AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: question about over 2200mhz fsb data rate
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/03/2005 09:41 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/03/2005 09:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
omgsobe
Senior Member

Posts: 518
Joined: 10/19/2005

Ok hmm I was wondering is it safe if i have a stock 2.0ghz 3800+ dual core OCing to 2.2ghz x 10 multiplier and a HTT of 5x. That will give me 2200mhz (2x 1100mhz) data rate correct. In Sandra sisoftware under performance tips it said "Memory bus exceeds memory rated speeds. Reduce FSB/memory multiplier? It will cause unstableness? What if everything is stable? /wacko.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wacko.gif' />

-------------------------
ABIT NF-M2 nView • AMD Opteron 1210 Santa Ana AM2 • NVIDIA GeForce 6600gt (will upgrade)
2GB DDR2 800 Corsair XMS2 • Hitachi 7K160 160GB SATA 3.0gb/s • NEC DVD-RAM • XCLIO 500-Watt
 11/03/2005 09:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

It is just stating you are overclocking. It tells novices that something is wrong in their configuration so they can change it. If you are stable, keep doing it. Just monitor your fans and temps.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 11/03/2005 08:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Prelude76
Senior Member

Posts: 3366
Joined: 02/01/2005

honestly, dont go above 5% your Hyper Transport. really not recommend. and even running it below 2,000, a bit chunk below, say 1,800mhz, you still wont notice any difference. simply put, the HyperTransport is NOT the bottleneck in Athlon64. there is sooooo much room that any HT speed will probably be fine. I'd say lower it to 4x.
 11/03/2005 09:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

yeah, its been proven increasing it has zero effect, so just get it to boot/work and you are OK

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 11/03/2005 09:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
omgsobe
Senior Member

Posts: 518
Joined: 10/19/2005

thanks guys

-------------------------
ABIT NF-M2 nView • AMD Opteron 1210 Santa Ana AM2 • NVIDIA GeForce 6600gt (will upgrade)
2GB DDR2 800 Corsair XMS2 • Hitachi 7K160 160GB SATA 3.0gb/s • NEC DVD-RAM • XCLIO 500-Watt
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information