AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: amd athlon 64x2 dual core 5200
Topic Summary: 0core running 70c hotter than 1 core
Created On: 12/06/2011 10:52 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/06/2011 10:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jigsawbill
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/06/2011

I have developed a random shutdown and have observed a 70 degree difference in dore temps. Any suggestions?
 12/06/2011 11:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Are both cores taking even load?

-------------------------
 12/06/2011 11:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jigsawbill
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/06/2011

I can't measure load, as the shutdowns are occurring to quickly now. When this first happened the hard drive quit powering up. They brought the machine to me and I got it running long enough to put new XP in another hdd and it would run for several hours, however it now barely boots up and shuts down, sometimes it won't even boot up. I have cleaned the heat sink and applied new compound, and it seems that when you disturb the heat sink, it will boot up and run for like 3 or 4 minutes. And the core temp sosmetimes jumps up to 170c
 12/06/2011 11:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Processor fan running OK? Any different if you run a live CD like e.g knoppix? Do the voltages in BIOS show correct values? Test with another PSU?

-------------------------
 12/06/2011 11:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jigsawbill
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/06/2011

I just got it running again and Core Temp has reversed the problem cores. Speed fan says 0 core is hot, core temp says 1 core is hot. According to core temp, core 1 is 97c and is taking 30% load
 12/06/2011 12:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jigsawbill
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/06/2011

Mercy me, I am only the neighborhood handy man, and I haven't been able to keep it running long enough to learn some of these things. Matter of fact it has shut down just now. One consistant thing is by wiggling the heat sink on cpu seems to make it start and run for a while. The cpu fan is running at 3300 and yes it is clean and runs. the core that seems okay runs at an average of 29 degrees cel. Oh this machine had a graphics card running at 140 degrees, which I pulled and it is running on built in video device.
 12/06/2011 12:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Could be a failing motherboard, voltage regulation beginning to fail. Do all capacitors look ok on the motherboard?

-------------------------
 12/06/2011 12:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jigsawbill
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/06/2011

all capacitors look very good, this is a very lightly used machine, but I am worried about what caused the hdd failure, it is a wd 2 terrabyte, and only 5 months old. I now have the machine running and has been for some 30 minutes or so, and so far all temps are like 29 thru34.
 12/06/2011 01:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jigsawbill
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/06/2011

Now I heard a slight clicking noise and it shut down, and try to start its like the cpu cooler fan was not installed. All fans come on and almost immediately they shut down, and power light up front blinks
 12/06/2011 01:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Time to try with another power supply, sounds like.

-------------------------
 03/29/2012 05:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
joe2378
Lurker

Posts: 9
Joined: 03/29/2012

I have a Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 6000+ Processor (3.0-GHz, 2x1MB L2 cache, 2000 MHz FSB) which came with a latch type of heatsink. I was the dumby that didn't the fine print on ebay. So the issue is that my comp is the regular joe schmoe HP DC5750 SFF and bought that CPU mentioned for a quick cost effective upgrade. That being said, knowing what type of computer I have and the CPU, anyone know what brand heatsink will fit in my comp besides the stock heatsink or what the part number is to the CPU mentioned. Please help!

-------------------------
saul j. gatica
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information