AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: nforce3
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/06/2003 06:20 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/10/2003 09:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dagalidis
Senior Member

Posts: 243
Joined: 10/07/2003

Ok....
And what about those BUGY Boards with nForce3 ????
If we take a closer look at REVIEWERS we will see comments about stability problems with those nforce3 boards....

Via based boards seems to be more stable than Nforce3 based boards....

Maybe is too early to take a CLEAR picture about those new chipsets...

P.S. Also you have a FULL MODED Board if i remember well.....

-------------------------
ATHLON64 3200+@2380(238X10) 1.644 Vcore Cooling By AMD Stock Heatsink ASUS K8V Deluxe (VIA K8T800 Chipset) 256x2 TWINMOS PC3700 5-3-2-2.5 at 2.8V Sound Blaster AUDIGY 2 Sound Blaster Megaworks Speakers 2.1 250D THX / 300 WRMS LEADTEK FX5900 128MB My ViVo
<span style='co
 10/10/2003 09:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jason57570
Senior Member

Posts: 707
Joined: 10/07/2003

ok the other board Im comapring this too the 260 1:1 via is also voltage modded as is being run by "MACCI" and if you OC you know hes one of if not the best in the world ..

but I wont disagree on the stibilty factor where as some are stable some have issues. that part 10% goes to VIA my questioning is just on the clock for clock bit really

-------------------------
Ati x1900 Crossfire & FX-60 Dual Core
[3DMark 2006=12,573
[3DMark 2005=20,667
[3DMark 2003=42,891
 10/10/2003 04:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
halcyon
Member

Posts: 83
Joined: 10/10/2003

Can somebody explain why both current Via and nVidia socket 754 boards show a 25% cpu utilisation when benchmarking IDE HD?

For comparison Intel ICH-5 based boards hover at below 5%.

Also, why hasn't this been pointed out in most reviews (only some), although it's clear from benchmarks that Athlon 64 platform takes a hit with high speed IDE access.

Anyone?

Also, take a look at these burst rate figures:

http://www.hexus.net/content/r...02MzImdXJsX3BhZ2U9MTQ=
 10/10/2003 07:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jason57570
Senior Member

Posts: 707
Joined: 10/07/2003

thats why I use a pci raid add in card on any mobo so I dont have those darn ide issues

-------------------------
Ati x1900 Crossfire & FX-60 Dual Core
[3DMark 2006=12,573
[3DMark 2005=20,667
[3DMark 2003=42,891
 10/11/2003 03:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
halcyon
Member

Posts: 83
Joined: 10/10/2003

Can you prove that under the Athlon 64 chipset (nForce 3 or Via 800) you don't have:

A) burst limitation due to PCI bus inefficiency (compare above graph)

B) higher cpu utilisation than 5%

... when you are using a 3rd party PCI RAID card?

Benchmarks with screenshots, please.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information