AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Folding at home 64 bit capabilities?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/08/2005 09:25 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/08/2005 09:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xamlit
Senior Member

Posts: 1206
Joined: 11/02/2003

Does f@h have a 64 bit version out yet? If so does this dramatically increase the amount of work processed?
 06/08/2005 10:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Amitola85
Senior Member

Posts: 598
Joined: 07/14/2004

For Full Information on Folding with 64-bit procs' ">http://forum.folding-community...=10239&highlight=64bit

Overview:
QUOTEQuestion: I was wondering if with the deveopment of 64 bit processors, is Stanford going to release a 64 bit version of Folding.

Answer:
the answer to that is no. it provides no virtually no improvement over 32-bit code.

64-bit is meant to work a lot with decimal work and address more memory. F@H relies on floating point work.


So I guess that pretty much sums it up.

-------------------------

Why you should care about the PATRIOT Act.' ">http://www.eff.org/Privacy/Sur...nce/Terrorism/PATRIOT/
 07/05/2005 02:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xamlit
Senior Member

Posts: 1206
Joined: 11/02/2003

Soz... How will my new X2 perform in folding? How do I get both cores to fold?
 07/05/2005 04:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

QUOTE(Amitola85 @ Jun 8 2005, 03:13 PM)For Full Information on Folding with 64-bit procs' ">http://forum.folding-community...=10239&highlight=64bit

Overview:
So I guess that pretty much sums it up.
[right][snapback]433439[/snapback][/right]

I'm sure I read something about new cores in Beta testing that will use SSE2 and will only be on the 64 bit platform.Can't seem to find where I read it tho'.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 07/06/2005 06:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TotalImmortal
Member

Posts: 37
Joined: 07/05/2004

QUOTE(xamlit @ Jul 5 2005, 10:29 AM)Soz... How will my new X2 perform in folding? How do I get both cores to fold?
[right][snapback]452846[/snapback][/right]


You wil need 2 seperate instalations of F@H in 2 diffrent directories. You then need to set the affinity for each so that one runs on each core.

Performance should be similar to twice the performance of a single core at the same clock.

-------------------------
- In Shaddows Growing Wings -
 07/09/2005 01:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

yep. With more than one version of F@H running you need to install them in different directories, and then assign different machine ID's I believe to each core. Thats what I did with my dual 2.8 Pentium D.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information