AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Extra HDD install...
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/14/2005 06:00 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/14/2005 06:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
father-ted
Member

Posts: 174
Joined: 03/07/2005

I have only a single Maxtor 80GB 7200rpm Ultra-ATA/130 2mb cache HDD already in my pc, which has the OS, and all my software etc etc.

That drive is now full, so I took the plunge and purchased a new Maxtor DiamondMax 10 300GB Internal SATA150 16mb cache HDD.

I have not installed it yet, as I am unsure of the best way (performance wise) to set it up.

Do I partition it into several smaller drives, and use it purely for storage and software (games, applications, movies etc); and keep the 80gb drive as the boot drive with the OS already installed?

Or do I partition it into several smaller drives, and set it as a boot drive with XP Pro installed, and use the 80gb HDD as backup/storage?

As there is a big difference between cache sizes on these two HDD's, and SATA is faster than the other, what would be my optimal setup? Will the faster HDD increase OS and software applications performance?

Hope somebody can help???

-------------------------
AMD64 4000+(skt939) OC 2910mhz
DFI Lanparty UT NF3 Ultra-D (Nf3ID711)
Zalman CNPS9500 CPU Cooler (AS5)(33deg.unloaded/37deg.Loaded)
Coolermaster Blue Ice Chipset Cooler
ATI Radeon X850XT PE - AGP
Antec NeoPower 480w PSU
2gb Dual Channel Kit OCZ PC4000 EB PE
Maxtor 80gb HDD (IDE)
Maxtor10 300gb HDD 16mb cache (SATA)
Plextor PX-708A DVD RW
BenQ DVD ROM x16
SoundBlaster Audigy1 5.1 Audio
2x80mm Fans (intake)
3x80mm Fans + 120mm PSU (e
 04/14/2005 09:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GripS
Senior Member

Posts: 1443
Joined: 03/25/2004

[QUOTE]Or do I partition it into several smaller drives, and set it as a boot drive with XP Pro installed, and use the 80gb HDD as backup/storage?

Thats what I would do. Set up the OS on it's own partition on the 300gb. Leave room for updates and such. I would say 20gb's sounds good.

and yes. using the 300gb for your primary will make reading and writing to the hard drive faster since it has faster throughput then the IDE drive.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 170 \ DFI UT nf4 Ultra-D \ evga 7600gt \ 2gb (2x1gb) G.Skill pc4000 HZ \ NEC 3550a DVDRW \ WD Raptor 150gb \ Seagate barracuda 80gb \ Mitsumi floppy \ OCZ powerstream 520watt
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information