AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: tinkers
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/16/2005 09:10 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/16/2005 09:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
action man
Moderator

Posts: 3572
Joined: 10/12/2003

im being hit by tinker after tinker lately... really slowing me down! anyone else getting all tinkers or is it just me?

-------------------------
MODERATOR
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.


Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?
 03/16/2005 10:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
VIPER-X
Senior Member

Posts: 967
Joined: 10/23/2004

nope I keep getting gromacs core ones..just you

-------------------------
YOU CAN RUN. . . .YOU'LL JUST DIE TIRED
Athlon64 3500+ NewCastle Thermaltake Venus 12 HSF Lapped and useing Arctic Silver 5,Antec NeoPower 480 PSU,Pioneer DVD burner
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D
TWINX1024-3200XL latency values of 2-2-2-5
ATI Radeon X800 256mg (256bit memory interface)
2 120GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 SATA in RAID 0
 03/16/2005 11:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
klrk1400
Senior Member

Posts: 962
Joined: 11/04/2003

Two of my machines consistantly get Tinkers.

-------------------------

Folding for Team #34106' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showforum=27
 03/16/2005 12:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

I just got started on another tinker.

After a few Amber and Gromacs I've been having.

-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 03/16/2005 05:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelToAMD
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 02/19/2005

Lately, I have been. It's taking longer to run Tinkers for 240 points than Gromacs for 600 points. Now I ask you, where is the equity in that?

Peter

-------------------------
System Specs:
AMD Athlon 64 3500+, MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum, 2 Gigs of Kingston PC3200 DDR RAM @ 2-2-2-6
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, Sound Blaster Audigy 24-bit
2 - 200 Gig WD hard drives 7200 RPM with 16 MB cache, 2 - 40 Gig WD hard drives 7200 RPM with 8 MB cache
Antec Case with a 430 Watt PSU, 2 - LG Super Multi DVD Recorder including DVD-RAM
250 MB Zip Drive & Old Faithful - A floppy drive
 03/16/2005 06:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
action man
Moderator

Posts: 3572
Joined: 10/12/2003

yeah thats wat im on about... they take longer for less points... now i dont mind doing them as they all help the cause but surely a little point adjustment would be amiss here?


-------------------------
MODERATOR
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.


Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?
 03/18/2005 06:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Datsun1600
Member

Posts: 77
Joined: 10/07/2003

You do have the -advmethods flag in the shortcut? If you only ticked for large Work Units in the GUI you won't get the big pointers as Stanford Servers need to see the -advmethods flag theses days.

Cheers
Datsun 1600

-------------------------
Folding as IbeFolding2 Folding and overclocking on: 4 x 9800GTs and a Q9450.
 03/18/2005 09:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelToAMD
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 02/19/2005

Thanks Datsun1600.

Regards.

Peter

-------------------------
System Specs:
AMD Athlon 64 3500+, MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum, 2 Gigs of Kingston PC3200 DDR RAM @ 2-2-2-6
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, Sound Blaster Audigy 24-bit
2 - 200 Gig WD hard drives 7200 RPM with 16 MB cache, 2 - 40 Gig WD hard drives 7200 RPM with 8 MB cache
Antec Case with a 430 Watt PSU, 2 - LG Super Multi DVD Recorder including DVD-RAM
250 MB Zip Drive & Old Faithful - A floppy drive
 03/18/2005 12:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
action man
Moderator

Posts: 3572
Joined: 10/12/2003

yea ive got the advmethods flagged on my a64 rig.. i was still being hit by tinkers tho.. gone back to getting gromacs now tho

-------------------------
MODERATOR
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.


Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?
 03/19/2005 01:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

i know tinkers take a long time, so wouldn't that mean they're worth more points?

-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
 03/19/2005 07:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Datsun1600
Member

Posts: 77
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (someone124 @ Mar 18 2005, 09:17 PM) i know tinkers take a long time, so wouldn't that mean they're worth more points?
Ahhhhhhhh no.

