AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Athlon 7750 heat problem
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/18/2009 11:10 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/18/2009 11:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
iliyan stoev
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/18/2009

Hi all.
For 3 days i have Athlon 7750 BE box with cooler. It works good , but the temperature of the processor is always very high (between 55-65 C). wen I turn on the PC the temperature starts from 34-35 C and for 1 minute ir rize to 45 C and the fan 3180 RPM. When I start a heavy application (for example: NFS Undercover), the temperature rizing to 65 C for about 3 minutes and the fan over 4000 RPM.
Nothing on the system is overclocked. The processor is working at the right frecuensy and voltage 2700MHz/3,28-3,30V, core: 1,39-1,41V
Please if anyone knows, tell me if this is normal working temperature for this processor, and if it is not... what can be the problem.
Here is information for my system:
motherboard: ASUS M3N78, BIOS vertion 0216 updated on 06/18/08
chipset: nvidia geforce 8200
power: Codegen 400W
processorualCore AMD Athlon Black Edition 7750 2700MHz
cooler: box with processor


I want to be excuzed for my poor english and please do not mentioned if I have any sintaxis errors
 02/18/2009 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Are you using the stock heatsink/fan that came with your 7750?
First of all, your heatsink might not be seated properly.
I would remove the heatsink, clean up all of the old thermal grease, then apply Arctic Silver 5 or MX-2, then re-attach the heatsink.
Also, your CPU core voltage seems high.
I believe the 7750 voltage range is 1.20 - 1.25 volts.
If you can, lower your CPU core voltage to 1.25 and then monitor your temps again.
Note: You may not be able to change the CPU core voltage with your M3N78 (like my M3A78).
And last, your system might be under stress, a 400w PSU could be borderline for your power needs.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 02/18/2009 11:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
iliyan stoev
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/18/2009

Thanks for advise. I wil try to decrease CPU voltage. If I can't, or if it have no effect I will change the power. Please taell me on what temperature works your 7750 and is this temperature stabile
 02/18/2009 03:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

I use Cool & Quiet for normal, day-to-day tasks....I idle between 38-40c.
When I'm gaming, I disable Cool & Quiet, my temp never goes above 56c.
And if you note in my sig, this is with my 7750 overclocked to 3.2 GHz.
Although the rated temp for the 7750 is 70c, don't allow it to ever go above 61-62c.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 02/25/2009 01:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jtegland
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/25/2009

I'm haviong the same problem, but worse.
Idle 52c
cpu fan 3325rpm
ASUS M3N78-EM
Vcore 1.39 -1.41
I thinks Vcore may be the problem.
the spec is 1.05 - 1.325v

http://products.amd.com/en-us/...=&f6=&f7=&f8=&f9=&f10=
 02/25/2009 04:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Did you disable Q-fan (or Smart fan) in the Bios?
Then try running Cool & Quiet for all of your tasks, even gaming.
I have a real issue with these ASUS boards:
No option to adjust the CPU Vcore, they run on auto and in the highest range allowable (1.39 - 1.41v).

This is why our 7750's are running hot, but 52c idle is way too high!

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 02/25/2009 11:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nmcxkj
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/25/2009

Your motherboard not support your new CPU ,you should change a new motherboard,and you can try to update your bios,
770seriel is good .
chinese countryside boy

Edited: 02/25/2009 at 11:08 PM by nmcxkj
 02/26/2009 03:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: nmcxkj

Your motherboard not support your new CPU ,you should change a new motherboard,and you can try to update your bios,

770seriel is good .

chinese countryside boy


Very good point, your motherboard should support the 7750.
Just to be sure, check ASUS's website under CPU support for your MB.
If ok, this is a newer CPU, you will probably need to update your Bios.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/09/2009 05:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jtegland
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/25/2009

Looks like I am going to be getting a new motherboard. Asus support had me flash the bios back down to 502 and try again and said if that doesn't work contact them for an RMA.
 03/09/2009 11:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jtegland
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/25/2009

Not so fast here is the fix:

http://support.amd.com/us/Page...9dc646342f&ItemID=105

Install AMD Power Monitor and change the settings from High perf to power save or balanced. When I went to power save voltage drops and temp dropped from 52c to 39c in just a few minutes.
 03/09/2009 03:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Cool & Quiet does the same thing!

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/10/2009 08:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mike48178
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/10/2009

I have the same problem with an MSI K9A2 CF board it runs the cor at 1.4 volts and this board is listed on MSI as supporting this CPU and AMD lists this as a recommended motherboard for this CPU I'm going to get a better cooler for mine but I would rely like to get the core voltage down to where it's supposed to be.

