AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Athlon 64 revision E won't work on some Nforce 3/4
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/12/2005 04:14 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/12/2005 04:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
$ilent$uicide
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 07/08/2004

QUOTE PROBLEMS APPEAR to be affecting Athlon 64 revision E chips on some Nforce 3 and Nforce 4 motherboards. Symptoms include motherboard shut down and failure to boot, according to reports here from CeBIT.

Read the whole thing here...... News form the Inquirer' ">http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=21780

Wow, i mean WOW, i cant wait to get more details about this one!

-------------------------
XP Pro SP2|Enermax 600w|Asus A8N-SLi Dlx|FX-57 @ 2.95G|2x1024 Corsair XMS3500LLPro|Raptor-74G SATA|Maxtor-300G SATA|BenQ 16X Dual 8X DL|Lite-On 16X DVD Dual|Nvidia XFX 7900GTX|Dell UltraSharp 2405FPW 24" LCD|Creative X-Fi|Logitec Z-680
 03/12/2005 05:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hubs8907
Senior Member

Posts: 1647
Joined: 06/10/2004

Bios update probably would fix it.

hubs8907
 03/12/2005 05:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cleric
Senior Member

Posts: 686
Joined: 09/16/2004

once the isolate the problem bio COULD fix it, but the question is whats the problem

QUOTE We are told that AMD changed its thermal regulation protection and that's what makes it incompatible with at least some of the Nforce 3 and Nforce 4 boards out there.

In order to solve these problems, new motherboards might be necessary and there doesn't appear to be an instant fix.

-------------------------

THANKS azn
 03/12/2005 06:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

QUOTE ($ilent$uicide @ Mar 12 2005, 01:14 PM)
Read the whole thing here...... News form the Inquirer' ">http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=21780

Wow, i mean WOW, i cant wait to get more details about this one!
The AMD press release declared that most chipsets should be able to handle it, in fact they will handle it, its just that motherboard companies will need to produce a new bios.
 03/12/2005 10:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OC DETECTIVE
Member

Posts: 80
Joined: 09/07/2004

They have lower max die temps thats all - bios update only required. No different from when Semprons were released on socket 754's.
 03/14/2005 08:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
$ilent$uicide
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 07/08/2004

If its a simple bios update then what does this mean QUOTE In order to solve these problems, new motherboards might be necessary and there doesn't appear to be an instant fix.

Dosent appear to be an instant fix..... wouldent a bios update be an instant fix?

-------------------------
XP Pro SP2|Enermax 600w|Asus A8N-SLi Dlx|FX-57 @ 2.95G|2x1024 Corsair XMS3500LLPro|Raptor-74G SATA|Maxtor-300G SATA|BenQ 16X Dual 8X DL|Lite-On 16X DVD Dual|Nvidia XFX 7900GTX|Dell UltraSharp 2405FPW 24" LCD|Creative X-Fi|Logitec Z-680
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information