AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Advice Needed
Topic Summary: Moving to Windows 7
Created On: 08/15/2010 03:14 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/15/2010 03:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BallasallaBoy
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/15/2010

Can anybody help? I'm very much in my dotage being well into my seventies, so don't be too technical with your replies!
In 2005 I built my own desktop PC based round an AMD Athlon 64 3000+ S939 1.8GHz processor. I use the System for photography[ Photoshop Elements 7], listening to my music collection, watching films & now TV, surfing the Web etc..
The main components are:-
M/bd Gigabyte GA-K8N Ultra 9
OS Windows XP Home Ed. + Service Pack 3
Mem 3072 MB Crucial Tech
HDD 2 x 120 GB Seagate Barracuda's 7200 SATA
Video Crucial Radeon X700 series
Sound Creative Aidigy 2.ZS Sound Blaster
I've decided to change my OS to Windows 7 Home Premium.
Question: Would my set-up be able to perform with the 64-bit setup?

BallasallaBoy
 08/19/2010 07:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
malmental
Newbie

Posts: 44
Joined: 05/28/2010

Yes, technically you can but....
No I wouldn't just make that move yet.
I suggest that you don't try the 64-bit version stay with 32-bit.
And there a few things that you will need to do to have a capable machine to run Win7 but,
there are more things to do to have a optimal machine.
Nothing special, just a few upgrades to what you already have if not wanting to buy or build new.

1.) Your processor is now outdated old crap, since you want to keep that motherboard with S939, upgrade that processor to a faster S939 socket.
1a.) with a little technical info about your processor and BIOS go to -
http://www.cpu-data.info/index.php?gr=2
http://www.cpu-data.info/index.php?gr=3
http://www.cpu-data.info/index.php?gr=4

Then update your BIOS to the latest version. Actually update BIOS first..!

2.) 3072MB of RAM is good for 32-bit, I suggest 4GB and not 3GB for 64-bit. Get one more anyways then think about 64-bit.
2a.) What type or should I say speed of the Crucial Tech memory.? Example, DDR2 PC2-4200 or PC2-5300 or what.?
I run 2x2GB sticks of memory to equal 4GB's of PC2-6400 @ 800MHZ, PC2-5300 @ 667MHZ was mostly the norm and even new then. Please verify.

3.) Radeon x700 video card, excellent card at the time,,,, not for Win7. Can't handle the advanced technology of today's graphics.
3a.) Since you like ATI, depending on your power supply shoot for something like an ATI HD 3000 or HD 4000 series.
If you have an AGP video card it might be harder for you to get new cards, there are a few but you might have to settle for a slightly older card.

-------------------------
1.) E521 - Athlon 64x2 6000+ (3.1) - Noctua NH-U9B - Artic Silver 5 - 4GB Elpida DDR2 PC2-6400 - nVidia GT 240 - Win7 x32
2.) Optiplex 740 ENHANCED - Athlon 64x2 5600+ (2.9) - Artic Silver 5 - 4GB Hynix DDR2 PC2-6400 - EVGA GeForce 8600GT - Win7 x32
3.) Optiplex 740 ENHANCED - Phenom X3 8750 (2.4) - Artic Silver 5 - 6GB Samsung PC2-6400 - xfx 8600GT oc - Win7 x64


Edited: 08/19/2010 at 07:26 PM by malmental
 08/27/2010 11:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
garethjones
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/27/2010

Yes I would also suggest you to stay with 32 bit version and upgrade RAM

-------------------------
AMD QuadCore 6600
 08/27/2010 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

I wouldn't call socket 939 old crap, many of us still own and operate S939 systems, plenty of people hold onto the S939 Opterons...

If you want to stay with S939 find a dual core Opteron, use two matched 2Gb sets of memory for 4Gb, yes I realize you will not see all of it.

Find yourself a newer video card.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 08/27/2010 04:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
J.P.
Fanboi

Posts: 69
Joined: 08/25/2010

939 has hit end of expected life.

Manufactures give a intended 3 year intended life span to most hardware.

But, I find the HDD,s and PSU,s to be the first to go in that 3 year time frame.

Seems like decent motherboards and CPU,s in the 939 range are still ticking along just fine even to this day.

Hard to say how much longer they would live.

That being said, your cpu would run better on linux over windows. Just a little FYI.

Install linux ubuntu ultimate 2.7 with a VM ware virtual box xp mode to run windows based apps. Use linux as the main OS and she would be fast again.

-------------------------
AMD 1090T x6 Hexa core - All 6 cores locked @ 3.6 Ghz
4 GB OCZ Reapers DDR 3 1600 7 7 7 24 - 9800 GT dedicated physx
2x Asus 5870 xfire - 875/1225 with Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 board
2x 1 TB Wester digital Blacks Sata III
Linux Ubuntu ultimate & Windows 7 gaming only

Laptop
Acer Timeline X Intel i5 540m 2.56 Ghz 3.06 Ghz max boost 13.3 12 hour run time - Linux Ubuntu Ultimate
 08/27/2010 07:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jsktx
Fanboi

Posts: 86
Joined: 07/24/2008

Run Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor. That will give you any indication if there is a problem with your system running Windows 7.

-------------------------
Dell Inspiron 531 - AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ 3.2Ghz - 8GB Dual-Channel DDR2 SDRAM 800MHz - WD 320GB 7200RPM SATA - ASUS GeForce 210 1GB Silent - LG GSA-H73N 16X CD/DVD+/-RW - Antec NeoPower 430W PSU - Windows 7 x64 SP1 - Dell 19" SE198WFP Widescreen Monitor

Dell Vostro 460 - Intel Core i7 2600 @ 3.4Ghz - 16GB Daul Channel DDR3 @ 1333Mhz - Kingston 240GB SATA III SSD - Seagate 320GB SATA HDD - 16X DVD-ROM - 16X DVD-RW - Windows 7 x64 SP1 - Dell E2211H 22" Widescreen Monitor
 08/28/2010 01:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

CPU support list: http://www.gigabyte.fr/Support...px?ProductID=1868&ver= That's the french site. Opteron 165 > 185 would be a good choice.

Also bear in mind the power requirement when upgrading. If you're upgrading cpu, memory and graphics a power supply upgrade may be necessary as well. So you have to do the sums before taking the plunge.

You could always try the 32 bit version which works ok with less memory. I was thinking of trying 32 bit Windows 7 on one of my ancient Socket A systems, although with only 1024MB it may be a bit sluggish.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w

Edited: 08/28/2010 at 02:34 AM by bogey
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information