AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Please Help AMD Newbie
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/25/2005 02:23 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/25/2005 02:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LordHawkwind
Member

Posts: 38
Joined: 10/19/2005

Firstly, sorry for the long post. Below are my Sandra results and there is a question I need to ask;

1. Why is the Front Side Bus 2 x 800 (1600) when it supports 2 x 1000 (2000)?

Is there something I haven't done on the mobo or bios.

Cheers


SiSoftware Sandra

Mainboard
MP Support : 1 Processor(s)
MPS Version : 1.40
Model : 939Dual-SATA2
Type : Mainboard
System BIOS : 62-130-0000010-00101111-101405-ALI

Chipset 1
Model : Acer Labs Incorporated (ALi) ??? (1695)
Bus(es) : AGP PCI PCIe USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Front Side Bus Speed : 1x 200MHz (200MHz data rate)
In/Out Width : 16-bit / 16-bit

Logical/Chipset 1 Memory Banks
Power Save Mode : No
Fixed Hole Present : No

Chipset 2
Model : Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) Athlon 64 / Opteron HyperTransport Technology Configuration
Bus(es) : AGP PCI PCIe USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Version : 1.02
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 800MHz (1600MHz data rate)
Maximum FSB Speed / Max Memory Speed : 2x 1000MHz / 2x 200MHz
In/Out Width : 16-bit / 16-bit
IO Queue Depth : 8 request(s)

Chipset 2 Hub Interface
Type : HyperTransport
Version : 1.02
In/Out Width : 16-bit / 16-bit
Speed : 2x 800MHz (1600MHz data rate)

Logical/Chipset 2 Memory Banks
Bank 0 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM 2.5-3-3-8 2CMD
Bank 1 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM 2.5-3-3-8 2CMD
Channels : 1
Bank Interleave : 2-way
Speed : 2x 200MHz (400MHz data rate)
Multiplier : 1/11x
Width : 128-bit
Refresh Rate : 5.00µs
Power Save Mode : No
Fixed Hole Present : No


-------------------------
AMD64 X2 4600+, ASRock Dual SATA II, Connect 3D X1950XTX 512mb Vram,
2 x 1gb OCZ ram in dual channel mode, 2 x Seagate Barracuda HD's,
Audigy 2 ZS, NEC 3540 burner.
 11/01/2005 03:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LordHawkwind
Member

Posts: 38
Joined: 10/19/2005

I know this is a new mobo but bit dissapointed that no one replied.

Anyway, I have sorted this out by contacting ASrock tech servs and they told me to change the following from auto to ;

1. CPU-NB linkspeed = 1000
2. NB-SB linkspeed = 1000

It is now running at the stated 2 x 1000.

Hope this helps someone else buying this board.

BTW very impressed with ASrock tech servs response within 24hrs.

Cheers

-------------------------
AMD64 X2 4600+, ASRock Dual SATA II, Connect 3D X1950XTX 512mb Vram,
2 x 1gb OCZ ram in dual channel mode, 2 x Seagate Barracuda HD's,
Audigy 2 ZS, NEC 3540 burner.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information