-------------------------
Antec 300
MSI K9A2 CF
Kuma 7750
Two Diamond Viper 3870
120 gig. Seagate
Antec Earthwatts 650
 03/11/2009 06:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zeifer
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/11/2009

Okay, you guys are gonna love me. I have the ASUS M3A78 motherboard, and I was plagued with the high voltage of 1.4v on my 7750, causing my temps to be high.

Until I found...AMD Overdrive. It allows you to change the voltage. Schwing!



As you can see, I set my voltage to 1.15 and SpeedFan shows 1.23 - 1.25v. It also lowered my temps a few degrees.

Sorry about the size. Imageshack didn't wanna work right.

Download AMD Overdrive Here.

Edited: 03/11/2009 at 07:10 PM by Zeifer
 03/14/2009 12:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
morbidbc
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/11/2009

i had issues with my temp not reading right and i have seen others in the forums report the same. mine read far to low perhaps others are reading to high ?
 03/14/2009 10:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PavlosA
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/14/2009

I've got the same processor on a M3A78 Asus motherboard (non-pro version). BIOS flashed to latest.

Had issues with the stock cooler, 40-41 C at idle and on prime 95+ I reached 68 C (and killed prime 95 immediately lol).

Reseated the heatsink with some new thermal paste but the outcome was not great either.

Got an Arctic Cooling freezer pro 64 PWM now. On the first try the idle temp was at around 30...but Iguess that was just because the machine had not been stressed yet.

Now CPU idles at 37-39 or so and peaks at 53 or so. Core temps are at 19 when idle. Cool and quiet enabled, Asus q-fan enabled to drop the fan RPMs to 1900 when idling.

Motherboard temperature (NB) is at 34 C. Case is a standard 2 fan design (1 intake 1 exhaust).

Tried the AMD Overdrive thingy with the voltage, not sure if it helped to be honest.
 03/14/2009 07:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Yeah, I have the Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro with my 7750: idle (38-40c) and load (up to 56c).
Since it's so quiet, I keep it running at full throttle (2400-2500 RPM) all the time.
The stock HSF is worthless, but if you have a very well ventilated case, it should work marginally.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/14/2009 09:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bbcs62
Member

Posts: 56
Joined: 03/01/2009

Originally posted by: NemesisChild

Yeah, I have the Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro with my 7750: idle (38-40c) and load (up to 56c).

Since it's so quiet, I keep it running at full throttle (2400-2500 RPM) all the time.

The stock HSF is worthless, but if you have a very well ventilated case, it should work marginally.


Are those temps with the stock or overclocked multis?

So far my 7750 is running fairly cool at stock settings. Running Prime 95 got me up into the mid 50s with ambient temp at about 70 degrees. Right now in a cool room I'm idling at 29 degrees on a stock cooler.

I'm going to upgrade the cooler regardless, cheap insurance once I start bumping the speed up. When I went to a 15 multi it only raised temps a couple degrees on Prime 95.
 03/15/2009 03:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PavlosA
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/14/2009

The idle temps are with Cool n' Quiet enabled, which drops the frequency to 1350 MHz

Load temps are with the processor overclocked to 2.9 GHz (via multiplier increase by one unit). As the thermal paste settles I get a bit better results, idle 36-40 and load 54 C.
 03/15/2009 09:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: NemesisChild

Yeah, I have the Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro with my 7750: idle (38-40c) and load (up to 56c).

Since it's so quiet, I keep it running at full throttle (2400-2500 RPM) all the time.

The stock HSF is worthless, but if you have a very well ventilated case, it should work marginally.


Are those temps with the stock or overclocked multis?

So far my 7750 is running fairly cool at stock settings. Running Prime 95 got me up into the mid 50s with ambient temp at about 70 degrees. Right now in a cool room I'm idling at 29 degrees on a stock cooler.

I'm going to upgrade the cooler regardless, cheap insurance once I start bumping the speed up. When I went to a 15 multi it only raised temps a couple degrees on Prime 95.

Those temps are with my 7750 overclocked at 3.2GHz.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/19/2009 01:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blindfusion
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/19/2009

I just put together my new computer and I felt like the temps were a little high. I seem to be in the same boat as many of you
so I thought I'd check in here. I just plugged it in to see if it would POST and I've got temps of 55c with it just sitting here in BIOS.

Is it the voltage that's the problem? Or does the stock cooler just not manage to cool well?

I was slightly worried that I messed up the AS5 install (Much different from the Socket A)

Athlon 7750 BE on stock cooler w/ AS5
ASUS M3A78
Corsair 400W
Cooler Master Elite 341
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information