AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: In team conquests
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/24/2005 07:22 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 51 52 53 54 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/08/2011 05:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

Yea i just finally got linux installed on the new system, have the client installed too, just havent actually started it. So hopefully it will produce more in linux then windows.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 05/08/2011 09:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

Originally posted by: Domma

@MU_Engineer: Congrats! No. 1!

@cvsi3: From MU_Engineers sig I'd say he's running strait linux (Gentoo). You can run linux via VMware but it will run better strait (more ppd).


My sig is outdated, but you are correct, I run Linux. I originally ran the Windows client on Linux using WINE since there were no bigadv WUs for the native Linux client. The introduction of the new A3 WUs brought bigadv WUs back to the native Linux client as well as a near-doubling of ppd, so I run that now.

-------------------------
 05/08/2011 12:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ed6698
Overclocker

Posts: 927
Joined: 07/20/2005

Congratulations on the obtaining the #1 spot MU.
 05/10/2011 04:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

So far Ive just been running a standard SMP client in Linux, running the A3 cores and it hasnt had any increase in PPD over windows, Im producing 33K PPD on standard SMP.
The only thing so far thats better is i can overclock it higher and keep it stable in linux vs windows. Ive already tested that earlier.

Gonna give a BigAdv unit a try in Linux and see how it does compared to Windows. Currently running at 4.7Ghz on 8 Threads, In windows at that speed i was getting about 50K PPD on a bigadv.
Lets see how she goes lol.

Edit: Well after about 2 hours of running a BigAdv, its getting 54651 PPD on Project 2684
@ 29min 42 sc per frame.

Bumped it up a little bit more, to 4.9Ghz, now getting 57K PPD on the same WU. So Linux might actually be a bit faster.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation

Edited: 05/11/2011 at 02:33 AM by cvsi3
 06/19/2011 03:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ed6698
Overclocker

Posts: 927
Joined: 07/20/2005

I about fell over when I saw a wu completed by MU.

313,132 for 1 wu. Now that is crazy. What kind of system is that run on to get a wu like that and how long does it take to complete?
 06/24/2011 09:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

Well he does have a 16 core machine with 16gb ram. Looking at his stats around 3-4 days for that.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 06/25/2011 08:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

There are apparently some new and absolutely huge WUs out there. The p6903s are the biggest ones I've seen and they take a little over three days for my dual Opteron 6128 machine to complete. They yield somewhere around 300k points, giving around 90k ppd using the native Linux client.

BTW, if you don't hear me reply for a long time, I changed ISPs and the e-mail I used to use does not work. I get an error in trying to access my profile so I can't change the address

-------------------------
 06/26/2011 03:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

Im gonna have to see if i can get me one of them new ones just to see what this 2600k can do with it lol.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 08/16/2012 11:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

I decided to load up F@H on my new rigs. If I get them up and running at one time, I will have 3 AMD FX 8120's cranking some WU's out. I suppose I could get the 7970's in gear too....

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » Distributed Computing » In team conquests

<< 51 52 53 54 Previous Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information