AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Yup, another heating question haha... help!!!!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/09/2009 02:05 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/09/2009 02:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jandr020
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/09/2009

Ill try to describe my setup the best i can so maybe you all can identify the problem if there is one...

-AMD Athlon x2 socket AM2 64 6000
-Rosewill 550 watt power supply (2 fans)
-Thermaltake Gunmet Orb CPU cooler
-Geforce 9600 GT graphics card
-Asus M3A78-EM Motherboard
-4 case fans
-thermal compound applied (not sure what kind)
-600 gig hard drive/dvd rom drive
-2 2gig crucial memory
-mid tower case
-windows xp
-Pc Prob 2 temp readings/ also BIOS temp readings-

At idle my temps are anywhere from 48-58c
At a normal work load they are anywhere from 55-66c
At a heavy work load they are anywhere from 55-68c+
These are the temps for my processor, the temps for my motherboard are usually always 10 degrees cooler. I was wondering what the limit temp was on this processor, and what the normal temps should be... And if these are too high if you guys have any solutions to fixing the problem...
 03/09/2009 03:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Which version of the 6000+ do you have?
I have two versions, both have different max. operating temp specifications.
Your temps are definitely high, 68c+ is at the point of nuclear meltdown.
Several things come to mind right away:
Check the airflow of your case by removing the side panel, then monitor your temps.
Re-install the CPU heatsink and apply some good aftermarket compound like AS5.
Also, what is your current CPU Vcore voltage? If you give me the 6000+ model number, we can then check it's voltage specs.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/09/2009 04:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jandr020
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/09/2009

Ya, as of right now i usually leave the case side panel off with a fan blowing in it... Usually when im doing normal things like going on websites its around 48c... As im writing this right now im showing 1.41 vcore voltage, and 48c.. Is the model number the OPN? OPN=ADV6000DOBOX
 03/09/2009 04:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Here's a link to your 6000+ specifications:

http://products.amd.com/en-us/...&f9=2000&f10=No


Your vcore voltage is too high, try lowering (if you can) to 1.25 to 1.30v.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/09/2009 05:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jandr020
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/09/2009

thanks for the spec page, temps are def too high... i put the orginal heat sinc that the processor came with on just a little while ago and still running at about the same temps... cant figure out what the hell is going on..... How would i go about lowering the vcore voltage?
 03/09/2009 07:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Go into your bios, it should be under jumper free settings (CPU voltage).

Also, I highly recommend that you re-install your heatsink after fully removing the old thermal paste and re-applying a good aftermarket compound (like AS5).

And last, when was the last time you updated your ASUS bios?

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/09/2009 07:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jandr020
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/09/2009

The processors heat sink had pre-applied thermal paste on it, but im sure its nothing great so i ordered some Artic Silver 5 from new egg a few hours ago... I also did a bios update earlier too... Im gonna go ahead and see if i cant bring down the voltage, ill let you know if that helps.... Thanks for the information..
 03/09/2009 07:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jandr020
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/09/2009

Ok not sure what im supposed to change in here...

Under Jumper free configuration i went to Cpu Ratio and Voltage
-first there is "Processor Frequency Multiplier which is set to auto
-Processor Voltage is set to auto and the other three options are 50mv 100mv and 150mv
-processor nb voltage is set to auto and the other three options are 50mv 100mv and 150mv
 03/09/2009 08:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

OK, your processor voltage is locked like it is on my ASUS board (just leave at default, auto).
I'm afraid that you won't be able to lower the Vcore voltage through your bios.
However, you can do it through software (like AMD Overdrive), but I don't recommend doing it.
Most higher end boards allow you to set the voltage to a specific setting in the bios.

The bios update may help, since they typically include improvements (like better voltage control, etc.).

Funny, I also just ordered a new tube of AS5 from Newegg several days ago.

Keep in mind that there's a "break in" period after applying AS5, just go to their website and read up on it.

Good luck............

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/09/2009 08:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jandr020
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/09/2009

Tried AMD Overdrive, set vcore to 130, only dropped temp a few degrees anyway.... I guess ill just wait for the thermal paste to get here and see if that helps any... Thanks alot for the help and ill let you know how it goes
 03/09/2009 09:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Several other things came to mind:
Try enabling Cool & Quiet in the bios, then set to Minimal Power Management under Power Options in the Control Panel.
C&Q automatically reduces power consumption (cpu frequency and voltage) when idle or under light load.
Also, did you install the AMD dual core processor driver and dual core optimizer? (Both are recommended for XP).
Note: the processor driver is needed for Cool & Quiet to function properly.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/10/2009 12:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jandr020
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/09/2009

wow, the cool and quiet running on minimal power really helps.. idle temps are around 37-40c dled the drivers too... All this seems to of helped a lot.. thanks man ur good....
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information