AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: New SMP Client for Windows...
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/27/2007 09:30 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/12/2007 11:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
action man
Moderator

Posts: 3572
Joined: 10/12/2003

yep they are all there. im doing p2610 6 hours now and no progress

-------------------------
MODERATOR
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.


Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?
 05/12/2007 12:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

You did see 2 lines of text when you ran install.bat yes? You created a password and have net framework 2 and you did everything in the correct order? You are leaving the dos window open in the tool tray?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 05/12/2007 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
action man
Moderator

Posts: 3572
Joined: 10/12/2003

dont worry mate its working now. just needed to restart the machine. still takes around 38 minutes a frame though so lookig at around 600ppd.. no great improvement then

-------------------------
MODERATOR
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.


Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?
 05/12/2007 08:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

I'm on an FX60 here with 2 gig ram and I'm getting a frame time of 25 mins 40 seconds at the fastest. I wouldn't have thought you'd be far off that with a 4800+, maybe something still isn't quite right.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 05/13/2007 02:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
action man
Moderator

Posts: 3572
Joined: 10/12/2003

the wu i was doing crashed out at about 37%
its doing 2651 now at around 26minutes a frame which i think works out at around 900ppd. which is nice

-------------------------
MODERATOR
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.


Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?
 05/15/2007 07:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

I got my first p2651 yesterday. I'm doing a frame in a tad over 22 mins (FX60) for 1142ppd currently. This is by far the best SMP unit to get to work on points wise.

p2651 gave me 22min 11secs avg for 1142ppd.
p1652 gave me 18min 32secs avg for 891ppd.
p2610 gave me 26min 42secs avg for 821ppd.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 05/15/2007 12:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
action man
Moderator

Posts: 3572
Joined: 10/12/2003

2610 looks like it is very dependent on ram as my 4800+ takes around 39 minutes a frame. i have 1GB of ram and if i remember correctly you have 2GB with your fx60 TLH?

-------------------------
MODERATOR
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.


Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?
 05/15/2007 01:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

Yep 2gb which would seem to be making the difference as there is only 200mhz between our cpu's. I've been reading how cache dependant these are aswell at Stanford. Some fella was going to post how tighter ram timings would/would not make up for his lack of cache once he'd compared before and after. Interesting to find out one way or the other.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 05/15/2007 02:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
action man
Moderator

Posts: 3572
Joined: 10/12/2003

might not be the amount of memory thats slowing me down. for some reason i cant get my ram to run at its proper speed. best i can get is 133MHz tried ocz platinum rev2 and some crucial ballistix but no joy. looks like the motherboard.

anyway im running the smp client on the fx60 now as well with 1GB ram, and that ram IS at its correct speed so we should find out for sure if its spped or amount of ram that counts

-------------------------
MODERATOR
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.


Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?
 05/15/2007 03:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

So you've put your gpu's into retirement for the meantime then? I've read some posts of people running the gpu client alongside the SMP. I think with deadlines as they are now though it wouldn't benefit us at the minute.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 05/15/2007 03:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
action man
Moderator

Posts: 3572
Joined: 10/12/2003

not really into retirement as i still game on them.

grrrr thats really annoying! when i reply to a post i expect the cursor to be in the message box not the title box!!!!!!!

-------------------------
MODERATOR
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.


Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?
 06/20/2007 07:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Datsun1600
Member

Posts: 77
Joined: 10/07/2003

Originally posted by: action man

2610 looks like it is very dependent on ram as my 4800+ takes around 39 minutes a frame. i have 1GB of ram and if i remember correctly you have 2GB with your fx60 TLH?


Actually the p2610 is dependent on cache, a 2Mb Conroe takes 29 hours and a 4Mb Conroe takes 20 hours at the same clock speed, to finish that work unit.

Datsun 1600

-------------------------
Folding as IbeFolding2 Folding and overclocking on: 4 x 9800GTs and a Q9450.
 08/29/2007 10:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MikeB12
Senior Member

Posts: 2452
Joined: 07/14/2007

Frame times:

x2 6000 (4GB 6400 ddr2) = 24 minutes/frame- smp client defaults
p2610 - 1523points - 40hr

x2 4600 (2GB 5300 ddr2) = 27 minutes/frame - smp client defaults
p2653 - 1710points - 45hr

2.8GHz Intel P4 HT (2Gb 3200 ddr2) = 39 minutes/frame- smp client defaults
p2652 - 1148points - 65hr

Sempron 3300 (2GB 3200 DDR) = 41 minutes/frame - console client defaults
p2422 - 500points - 68hr

I had some trouble with the SMP client deleting work assignments. I lost a large WU that was 71 percent complete. Til I finally figured out: If the program was closed for whatever reason; I had to kill all instances (or reboot to kill them), then run install.bat to authenticate mpi again, then run fah.exe

I tried just launching fah.exe when the program was accidently closed. And it displayed "working" then "deleting work unit" (followed by me cussing), and downloaded a new WU. doh! It also caused problems by launching like 8 instances of the core in task mgr processes. So after lesson learned. If the program is closed for whatever reason. Kill all, install.bat, fah.exe - and it'll pickup where it left off and not scrap the whole current WU...

