AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: What does the rev.C3 mean on this AMD Athlon IIX2 CPU
Topic Summary: Athlon IIX2 270(ADX270OCK23GM),3.4GHz,1MB,rev.C3,65W,SocketAM3
Created On: 08/07/2012 01:36 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/07/2012 01:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Adzam
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/07/2012

Hi All,

Please can somebody help me.?

I have a ASUS M2N68-AM Plus Mother Board, which at present has a Athlon IIX2 250 CPU installed in it running at 3000 mHz with 4GB RAM and has been running perfectly since the day I installed it. The MB is Revision 2.01G and the bios is 1003

I have just installed Windows 7 Ult 64-bit and a 2048 MB SDDR3 Nvidia GeForce GT620 Graphics card and it still seems to be running fine. Yay!

I want to install a ASUS Blu-Ray 3D DVD and when I looked on the box the small print said I need a xxxxx C69 ( won't mention the brand) 3400mHz or higher CPU. Not an option for me as it must be an AMD CPU. So I looked at the newer or other ASUS boards and can't find any with Vision 8 or Vision 10 AMD and then read that they are not available PC buillders at the moment. ASUS seems to have gone HDMI and 3D with the other brand CPUs such as i5 and i7, but I think I rather wait the AMD Vision and APUs to arrive.

While I really love this 250 AMD CPU I have since been attracted to a 270 3400 mHz one and am wondering if it would be worth replacing it with the 270 or perhaps one even faster ones because I have seen some faster Athlon II or 64 ones that are said too work with my MB. Not too thrilled about having to flash the Bios if I can get around it. The 5000mHz seem to scarce or unavailable now. Sigh!

Athlon IIX2 270(ADX270OCK23GM),3.4GHz,1MB,rev.C3,65W,SocketAM3 So what does the rev.C3 mean as I know where to get one, but do not want to get the wrong revision.

I could provide a list of the Athlon X2s and other recomended CPUs if it would help.

Thank you for any enlightenment

Kind regards

Adzam

Edited: 08/07/2012 at 06:19 AM by Adzam
 09/01/2012 03:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

I wouldn't bother upgrading to to 270 you won't see any preformance gain with it.

The Athlon II x4 620~655 or if you can find any of Phenom II's like the PhenomII x2 555 or quads like the PIIx4 840, 850 would give your system a real boost.

Yeah your going to have to update your BIOS to run these cpu's but its well worth the risk

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 09/21/2012 01:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Adzam
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/07/2012

Hi SlayerX,

Thank you for the reply.

Sorry to take so long to get back to you.

What would the be the fastest CPU one could get for that MB? Like if the 270 would Overclock at 3.4 what would the 620 and 655 really run at?

I will have a look at the two that you have suggested and see what their specs are.

I have just put together a really fast Core i7 system, but will still be working on
the AMD MB or perhaps will look at a newer MB for that one when the newer AMD CPU's come out.

Thanks again
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information