AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Thermal Cooling needed?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/18/2005 11:10 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/18/2005 11:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Koda
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/18/2005

I just purchased a new motherboard and Athlon 64 3000+ processor. I know that usually the thermal cooling material is on the heatsink. My chip came boxed by AMD with the heatsink and fan. The heatsink I got doesn't have any thermal cooling material on it and there is none in the box. Is this a new thing? To use no thermal cooling material or something? Kind of strange to see my heatsink making it out of the factory missing cooling compound.

Any suggestions on this would be appriceated.

Koda
 02/18/2005 11:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pete_84
Member

Posts: 148
Joined: 01/27/2005

that is very strange that there was no cooling compound on the bottom of the heatsink, as far as I know all boxed amd heatsinks come with a pre applied square of thermal compound, its a gray square almost same color as bottom of aluminum heatsink but not quite

u can do one of two things i guess, contact the company your purchased it from but that was probly online and returning it for a square of thermal compound would be a little much,,

so i would jst suggest getting a high end compound like arctic silver 5 to use on it...

definetely don't turn it on without any thermal compound

-------------------------
Athlon 3000+ s754,TT K8 silent boost, Chaintech Vnf3-250, 512MB PC3200, 2x40 gig HDD's(WD + Maxtor), 48xcdrom, 8x dvd-r, ATI AIW 9800 pro 128MB, Aspire X-Dreamer Case, 4x80mm fans, PCI slot exhaust fan, all round UV reactive cabling, 450W ocz modstream, NEC AccuSync M70 17" CRT, Cyber Acoustic 3550 (68W)
 02/20/2005 05:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Koda
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/18/2005

Yes I know what it looks like and it definantly is not there. I just wasn't sure if the newer 64 bit CPU's were possibly made to do without or something. I figured not but thought I'd better post here to ask just incase. That's what thses boards are for.

Thanks for your help.

Koda
 02/20/2005 11:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pete_84
Member

Posts: 148
Joined: 01/27/2005

good luck with it

guessing your just putting your own grease on eh?

i'd take a pic first just to have for reference

-------------------------
Athlon 3000+ s754,TT K8 silent boost, Chaintech Vnf3-250, 512MB PC3200, 2x40 gig HDD's(WD + Maxtor), 48xcdrom, 8x dvd-r, ATI AIW 9800 pro 128MB, Aspire X-Dreamer Case, 4x80mm fans, PCI slot exhaust fan, all round UV reactive cabling, 450W ocz modstream, NEC AccuSync M70 17" CRT, Cyber Acoustic 3550 (68W)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information