about that, because I'm tired of having lost WU's!

Thanks,
hubs8907
 06/19/2005 07:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dancer
Senior Member

Posts: 275
Joined: 01/22/2005

QUOTE(hubs8907 @ Jun 18 2005, 04:54 PM)I keep having lots of faulty WU's since I installed the console version.....it said something about instability by possibly an overclock, or by overheating, and such.  What should I do about that, because I'm tired of having lost WU's!

Thanks,
hubs8907
[right][snapback]440309[/snapback][/right]


hubs8907,
Have you always used the console version? While many feel it runs a bit more stable then the GUI client, I have been running all my machines with the graphic client and have had no problems. Is your machine stable otherwise? Have you tried running other stability testing programs on your rig? Some WU's will give problems and may complete early, but they should be few and far in between.
Cheers,
Bob


-------------------------
Come join our Team and help find cures for the world!
AMD FORUM FOLDERS


<span st
 06/19/2005 01:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

The graphical client is typically slightly slower then the console version, also it doesn't like games that much. Tends to minimize them without warning. I know that's why I switched.

-Adam
 06/19/2005 02:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Also, if you've decided that the stability of your machine is "good enough" rather than making sure it's stable in any case at all, then the folding client is probably going to complain at you like this.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 06/19/2005 06:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hubs8907
Senior Member

Posts: 1647
Joined: 06/10/2004

@Mime, you probably are right. I lowered the voltage a bit to try to lower my temps......and its not completely stable in Prime95. I'll try to up the voltage a bit more to the proc and see if that helps.

Thanks,
hubs8907
 06/19/2005 06:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

QUOTE(Silk_the_Absent1 @ Jun 19 2005, 06:33 PM)The graphical client is typically slightly slower then the console version, also it doesn't like games that much. Tends to minimize them without warning. I know that's why I switched.

-Adam
[right][snapback]440771[/snapback][/right]

Yeah.My games always minimize when I start 'em,but never while I'm playing,with the graphical version.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 06/22/2005 07:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

Is this what happened hubs;

[03:38:41] Quit 101 - Fatal error: NaN detected: (ener[13])
[03:38:41]
[03:38:41] Simulation instability has been encountered. The run has entered a
[03:38:41] state from which no further progress can be made.
[03:38:41] This may be the correct result of the simulation, however if you
[03:38:41] often see other project units terminating early like this
[03:38:41] too, you may wish to check the stability of your computer (issues
[03:38:41] such as high temperature, overclocking, etc.).
[03:38:41] Going to send back what have done.
[03:38:41] logfile size: 16023
[03:38:41] - Writing 16586 bytes of core data to disk...
[03:38:41] ... Done.
[03:38:41]
[03:38:41] Folding@home Core Shutdown: EARLY_UNIT_END
[03:38:45] CoreStatus = 72 (114)
[03:38:45] Sending work to server


[03:38:45] + Attempting to send results
[03:38:47] + Results successfully sent
[03:38:47] Thank you for your contribution to Folding@Home.
[03:38:51] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[03:38:51] + Attempting to get work packet
[03:38:51] - Connecting to assignment server
[03:38:52] - Successful: assigned to (171.64.122.134).
[03:38:52] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
[03:38:52] Loaded queue successfully.
[03:40:12] + Closed connections

It did this last night.I think it got too hot as it's never done this before,for me anyway.It is hot here ATM.Mini heatwave.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information