AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Athlon 7750 heat problem
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/18/2009 11:10 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/19/2009 02:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

55c at idle while in the bios is extremely hot, you should be in the high 30's to low 40's.
Re-seat your HSF in the following manner:
Remove the old AS5 from your HSF and your 7750 with 90% rubbing alcohol to clean both thoroughly.
Then re-apply AS5 to the center of the CPU (they recommend 3/4 the size of a BB).
As you can see, it only takes a small amount of AS5 to be effective.
Set the HSF directly on top of the CPU, then slightly twist it in both directions, then clamp it down.

Leave the processor voltage & processor NB voltage on auto in the bios.

Note: The M3A78 bios does not allow you to manually set the voltage!

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/20/2009 10:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PavlosA
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/14/2009

@Blindfusion

As stated earlier in this thread, the stock cooler is not really good, but your temps are probably a little higher than they should, even with this cooler. Try resitting the heatsink for now, until you get a quality cooler. Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 64 PWM works like a charm for me, it's easy to install (no need to remove the motherboard), it's quiet and comes at a decent price.

As for the voltage of the M3A78, it might be causing a bit more heat, but definitely not that much..

I am in contact with ASUS support concerning the voltage issue and they don't seem to understand that the only way for it to be fixed is for them to come up with a BIOS update ::sigh::. Will keep you posted if I learn anything...

UPDATE: Asus told me that the issue will be fixed in a future BIOS update. Let's wait and see

Edited: 03/20/2009 at 12:14 PM by PavlosA
 03/20/2009 02:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Havoc27
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/20/2009

I am also experiencing some temp issues but cannot for the life of me figure out what the dealio is . My concerns are as followed ..


Asus M3A78-CM Board

Amd 7750 Black edition

Coolermaster V8 Cpu Cooler


Cores are idling anywhere from 14c to 20c at the desktop , haven't checked on a load yet as I recently just got the system built . There should be no reason why they are idling that high with a cpu cooler of that magnitude and I have reseated the cooler not once but twice using arctic silver 5 with no change in results , the only thing I can think of is that I used too much thermal compound , I put a blob in the center and just spread it out as evenly as I could .

I have not updated the bios yet , Cool and Quiet is enabled I believe but not 100% sure as I'm at work right now so I obviously cannot check and I believe the voltage is set at 1.35v .

Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated , starting to concern me a bit considering the system is less than 4 days old .

I would also just like to add that the cpu is NOT oc'd , and the bios temp reads at 38- 40 , should not be idling anywhere near that high with that cpu cooler I have .
 03/20/2009 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

First of all, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND that you update your bios since the 7750 is a relatively new CPU.

Do you really think 14-20c at idle is high?
The reading is incorrect and I'm not sure why the cores show that in some applications.
So that we can compare results, install HWMonitor, here's the link:

http://www.cpuid.com/hwmonitor.php


Now, don't bother with the Core #0 and Core #1 temps (they're not accurate).
Your actual CPU temp will be under the Temperature (not the 7750) listing, probably TMPIN0 (or TMPIN1).

And yes, the 7750 will idle at 38-40c, that's not unusual.
Also, keep in mind that AS5 has about a 200 hour "break in" period.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/20/2009 03:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Havoc27
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/20/2009

Originally posted by: NemesisChild

First of all, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND that you update your bios since the 7750 is a relatively new CPU.



Do you really think 14-20c at idle is high?

The reading is incorrect and I'm not sure why the cores show that in some applications.

So that we can compare results, install HWMonitor, here's the link:



">http://www.cpuid.com/hwmonitor.php





Now, don't bother with the Core #0 and Core #1 temps (they're not accurate).

Your actual CPU temp will be under the Temperature (not the 7750) listing, probably TMPIN0 (or TMPIN1).



And yes, the 7750 will idle at 38-40c, that's not unusual.

Also, keep in mind that AS5 has about a 200 hour "break in" period.



Ok , when I get off work I'll go home and install that program as you asked , update the bios then I'll get in touch with you on here and see where I'm currently at . Thanks alot for the help so far
 03/20/2009 09:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Havoc27
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/20/2009

Well I have updated the bios , installed HW Monitor and when I go into the bios to lower the cpu voltage the only options it gives me are as followed .

Ignored
Auto


Voltage is running at 1.39V

Should be in the 1.25V range from what I understand . Used AMD overdrive to lower the voltage , applied and saved the changes , restarted and they are now back to 1.39V .

Any ideas ?
 03/21/2009 07:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PavlosA
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/14/2009

Try the CPU configuration menu under 'advanced', not the HW monitor in the BIOS.

Though reading the manual, page 2-12, I get the impression that you can't lower the voltage either.

If you use AMD Overdrive I guess the solution would be to make a profile and ask the program to apply those settings at Windows boot, in order to get the voltage down.
 03/21/2009 03:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: Havoc27

Well I have updated the bios , installed HW Monitor and when I go into the bios to lower the cpu voltage the only options it gives me are as followed .



Ignored

Auto





Voltage is running at 1.39V



Should be in the 1.25V range from what I understand . Used AMD overdrive to lower the voltage , applied and saved the changes , restarted and they are now back to 1.39V .



Any ideas ?


Your ASUS board may not allow you to adjust the voltage to a specific setting.
If that's the case, just leave it on auto (don't set it to over voltage).
Unfortunately, on auto, the 7750 will run at 1.39-1.41 volts.
This will add more heat to the processor, but it's max. limit is 73c.
As I said earlier, the temps will come down once the AS5 breaks in.

Regarding AMD Overdrive, did you apply & save changes on start-up?