I'm sure yall probably knew this, But me being a noob at folding. Thought other noobs might save the frustration of watching over 24hrs of folding go deleted-wasted...

-------------------------
*Q6600@3330mhz 1.35v - True120 | Abit IP35pro | 2x2GB Gskil | 2 x EVGA GTS 250- shader 1890 | Corsair HX520 | OCZ Vertex 60GB/Seagate 7200.11 500GB
*x4 810@3250mhz 1.32v - Xigmatek S1283 | MSI K9A2 CF-F 790X | 2x1GB Kingston HyperX | 2 x MSI GTS 250- shader 1890 | Antec EW 500
*Q6600@3330mhz 1.36v - Scythe Mugen | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L | 2x1GB Ballistx | XFX GTX 260 (192) shader 1512 | OCZ Stealth 500w


Edited: 08/29/2007 at 09:44 PM by MikeB12
 08/31/2007 02:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
evanesce69
Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 01/07/2007

MikeB12

Those X2's are 64 bit dual cores right???

d/l and install a 64bit linux distro and intall it on an empty partition, It'll be FUN!

my X2 4200+ gives 1760 points for a p2653 @ 31min/frame

while browsing the web, listening to music and maybe ripping a CD or two....

Never a Crash!


LINUX IS AWSOME!!!

-------------------------
Athlon 64X2 4200+ Asus A8V 1G Patriot FC7 2.6.20-2925.9.fc7xen 200G Maxtor SATA
Sempron 2.2G BioStar 512M Win2K pro 40G WD IDE
Dell D3000 2.4G Celeron 1.24G WinXP 34G Maxtor
 08/31/2007 05:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MikeB12
Senior Member

Posts: 2452
Joined: 07/14/2007

LOL! yeah, I'd like to...
I'm a linux clutz, I ran ubuntu and PClinuxOS on the sempron to play a couple times... I noticed last time I played with it a couple months ago, they picked up my wireless card automatically which made me smile. A couple years ago, I remember having to go through ndiswrapper... I reinstalled xpsp2 on it to give to my brother, then he bought a new comp, so I kept the sempron and just left xp on it.

The x2's, I'm using Vista 64 on the 6000 (which is my comp, and I just installed vista64 a couple weeks ago), the 4600 I built for my parents and they have enough trouble with xp (lol!), so linux to them would be like leading a horse to water and watching it not drink... I have enough of a time trying to keep the smp client on that one running, as it gets "accidently" closed,, aahhhemmm... at least I figured out how to make it pick back up where it left off and not scrap wu's... which was not the case earlier this week when I started the clients... I lost several wu's on that box...

It's a nice thought though.. When I retire one of the dual core boxes, I'll definitely switch it to a linux distro and let it run 24/7 on the smp...

-------------------------
*Q6600@3330mhz 1.35v - True120 | Abit IP35pro | 2x2GB Gskil | 2 x EVGA GTS 250- shader 1890 | Corsair HX520 | OCZ Vertex 60GB/Seagate 7200.11 500GB
*x4 810@3250mhz 1.32v - Xigmatek S1283 | MSI K9A2 CF-F 790X | 2x1GB Kingston HyperX | 2 x MSI GTS 250- shader 1890 | Antec EW 500
*Q6600@3330mhz 1.36v - Scythe Mugen | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L | 2x1GB Ballistx | XFX GTX 260 (192) shader 1512 | OCZ Stealth 500w
 08/31/2007 02:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
evanesce69
Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 01/07/2007

yeah, I always use linux, the other 3 folders I have run the windows clients as they are either M$ xp or 2k (i.e. wife and childrens pc's)

I've been looking at a new setup for myself though, socket L1 (1207FX) duallie just waiting for the quad core chips

-------------------------
Athlon 64X2 4200+ Asus A8V 1G Patriot FC7 2.6.20-2925.9.fc7xen 200G Maxtor SATA
Sempron 2.2G BioStar 512M Win2K pro 40G WD IDE
Dell D3000 2.4G Celeron 1.24G WinXP 34G Maxtor
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information