AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Athlon 64 as 64bit?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/31/2005 08:33 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/31/2005 08:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
clone
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/31/2005

Hi.
I am building a new PC and will make it feature an AMD processor. But because i used to follow intel before, im having some trouble interpreting AMD products. On the ncix website, i saw that an A64 3700+ was "True 64-bit", but on AskAMD it said that A64's are only supported by 32-bit OS. Now if i want to run windows xp 64-bit, will an A64 be able to run it or will i need to get an X2?
Sorry for the newb question. Any help is much appreciated
Thanks
 12/31/2005 08:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sgie87
Case Modder

Posts: 1141
Joined: 08/01/2004

welcome to the forum.

glad to see your turning from the dark side...
A64 3700 is a great cpu if your thinking of getting it.

all a64s and x2s are 64 bit cpus and will run on a 64 bit operating system.
i think the site ment that they will also run on a32 bit os.

the a64 and x2 are very similar chips,the x2 just has two a64 cores on chip.

if you need any more help interpreting AMD products,modle numbers and clock speeds and such,just ask here.

-------------------------
*IRC chatroom #freedom on irc.globalgamers.net server is a great place to hang out online.PM me for more info.*
 12/31/2005 08:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
clone
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/31/2005

thanks for the fast reply, sure cleared things up.
1 more thing, i saw on one of the subforums here that the model number means what the CPU would run at if it was a intel CPU. so,
3200+ = 3.2 GHz
3700+ = 3.7 GHz
Is this true or just a rumour?
 12/31/2005 08:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sgie87
Case Modder

Posts: 1141
Joined: 08/01/2004

it is a rough comparision by chance.

an a3200+ will general be faster in most applications than a normal p4(prescott) running at 3.2Ghz.

the model number has to do with the cpu being equal to an older amd cpu core (t-bred) i if it were to be running at the speed:
a64 3200+ = axp t-bred running at 3.2ghz.

-------------------------
*IRC chatroom #freedom on irc.globalgamers.net server is a great place to hang out online.PM me for more info.*
 01/02/2006 01:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cow187
Senior Member

Posts: 1995
Joined: 08/13/2004

As far as games goes, an AMD64 3700 running 2.2ghz with 1mb cache, will perform better in games then any Pentium4 released to date, unless its overclocked past 4.2ghz or so.

I know it takes a Pentium4 running at 5.2ghz 2mb cache to outperform an FX-55 (2.6ghz AMD64, 1mb cache) in all games. This is only achievable with extreme cooling.

-------------------------
AMD64 3500+ Newcastle
Asus A8V Deluxe
2x512mb DDR400
ATI X850 Pro @ X850 XT
NEC 3500 16x DVD
470W Enermax Noisetaker
Viewsonic VP171b 17" 8ms LCD
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information