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/22/2009 02:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Seaberry
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/22/2009

Great! Just bought the 7750 (yesterday as upgrade from old 3800+) for my 4-week old ASUS V2-M3N8200 barebone, and now find out that it may be a problem. My mobo says that it is a M3N78-VM/V, but the closest listing under ASUS is a M3N78-VM which show a different BIOS. Navigating the ASUS and AMD sites have been a pain...heck, it took me hours to finally find the specs for the 7750 on AMD's own site. Forget about just entering AMD Athlon 64 X2 7750 or AD775ZWCGHBOX or 7750 B3 95 W in the search window for quick access to the product and its specs!?!

Anyway, I'm just venting whilst waiting - and now worrying - for it to arrive (Wed or Thurs), after discovering that "Keep it simple, Stupid" doesn't apply to such mobo terms like Socket AM2+/AM2 or a processor term like Socket AM2+ for some reason. Well, maybe it will work fine, since my voltage stays at or near 1.28 with the 3800+.
 03/23/2009 11:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Yeah, AMD recently changed their support website layout and it really does suck!
Regarding your mobo, is this on an OEM computer (like Dell or HP)?
If so, the only hope that you have is that the newer bios update from the OEM manufacturer would support the 7750.
If not, you would need the latest ASUS bios update, just to make sure that the 7750 is supported with your board.

Good luck and post back here after your 7750 is up & running!

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/23/2009 05:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Seaberry
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/22/2009

ASUS has a CSM mobo - M3N78-VM ... mine looks the same (including specs other than BIOS) but mine has a /V, i.e. M3N78-VM/V. I think that means the ASUS barebone V-series, i.e. V2-M3N8200. I've upgraded to the newest BIOS - Version 0501 2009/01/22. The M3N78-VM newest is a Version 0907 2009/01/24...two days difference. I'm not a gamer, but do enjoy tinkering with my computers, so this system is over-kill for what I need...heeheeeheheee. The 7750 shipped today, should be here Wed or Thurs, so I'll probably keep it even if it won't work yet...wait for an update for it and keep the 3800+ in til then. I think it will work...my cpu voltage @ 1.28 should be fine, and BIOS offers other settings. Have added a Thermaltake TMG2 (has PWM) cooler and two Arctic-Cooling PWN case fans that have stopped the noisy fan problems, and they work great linked together. May even try the over-clocking stuff for the first time...pretend I'm a gamer. ;-)

Thanks for the input, NemesisChild, and I will post an update when the 7750 arrives!
 03/24/2009 10:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nil Einne
Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 08/11/2006

Could someone who actually owns one of these confurm what the stock HSF is with the Athlon 7750 BE. Some people claim it's a pure aluminium one, some people claim it has heatpipes. I know AMD has both (the pure aluminium one is used with most Brisbanes, the heatpipe one with some Phenoms) so I'm trying to work out which one.

Cheers

Edited: 03/24/2009 at 11:11 AM by Nil Einne
 03/24/2009 12:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PavlosA
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/14/2009

It's pure aluminum.

It's fairly similar to those of the socket 939 processors. The fan has a 4 pin connector though.

Others here did get some semi-decent performance out of it, in my case though it was totally useless.
 03/26/2009 08:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Seaberry
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/22/2009

NemesisChild ... the 7750 hasn't arrived yet (due sometimes today), but here is the reply from "Chelsea He" at ASUS support:

"Hi, Since the 7750 is releasd for a long time, it has test with the barebone, but it can't use for it, so there won't be new BIOS to support the 7750 for the barebone! Sorry for all the inconvenience!"

Hate to waste it in a test-machine, so may send it back in unopened box, and get a quad for this barebone. I should've checked the support before buying it...
 03/26/2009 11:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

I'm sorry to hear that, just make sure your board will support the quad your considering before buying it!

Good luck..............

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 06/18/2009 09:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PavlosA
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/14/2009

The newest BIOS for this motherboard (v1606, available on Asus Website) fixes the voltage problem. Now it runs cooler
 06/18/2009 03:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: PavlosA

The newest BIOS for this motherboard (v1606, available on Asus Website) fixes the voltage problem. Now it runs cooler


Yeah, I just recently updated to it on my son's M3A78 board that has a 7750.
I have it overclocked to 3.2GHz, ran on auto at 1.39-1.41v.
Now, with +50mv, she runs in the 1.285-1.325v range and about 5c cooler.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 06/18/2009 07:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bbcs62
Member

Posts: 56
Joined: 03/01/2009

Originally posted by: NemesisChild

Originally posted by: PavlosA



The newest BIOS for this motherboard (v1606, available on Asus Website) fixes the voltage problem. Now it runs cooler [IMG][/IMG]




Yeah, I just recently updated to it on my son's M3A78 board that has a 7750.

I have it overclocked to 3.2GHz, ran on auto at 1.39-1.41v.

Now, with +50mv, she runs in the 1.285-1.325v range and about 5c cooler.


Being that I have the same board (CM version) and a 7750 in it I think a BIOS update is in order. It just so happens I've been running Prime95 for about an hour so I should be able to get a quick temp comparison too!
 06/20/2009 11:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sushain
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/20/2009

wats cool N Quiet option ?
 06/21/2009 02:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bbcs62
Member

Posts: 56
Joined: 03/01/2009

Originally posted by: sushain

wats cool N Quiet option ?


Cool and Quiet is an option in BIOS. It allows the CPU to be throttled back when not under load. By reducing the operating speed it reduces power consumption, heat, and if they are on automatic also the fan speeds.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information