You have to remember the big Work Units are worth double points, so it is only when you get normal Gromacs and Tinkers do you see the points drop.

Datsun 1600

-------------------------
Folding as IbeFolding2 Folding and overclocking on: 4 x 9800GTs and a Q9450.
 03/19/2005 06:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

but............im working on a gromac now and it is 1000 frames on my AXP 2400+ and it is 54 seconds a frame, so it gets finished about the same speed as another WU b/c frames take a shorter time, but there are more of them

i don't have a clue

-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
 03/20/2005 09:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Datsun1600
Member

Posts: 77
Joined: 10/07/2003

Download EMIII from here.' ">http://www.em-dc.com/ It is a monitoring program for F@H.

Cheers
Datsun 1600

-------------------------
Folding as IbeFolding2 Folding and overclocking on: 4 x 9800GTs and a Q9450.
 03/20/2005 03:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

if i wanted to moniter it can't i just go to the icon next to the clock and right click on it and go to display?

eeeee im confused

-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
 03/20/2005 05:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelToAMD
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 02/19/2005

Datsun 1600... I added the -advmethods under the Properties area for the shortcut. I just finished a 364 pointer and now have Project Number 736. It is for a whopping 128 points.

Yee Haw.

Oh well.

Peter

-------------------------
System Specs:
AMD Athlon 64 3500+, MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum, 2 Gigs of Kingston PC3200 DDR RAM @ 2-2-2-6
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, Sound Blaster Audigy 24-bit
2 - 200 Gig WD hard drives 7200 RPM with 16 MB cache, 2 - 40 Gig WD hard drives 7200 RPM with 8 MB cache
Antec Case with a 430 Watt PSU, 2 - LG Super Multi DVD Recorder including DVD-RAM
250 MB Zip Drive & Old Faithful - A floppy drive
 03/21/2005 04:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Datsun1600
Member

Posts: 77
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (IntelToAMD @ Mar 20 2005, 01:51 PM) Datsun 1600... I added the -advmethods under the Properties area for the shortcut. I just finished a 364 pointer and now have Project Number 736. It is for a whopping 128 points.

Yee Haw.

Oh well.

Peter
Yeah, well I am getting a mixture of Tinkers, small point Gromacs and big pointers, and a couple of my P4's have the QMD WU's, that if you have two clients and the OS using 660Mb of 1Gb RAM.

You still need the -advmethods flag in the shortcut to have a chance at getting the big pointers.

QUOTE if i wanted to moniter it can't i just go to the icon next to the clock and right click on it and go to display?
The good thing about EMIII is that is tells you when the WU finishes, the frame time and it keeps a record of WU's done, as well as other trivia.

Cheers
Datsun 1600

-------------------------
Folding as IbeFolding2 Folding and overclocking on: 4 x 9800GTs and a Q9450.
 03/24/2005 05:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
VIPER-X
Senior Member

Posts: 967
Joined: 10/23/2004

I have a tinker now after about 20hrs I have 70 frames to go I will be glad when this one is done.

-------------------------
YOU CAN RUN. . . .YOU'LL JUST DIE TIRED
Athlon64 3500+ NewCastle Thermaltake Venus 12 HSF Lapped and useing Arctic Silver 5,Antec NeoPower 480 PSU,Pioneer DVD burner
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D
TWINX1024-3200XL latency values of 2-2-2-5
ATI Radeon X800 256mg (256bit memory interface)
2 120GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 SATA in RAID 0
 04/08/2005 06:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

ugh i am working on a big tinker.

400 frames, taking like 6 minutes 30 seconds on each frame, it's painfully slow

my 2400+ is also painfuly slow

-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
 04/08/2005 06:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

I've been getting slammed with Gromacs lately.

I just finished one, and just started on another...

-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 04/08/2005 09:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

gromacs are fast tho, but they are big...unless i've only gotten easy gromacs

-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » Distributed Computing » tinkers

1 2 Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information