AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: soft modding
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/29/2005 11:49 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/29/2005 11:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
candle_86
Case Modder

Posts: 1502
Joined: 02/20/2005

Is there anyway to softmod the 3200 new castle to unlock the multipier?

-------------------------
Core I7-3930k -- MSI GTX670 Quad SLI -- ASUS Rampage Extreme IV -- 4x4gb Muskin Redline DDR3 1866 -- 128gb SSD -- Windows 7 Ultimate
Phenom II 960T -- XFX HD4870 -- ECS IC780M -- 2x2gb DDR3 1333 -- 500gb HD -- Windows 7 Home Premium
 09/30/2005 12:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Nope, nor is there any hardmod.

-Adam
 09/30/2005 07:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Prelude76
Senior Member

Posts: 3366
Joined: 02/01/2005

i'll say it again tho I'm sure its been said so many times before:

you dont *need* to unlock multiplier. By allowing us to bump up the HTT and cap the memory with a divider if need be, you can overclock your CPU as high as you want. A higher multi wont give you any benefit except a bit more flexibility finding the sweet spot of both CPU and memory overclocked to their peak at the same time.

Even some FX owners (who are unlocked by default) actually end up lowering their multiplier so they can reach higher memory speed.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information