AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 3500 Winchester core??
Topic Summary: What about OC'ing this chip??
Created On: 09/02/2010 09:34 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/02/2010 09:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
speedracer50-50
Lurker

Posts: 11
Joined: 08/31/2010

I have an Athlon64 3500+ processor. According to what I can find out it is a Winchester core. What I would like to know is if this proc is locked or unlocked, is it Overclockable and how stable it has been for other people!!!
Here are all the numbers on the die!!!
ADA3500DIK4BI
LBBID 0526RPMW
Z721954F50435

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!!! I know this is an older proc but just want to play with it till tax money gets back and can build my 1090t based system!!!
Thank You for your time and help!!!!
 09/02/2010 12:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

I still run a Winchester 3500+ on a biostar board, yes you can overclock it.
Stability of the OC depends more on the system as a whole, not just the CPU.
It should be unlocked for lower multipliers.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 09/07/2010 04:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
speedracer50-50
Lurker

Posts: 11
Joined: 08/31/2010

Ok!! Thanx!! What I have is the 3500+ on an MSI RD480 Neo2 mobo, an ATI X1600Pro Video Card, 2 gb of Kingston Ram and a Ultra Xfinity 600W PS!!! 1 IDE HDD, a 2 disk Raid Array(JBOD), 2 Optical Drives and a 120mm fan and copper heatsink w/ 2 extra 120's for xtra cooling!!!
I would like to see at least 2.6Ghz out of this chip!!! What do you think would be good settings to start with??(Will do all the OC'ing from the BIOS)!!!!
 09/08/2010 02:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Honestly, I do not OC, I just run them stock speed... yep, I'm boring...

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 10/07/2010 05:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
speedracer50-50
Lurker

Posts: 11
Joined: 08/31/2010

Thanx for the info!!!! Built a liquid cooling system for it and have seen 2.8 and 2.9Ghz stable clocks with Kingston HyperX ram!!! So far so good!!!!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information